Since today was a holiday I attended the Jumma in a different mosque in my city. The Khateeb was not the regular Imam. I came a bit late but I was still able to catch most of the khutba. Focus of the khutba was “Are we Muslims in US being good ambassadors of Islam?” something to that affect, my own title based on what his khutba was about. Some points he made:
Muslims have been the focus of “special” treatment at the airports since 9/11
Recent poll that was conducted among non-Muslim American revealed that majority supports even tougher measures (search and other laws that came into being since 9/11) against Muslims. So it is not just the government but the general public which is in favor of such laws and regulations.
We have to ask ourselves why? What are we doing wrong to create that kind of perception among others?
He reminded the audience that prophet Muhammad (PBUH) used to be kind and compassionate to not only Muslims but to non-Muslims as well. He used to pray for non-Muslims as well.
He pointed out that we need to be involved in social work, we don’t actively participate in this. We need to take care of the society where we live in.
*Originally posted by ChaChoo: *
Since today was a holiday I attended the Jumma in a different mosque in my city. The Khateeb was not the regular Imam. I came a bit late but I was still able to catch most of the khutba. Focus of the khutba was “Are we Muslims in US being good ambassadors of Islam?” something to that affect, my own title based on what his khutba was about. Some points he made:
Muslims have been the focus of “special” treatment at the airports since 9/11
Recent poll that was conducted among non-Muslim American revealed that majority supports even tougher measures (search and other laws that came into being since 9/11) against Muslims. So it is not just the government but the general public which is in favor of such laws and regulations.
We have to ask ourselves why? What are we doing wrong to create that kind of perception among others?
He reminded the audience that prophet Muhammad (PBUH) used to be kind and compassionate to not only Muslims but to non-Muslims as well. He used to pray for non-Muslims as well.
He pointed out that we need to be involved in social work, we don’t actively participate in this. We need to take care of the society where we live in.
why muslims be giving safayiaas. why should you or muslims in ur country be feeling guilty.
was just a reminder that we shall be asked on the Day of Judgement about ho w we spent out life and time....
he was angry at the football cup going on (GCC cup) and called it a satanic game and mentioned that the players dont care for prayer or fasting and r best described by their own name 'red devils'....
he was also once again blaming the government's inability to impose strict punishment on criminals for the rising rates of crime....
and also was mocking the arabs for being so weak that they cannot free any of their occupied lands....
neither from israel and nor from iran (it has some 3 islands of emirates captured by force)....
and he called iran a bad example of muslim country for capturing land of its own muslim neighbors....
Rights of parents and the importance of obeying parents. The speaker gave an example from the time of the Prophet (Peace be upon him) to emphasize how obeying parents is paramount. Also a hadith that says 'never disobey parents to please your wife'. Additionally, if you set an example by obeying your parents, your kids will grow up obeying you... otherwise they will not obey you either.
This was a smaller masjid near my home, since today was a holiday.
Okay, so today's sermon was about death, given the recent tsunami/earthquake tragedy in Asia. He was reminding us that we all will die someday, and that we ought to count our blessings. We should live every moment of our life with the awareness that we can die any moment, and would we want to die doing something wrong? Thus, every moment, as temptations come to you - ask yourself if you took the wrong path, how would we feel if we were hit by a disaster at that moment. Then our last action would be that of a wrong one.
We read a prayer of Janazah for the victims of the tragedy. This was specifically for the muslims who died, since non-muslims observe a different form of funeral prayers.
We're holding a drive at the masjid to collect items and money and aid
for the victims. He encouraged us to donate whatever we can.
(I strongly urge all of you who are not already involved in helping out this massive rescue mission to get involved, and getting a masjid involved is a great way - especially for American muslims - this is our opportunity to show that we're not terrorists).
The only thing he said which I did not agree with and I certainly don't think its an Islamic perspective - is that "why do we celebrate New Year's - its only a year closer to our death". I find that to be pessimistic and unfounded Islamically.
