This is a new feature, and I hope all of us can participate in this. Most of us, if not all, go to weekly Friday prayers. Usually the salah is preceded by a sermon. Some are on really topical issues and some are more academic. What I’d like us to do is just post the gist of the sermon in our own words. A few sentences will be just as fine, as whole paragraphs. This will serve as a reservoir of what muslim scholars are saying in different locations. Others are free to comment on these. Lets make it interactive.
We should add more every week. If possible, please also give your location.
I’ll start off by today’s sermon in the main mosque in Santa Clara, California, where I went. Every Friday they invite a new scholar to present the sermon.
The topic today wasn’t very original and the khateeb was not very impressive in delivery, but the content was interesting nevertheless. It was on current state of affairs of muslims, their deviation from the path of Islam and how they can get back on track. His main focus was that there should be a change from within Islamic societies to get back to the message of Quran and sunnah, and not allow external forces to implement changes in Islamic societies. A main element of the speech was on ‘shirk’ and how muslims commit shirk in many forms, by not trusting Allah to solve their problems.
A lot of students had their finals this week. They were well prepared for it by studying hard by giving up their play time, fun, and by pulling all nighters etc. Parents made sure that they prepare for their exams and do well to succeed. What about EVERYONE'S final exam on the day of judgement? Are we preparing ourselves for that? Are parents making sure their kids know the answers to the questions that will be asked on the day of judgement? Do you know whether you are prepared to succeed on our final exam that Allah will take? What can you do to prepare? What questions will be asked on the day of judgement?
I went to Masjid-e-Sulimania, PECHS Karachi. The Khateeb here is an 50+ old aalim who is greatly respected in the community. The best part is that he has to colleges n university as well to study which has polished him more.
The topic of his last talk was
The life of a muslim inside the mosque and outside are same. Sometime spend in mosque does'nt means that muslims are over with it and now they can do whatever they like. But he said that musalman ki 24 hrs ki life is deen if he live according to quran n sunnah
since its hajj season, the khateeb was telling us the virtues of hajj and was focusing on not delaying it if one is able to perform it....
he said all prophets had visited the kaaba???? i have never heard that before and i seriously doubt it....
the second khutbah is always current affairs from our khateeb, commented on some local issues( of why football tournaments r held during the exam periods) and then on whats going on in iraq....
They have two Jumma sessions first lead by Hyderabadi and the second by a Palestinian… They have been the khateeb for some time but since 9/11 I have not heard them talk about current political state of affairs of Muslims in US and around the globe… I was in the first one where the khateeb talked about Gheebat (backbiting) … I have heard numerous khutbas on this topic but every time this topic is brought up it brings out the sense of guilt and fear of the punishment from Allah (SWT) for this sin…. This is one of those sins that violates Huqooq-ul-Ibaad and only people who are violated can forgive you. It was a nice reminder of how big of a sin Gheebat is, we tend to forget about it and take it very lightly.
The last one, samajh main nahi aya (I was late). The khateeb was trying to answer some querry.
80% of the time the jumma sermon has nothing interesting or new. Same old stuff.
But one thing i Liked in one masjid....
The imam in one masjid, gives some instructions just before start of jama'at.
-take some cloth or topi on your head
-Wear your pants/shalwar above ankles, (make em visible)
-Button up your shirts, unfold your sleaves and button your cuffs.
I liked last one ^.In hot summer days, I used to have shirt un-buttoned. but after listening him I buttoned them.
Though, there is nothing mandatory about these instruction, but it more of manners. Like in schools at the time of assembly, we had to be tip top from head to toe. Or now if we go to some important meeting we critically analyze our appearance.
Same way we should do when you go for jumma prayer.
*Originally posted by Code_Red: *
-take some cloth or topi on your head
-Wear your pants/shalwar above ankles, (make em visible)
You have seen that straw-caps that are fairly common in Pakistani mosques, and those who did not bring a cap with them often used them to cover their heads. I am always amused by some people who'd try to put those caps on other namazis, often while the other namazi is in the middle of salah... like a gentleman in front of me was coming up from sajdah (during sunnah salah), when the namazi right next to him suddenly ambushed him and put a cap on his head. The poor guy didn't know what to do with the sudden cap placed on his head. And to add insult to injury, the cap was way too big, and during next sajdah it fell on the floor, and this good samaritan namazi picked it up again and placed it on the cap-less namazi once again. :)
Many other times, I have seen namazis literally pointing at other namazis ankles and force them to raise the shalwar. Once the argument actually resulted in tu-tarakh right before the prayer. Oh man!
The topis and showing of ankles, is'nt really farz. But there is another issue which is much more serious and needs to be adressed.
Now, the tshirts we wear are usually low cut. So when a person goes into sajda, the shirt lifts up from the back revealing their body. Now man's sutr starts from his belly button all the way down to the knees. This must be covered at all times when in public, no matter what. So when in sajda...and the tshirt lifts up the back, the sutr gets revealed.
Hence it should be enforced, that people must wear longer shirts for prayer.
*Originally posted by Faisal: *
You have seen that straw-caps that are fairly common in Pakistani mosques, and those who did not bring a cap with them often used them to cover their heads. I am always amused by some people who'd try to put those caps on other namazis, often while the other namazi is in the middle of salah... like a gentleman in front of me was coming up from sajdah (during sunnah salah), when the namazi right next to him suddenly ambushed him and put a cap on his head. The poor guy didn't know what to do with the sudden cap placed on his head. And to add insult to injury, the cap was way too big, and during next sajdah it fell on the floor, and this good samaritan namazi picked it up again and placed it on the cap-less namazi once again. :)
Many other times, I have seen namazis literally pointing at other namazis ankles and force them to raise the shalwar. Once the argument actually resulted in tu-tarakh right before the prayer. Oh man!
u mean now i have to go for friday prayers.....
but i have to say that it is a great idea indeed....
Sermon was based upon giving up of material and wordly things and instead craving for the thirst of Allah and for His love. That thirst should remain eternal.
Sometimes after hearing khutbas such as these, one feels like they are being directed directly towards them . For instance have you ever felt that while listening to the khutbas with good intent, one can surely see the things they are lacking in their lives and ways to fix them. Also, at times, one feels like they are blessed with so much yet they are always seeking more and more material gains. Our goal in life should be to follow towards the truth and towards the righteous.
I love this thread....Masha Allah, thank you Faisal for starting it. I will insha allah make a direct effort into participating weekly.
That is something very harmless. I don’t think i should tell here, that how much people go to the lengths…
Specialy the resident baba’s in some masjids. Some of them, They have nothing to do all day so they try to take panga’s with every third person.
But the one masjid, i mentioned is in Qurban lines, I don’t like the urdu khutba, (he is too loud) but the Arabic khutba is nice, he read it like he is giving instructions
*Originally posted by ChaChoo: *
the khateeb talked about Gheebat (backbiting) … I have heard numerous khutbas on this topic but every time this topic is brought up it brings out the sense of guilt and fear of the punishment from Allah (SWT) for this sin…. This is one of those sins that violates Huqooq-ul-Ibaad and only people who are violated can forgive you. It was a nice reminder of how big of a sin Gheebat is, we tend to forget about it and take it very lightly.
Thats true. The few times I have heard the sermon where the topic is back-biting (gheebat), and the speaker is half-way in control of what he is saying... its a very strong message, and one that can pretty much make you sweat right there, especially where they explain why it is similar to 'eating the meat of your dead brother'.
I think (with all respect) that Khutba is a waste of time. It served its purpose when there were no TVs, Radios, other media sources. Now it is useless. They can print it out and distribute it (or e-mail) to people. Besides, it’s the same thing over and over. What new things are there to discuss? Haven’t we been killing the same camel for over 1400 years?
The actual Khutba is the prayer (Ashadualla Ilaha il Lallah Wahdu Hu La Sharik Alla Ho wa Ashadu Ana Mohammadun Abdu Hu Wa Rasoolu….)
The rest of the sermon is just someone’s own interpretation of how what where and when… It’s such a waste of time to sit thru that nonsense. Everything that one needs to know can easily be told in other manners.