Friday Sermon in your masjid-(all)

Re: Friday Sermon in your masjid

^ The same goes with mother's day. It is suggested by American capitalism, and is followed by ppl. The spirit of this blessed day should go whole year. (that is, u should buy and buy and buy for ur beloved mother all the time)

Today's khutba or sermon was on the topic of Amr Bil Maroof Wa Nahi Anil Munkar (uphold the good and stop the bad), a principle heavily emphasized in Quran and Sunnah. The khateeb summarized by saying that Muslims of the present day, especially the young generation, tend to be indifferent to what is happening around them. They should recognize the events according to their respective realities. That is not it though, they should go one step further to encourage or discourage. It is very important for us to act according this principle lest we might end up like those in Banee-Israeel who were punished along with the wrong-doers, just because they kept silent when the wrong was being committed.

That is not true !

Infact the young muslims are more aware about whats happening around the world. They understand the situation better and have broader view.

apney apney experienc ki baat hay codie.
Understanding and being aware are totally different to caring about each other. You might be aware of others misfortune but doesn’t necessarily mean that you care to improve their situation or help them. I so far haven’t encountered a lot of young Muslims who practise Amer bil maroof and nahi unil munkir.

I would like to know what were the topics for Friday sermons in British Masjids this Friday, after the tragic bombings the day before?

Assalamualaikum . You guyz would be surprised to know that there is Khutbah un Urdu in Dubai . (yeah i'm from Dubai) . From the Whole of Today's Khutbah , one think i can't forget.

When the Prophet was visiting the heavens and hell during Mairaj , he passed some ppl , They were having their heads smashed by large bolders , were flatened and then because normal and were smashed again. The Propher (SAS) asked Jibraeel (AH) who are they and why are they being punished. Jibraeel AH replied, that they are ppl of your UMMAH who did not observe Namaaz.

Allah Hu Akbar. May Allah forgive us all for our sins.

I didn’t catch all of it, we always walk in while they’re halfway into the topic. :rolleyes:

I suppose it did have something to do with the bombings, and recent violence (well, more like ongoing nonstop violence)

The imam was talking about how we’ve stopped obeying the law of God (muslims that is). He said something like “So many people are getting killed, and so many are suffering in muslim countries, and how do we react to this? What we SHOULD do is to follow the Law of God. The reason why we suffer is because we’re not following God’s law”.

He also said something like how we muslims think that God’s law wont work, and that’s why we don’t follow it. But how can you think that God would perscribe laws to us, and that they wouldn’t work? Would God make inefficient laws?

hi

We have a different khateeb every Friday. There are I think about a dozen or so in the area and they rotate based on availability. Today's khateeb, who happens to be a Pakistani, talked about what should be our behavior with other muslims and towards the end made a statement that we as muslims should condemn all acts of terrorism.

After the Namaz, one of the shura members usually makes weekly announcements. He said that our heart and prayer goes out to those who are affected by the bombings in London and prayed for them.

A very simple yet important issue we ignore…

A very nice Khutba…

Waqt kee Pabande (Being Punctual)
Description: Khutba delivered by Sheikh Hafiz Abdul Waheed on April 15, 2005 in Masjid Al-A’laa, Houston, TX, USA.

http://www.khutba.org/php/modules.php?name=Downloads&d_op=getit&lid=4

Khateeb today was Imam Yassir Fazaga from Orange County masjid. He is highly educated and well-repsected for his views.

The sermon today was naturally focussed on current affairs and the events following London bomb blasts. Imam Yassir implored the muslims to understand the Islamic way in dealing with issues. Revenge is not one of them. Anyone who claims to use "Islam" to revenge the atrocities commited in Iraq and Palestine (etc) is really not following Islam at all. This is not the sunnah of our Prophet (Peace be upon him). Other bits of the sermon are as follows:

• Try to win the enemy over, rather than just winning
  • You can kill a racist, but you can't kill racism. Similarly you can kill a terrorist, but you can't kill terrorism. It has to be won over.
  • The coming week, includes a 'Day of Prayer' in United States. While for muslims every day is a day of prayer, however, people should make a concerted effort to address the particular issue at hand. Use the prayer which was made by the Prophet (Peace be upon him), which is (paraphrasizing): "Oh Allah! Guide me to understand things the way they are, not the way they appear to be".
  • Muslims should get out in the community more and more and explain that what the other people are listening in the media or reading in the newspapers is not Islam.