Again a holiday here, meant the masjid was not only full, it was actually over-flowing, so part of the khutba I was helping add additional prayer space on the side of the building. It didn't help that it was raining non-stop (more like a drizzle than pouring). Anyway, so I missed some parts of the sermon. We had a gentleman come to this masjid to deliver the Friday sermon who had reverted to Islam and was a white American. Very polite and impressive delivery style.
The main gist of the sermon was emphasis to actually read the quran, to understand what the message actually is. He was recounting his own younger years, when he could not understand or read Arabic, he had read the english transaltion of Quran. Not once, but twice. It is a beautiful book, with many stories and commands from our Creator. Then he moved to California and joined a school to teach him how to read Arabic. There he met many muslim kids (born muslims). He was surprised that none of them had actually read Quran. Sure, they had read the Arabic Quran, without understanding any part of it. These muslim kids will ask him questions like "Is drinking alcohol haraam?", or "why should we do hijaab?", and he would reply to them "you really should read Quran". Quran has all the answers. Unfortunately many of the muslims have no idea what their Creator has told them through Quran. And these people have read Quran many times, they can read a juz in 40 minutes, they pray salah five times a day and have memorized 20 suras or more ... and still they have never, even once, read Quran, with meaning, in its entirity.
His last point was that if we think about it, we, the muslims, are the last nation on Earth who believe that Allah alone is the only God. This puts a lot more responsibility on muslims. He linked that point with the disaster in South East Asia and pleaded to the muslims to help the victims of Tsunami as much as possible.
It will be nicer if more people can contribute in a productive manner, every week. I see a lot of members posting all kinds of posts in Religion forum. When it comes time to add some positive ideas, the silence is truly deafening. I am sure most people did go for Friday salah. I wonder why would they be shy of adding what they heard in the sermon?
*Originally posted by Faisal: *
It will be nicer if more people can contribute in a productive manner, every week. I see a lot of members posting all kinds of posts in Religion forum. When it comes time to add some positive ideas, the silence is truly deafening. I am sure most people did go for Friday salah. I wonder why would they be shy of adding what they heard in the sermon?
Faisal bhai ..it would be better to make this thread sticky at the top. khair i went to * Ashraf ul madaris * for jumma and moulana ibraheem gave an excellent speech on how to obtain taqwah, the need for tazkiah and importance of lower your gaze in achiving taqwah .
He said their are four aamal that will inshallah make one * waliullah *
they are
1- Keep a beared
2-To keep ankles exposed
3-protecting the gaze
4-protecting the heart
He then further gave reasons for why he included these four aamals and prove from quran and sunnah.
[QUOTE] Originally posted by PyariCgudia: *
**taqwah, the need for tazkiah and importance of lower your gaze in achiving taqwah .*
What is Taqwah?
What is Tazkiah?
And why does keeping a beard and exposing ankles do anything for whatever Takwah and Tazkiah are?
(when sharing the sermons, its always nice to provide a definition or two for those who aren't acquainted with the Arabic or Arabic-influenced Urdu).
TAQWAH----fear of ALLAh subhanwataalah.
TAZKIAH----An obligatory duty for all muslims to purify thier soul.
Keeping a beard keeps muslims ( who are striving for taqwah ) away from sinns. same is the case with ankles....as these two actions are attributed to sualeheen ( pious people ) so any one doing these actions only for the love of ALLAH will inshallah refrain from any act that will give bad name to pious people.
When i started growing beard , my teacher/mentor told me that from i now on i will be ragrded as * darhiwala * bearded person and not as the individual i am ....specially if i do some sin openly in front of other people.
Ok the last Jumma prayer, Barish ho rahi thi, or it was drizzling in tandem with strong cool breeze, I had the day off from office So i took bath, wore Shalwar kameez and jacket and took topi and went to masjid I did not take umberala with me, either it was Tawaqal***** or stupidity I am not sure
the sermon was about the greatest human tragedy of recent time. Our Imaam sahib emphasised that we see disasters, catastrophes around us and think(believe ) that i wont happen to us. We do not care as if we are any better than those people who died or are desperate for survival. And so on…
Later the rain started, people started to go inside the covered area. I remain outside khuley Asmaan ke neechey thinking ,it may stop(again either it was Tawaqal* or…….The jacket I was wearing, )
And after some time it actually stopped.
*****TAWAQAL means to be happy in whatever (harsh or comfi) condition(s) Allah bestowed upon you. And never complain if there are tuff time in life.
But one must make efforts for improvement in condition.
Great and timely thread!
And those with a ‘lead laden head’ should understand that a Khutba for jumma assembly for Muslims is a venue for social and Islamic instructions/briefing/clarification and implications of many issues that could affect our (Muslims) way of life.
Khutba very much handles our current affaires and other important issues and it is a way of life, not some old ghesa peta record.
We deserve a little privacy in these discussions if it’s not too much to ask.
I’l share my khutba point of interests tomorrow inshallah :k:
the first part was just the description of te manasik of hajj....
the second part, the khateeb was telling us that someone told him that a guy in the mosque was saying that its not allowed to fast no the day of hajj (for those who did not go to hajj) and it is wrong to do so....
he was surprised at how ppl come up with such things when hadith clearly tells us that it the virtues of fasting on youm-al-arafa.....
he also said that according to a report 75,000 ppl die annually in USA due to drinking....
and said that when Allah forbids us from something, its not in vain but has reasons behind it, whether we understand them or not....
He talked about the mercy of Allah (SWT) and how He accepts all good deeds from all of man kind. One interesting thing he mentioned was that when we pray and can't concentrate and focus during prayers that is still OK and is acceptable by Allah (SWT) ... his emphasis was on good deeds are accepted by Allah (SWT)...
He also talked about the reward of fasting in the first 10 days of Zil-Hijjah and specifically the of Arafah the 9th of of Zil-Hajjah. Each day of fasting during the first 10 days is equivalent to fasting for the whole year and fasting on the 9th. causes all your sins for a year to be washed away. He also talked about the significance of praying the nights of these ten days which is equivalent to praying on the Shab-e-Qadar.
I want to point out here that what ever we share here please confirm it before you take it as a fact. During communication sometimes the meaning is lost and sometimes completely misunderstood.
I hope that I communicated correctly what the Khateeb stated in his Khutba. May Allah (SWT) forgive me for any mistakes and misunderstandings. (Ameen)
The message was clear and loud in today's Jumma Khutba. We must participate well in Eid prayers. The imam mentioned that the Eid prayers were considered so important by our prophet, that he would bring out his wife/wives even if they were in days when they did not need to do the prayers. Imam mentioned that the whole family should participate.
I remember his Khutba last Eid (Eidu Fitr) which is worth mentioning here. He said that it was extremely important for us (living in Non Muslim majority countries) that we celebrate our festivals. And tell our families and especially young kids, how important our festivals were. He said that kids know Halloween and Christmas all too well, and for them these are the great occasions of joy and happiness. They dont know or care about Eids and other occasions. Its time that we change ourselves and bring color our festivities in order to get new generation involved.
He may have just the right ideas. During Eidul Fitr, as you remember there were lot of killings in Faluja. So the imam mentioned in his khutba that these things were there and will never cease. So that does not mean that we should stop festivities. The show must go on.
this is really good to have juma khutba , I will be adding this link ocaasionaly , as every week the the Sermon that is delivered is archived on the website
The Eid talk was dominated by the recount of historic events at the time of Prophet Abraham , his wife Hager and son Ishmael (Peace be upon them). The idea was complete devotion and dedication towards the Creator and the Lord.
The Jumma sermon was dominated again by the issue of sacrifice and how the whole muslim community should sacrifice to help victims of natural disasters and other world events.