Re: A very simple yet important issue we ignore...

Why not merge this in the main khutba thread? :)

Re: Friday Sermon in your masjid-(all)

The main points of today’s Khutba that I could gather are:

• The non-believers are blind folded, and, once they cross the barrier of death, it will be all over. They will have to suffer for eternity.

• Because of the above fact, their condition is pitiful and it is upto us to help them.

• Hazrat Muhammad’s :saw: duty was to pass on the teachings of Allah to the mankind.

• Being a member of his :saw: Ummah, we are also obliged to do that.

• However, our task is not to convert people, but just to clearly convey what the truth is.

khutbah was about HAjj-- Moulana sahib said that we must do some effort for going to hajj rather then wait in our homes *Kay ALLAh ka bulawa aaiee ga tau jain gae *

Tolerance.

How violence is not Islamic.

How people who are killing innocents whether they call themselves muslims, or identify themselves with any other religion - really aren't making God happy.

He never outright said that "terrorism is wrong and we should condemn it". He just spoke generally, about anyone who kills innocents for political/religious/economic reasons.

Istaqama (the Straight Path)

The sermon was on how important it is to stick to the Straight Path, the Path followed by Allah's Messenger and His Companions, and how there would be so many exits on the this path, on each side of the path, and these exits would be so tempting and there will be Satan standing on each one of them.

Therefore it is very important to stay in the middle of the Straight Path.

Today was my first time going to jummah voluntarily. I went to the one on 96th and 3rd on the Upper east side. It was a pretty nice place, not dirty, very spacious. I was very nervous though, I couldn’t find the women’s entrance, I’d gone alone, but several women were very nice and helping. The masjid, at least on teh women’s side, was primarily black with several Arabs, Albanians, and very few desis that I noticed, there could have been more diversity on the men’s side. I met this one gori who was considering converting to Islam, and there were a lot of older women, not too many children or teenagers. Okay yeah, on to the sermon…

One key point that stuck out during today’s lecture was that Allah will forgive you for all your sins if you are truly sorry. Death can strike you at any day, any moment so you have to live your life the best that you can. You get only one life, one chance to do things right, so don’t waste it. This struck me as very important. A few days ago, I had a discussion with someone regarding repentance for your sins. I’ve heard the most ridiculous excuse from others, that it’s okay if they engage in sex and other sins, they can repent later, and I’ve never understood this logic. It’s got to be the stupidest thing I’ve ever heard in my life, because you don’t know when you will die! What if you never get the chance to repent? Sheer stupidity :smack:

It was about the importance of Salat…

The Masjid is basically a Barelvi Masjid, but the Imam Sahib, an elderly gentleman is soft of voice and humble and rarely says anything that Shafaa’is would consider Bidah…In and between he would quote passages from Abdul Qadir Jilani :rehm:'s book ‘Ghuniyat-ut-Talibeen’…

He stated the importance of the month of Rajab (Started on 5th August) and to fast 89 days of Rajab because it is the month of Allah :swt:…

He states according to the book, if we fast even one day in Rajab, and should that Fast be accepted, it would be equal to a great reward (The reward was specified, but I forgot)…

Apart from that, his Khutba was devoid of anything which any Shafaa’i would consider Bida’a…His demeanour and way of delivery is very gentle and detailed…He had a very good impact on me…

From what I have learned, brothers and sisters, you cannot avoid praying…And it is not a burden at all but a mercy from Allah :swt:…The rewards of a wonderfully carried out prayer is great…

The first thing we’ll be questioned about would be our prayers…

A lot more, but this should suffice…

???

he meant 29 days...

Actually, it is 89 days AQ…That is exactly what I thought until the Imam sahib repeated himself…

I never got a chance to ask him about it, but the fasts of Rajab go on for 89 days…And this old Imam Sahib fasts each and every one…

One note though:

It is from the book of Hz. Abdul Qadir Jilani :rehm:…A scholar whose authenticity and sincerity I don’t doubt, however, I do doubt the sources…

Wallah-o-Alam…

I owe you a PM :insha: