HAmaray imam sahib wa angry with nadra officials...they refused to take his picture in ammamah...and said kay order aaya hay kay topi utar kay tasweer khainche jae gee....
masjid was..babul islam north karachi...
HAmaray imam sahib wa angry with nadra officials...they refused to take his picture in ammamah...and said kay order aaya hay kay topi utar kay tasweer khainche jae gee....
masjid was..babul islam north karachi...
^ This is interesting. Do they actually have a rule that a person can wear no caps etc which taking pics?
In any case, seems a bit odd to use Friday sermon to take out personal anger. But well... stranger things have happened.
Fortunately this Friday is a holiday pretty much all over the world. So I expect a lot more muslims attending the Friday salah.
Mashallah I think this thread is terrific!!!
My question is what do you do when people look down on women going to the Masjid for Friday prayer’s? All the insulting and degrading talk is quite humiliating to listen to. These are the same people that are totally against women from going for Eid Namaaz.
I don’t understand. If we are man or woman is Jumma Namaz not Farz on everyone?
As far as I understand, for muslim women it is optional to go to masjid to offer any prayers. It is certainly not required, though I have never seen any women being insulted or humiliated for going to masjid. This sounds very odd.
The rule for jumma prayers, as far as I know, is that you either offer it with jama'a (in congregation) or you don't offer it at all, and just pray zuhr. Same applies to women too, i.e. if they don't offer jumma in congregation, then they should just pray zuhr in their homes. Someone more knowledgable may correct me if I am wrong.
All da sermons in our masjids in Dubai, Sharjah & Abu Dhabi are in Arabic, Xcept a handful masjids that deliver sermons in English(only 1) or Urdu, & they are quite far, so we rarely go to these masjids. I did go to da masjid which gives sermon in English & it is in Sharjah. They are all US born Americans converted Muslims, & they speak in a very educated manner & with fluency in Islam that makes me wonder sometimes...I am a born Muslim, yet these people who converted to Islam only a few years back, know more than me. But it doesnt deter me from gaining more knowledge.
Incidentally I was reading Prophet Muhammad's last sermon today & Faisal's thread about sermon's came to mind.
*Originally posted by Faisal: *
You have seen that straw-caps that are fairly common in Pakistani mosques, and those who did not bring a cap with them often used them to cover their heads. I am always amused by some people who'd try to put those caps on other namazis, often while the other namazi is in the middle of salah... like a gentleman in front of me was coming up from sajdah (during sunnah salah), when the namazi right next to him suddenly ambushed him and put a cap on his head. The poor guy didn't know what to do with the sudden cap placed on his head. And to add insult to injury, the cap was way too big, and during next sajdah it fell on the floor, and this good samaritan namazi picked it up again and placed it on the cap-less namazi once again. :)
Many other times, I have seen namazis literally pointing at other namazis ankles and force them to raise the shalwar. Once the argument actually resulted in tu-tarakh right before the prayer. Oh man!
Intresting. This happens to me all the time. I dont carry topi with me here in USA when I go to mosque so sometime I tend to do samething when I am in India. But then someone will always point me to spare topis in Masjid or Put a topi on my head.
Intrestingly this happened to me last month when I was in India. I was visiting my pind and moment I reached there I saw a Janazah.So I went to attend the Janazah.Obviously I was not having topi with me. On top of it I was in my Jeans and T shirt. So I join one saf(line) and then this old gentlemen from front row passed his towel to me so that I can cover my head. Though It was nice gesture on his part but sometime I feel why people here make so much fuss about Topi. It can get annoying sometimes. But then I remember I used to do same when I was a kid.
Its Sunnah to wear something on your head all the time...
There is a remarkable difference of Khutbaaz between the ones they give in Pakistan and the mosques in the US. Our molvi Sahib in the closest mosque near our house likes to talk about current affairs, and sometimes he even prays for 'checheenya's independence'. He also blames Hindus for invading Iraq and creating havoc in the war torn country. Most of his khutba is actually a series of long duas to win the ongoing 'jihad'.
Those that give khutbaaz in the mosques in the US, Ive been to many states are usually learned people, professors etc, and talk about one aspect of religion every week, and concentrate on it. They are very flexible too, like close to graduation date, one of them chose to talk about students, and mentioned alot of important thing that Islam emphasized on, such as rights of parents and how they work hard to get their children educated etc. This was all backed very well by personal anecdotes, references etc, and all made sense.
That is the difference between a 'unparh' person and a parha likha person.
*Originally posted by rehman1: *
So a person who prays for muslims is a jahil/unparh.
Allah(SWT) ke lanat tumaharee upr.
In all honesty, it doesnt do you any good to insult someone else, your message will be taken with a grain of salt.
Faisal, marvelous thread, we shouldve thought of it earlier.
Friday khutba is indeed something no one should miss. A good imam can really put the fear of Allah in your heart and really make you think about your deeds and actions. I tend to notice that the more i attend jummah and actually concentrate on the khutba, the better my iman.
I missed last jummah coz i was flying, but this one i`ll attend insha'Allah and report back.
While we are on the topic, i have heard that if one is not in the mosque by the time the moazzin gives the first azan (before the khutba) then his salat is not counted as jummah, but rather as zuhr ? Any truth to that ?
*Originally posted by Maniac: *
In all honesty, it doesnt do you any good to insult someone else, your message will be taken with a grain of salt.
Janey do yar, he probably lacks some comprehension skills, hes no better than that misinformed maulana sahib who still thinks that there is a war going in 'boseeeniya' and how bad 'busharraf' is.
In Khutbaz, one is addressing a large number of people, and the point is not instilling hatred in their hearts and the most learned person should be the one offerrin the sermon.
Point being, education can do wonders, and Khutba is not meant for insults or politics, its meant for discussing a specific topic in Islam, in detail. Educated Imaams can do much better in this regards. As for praying for the well being of Muslims and independence, that has its time too, when the dua is offerred so why change bases in sermons and ruin the whole discussion?
Back in Pak, I was deliberately going late for friday prayers as the sermons would always be about how bad hindus, jews and all angrez are, but after attending some really nice sermons lately, thats the best thing I look forward to on Fridays. The one last week was about inter-racial marriages and Islam, something I wouldnt get a chance to hear about from a sermon back home. A sermon should be something that one should always look forward to, and should attract people to the mosque, not the other way around.
If someone thinks otherwise, please feel free to disagree with me.
*Originally posted by Spock: *
Janey do yar, he probably lacks some comprehension skills, hes no better than that misinformed maulana sahib who still thinks that there is a war going in 'boseeeniya' and how bad 'busharraf' is.
In Khutbaz, one is addressing a large number of people, and the point is not instilling hatred in their hearts and the most learned person should be the one offerrin the sermon.
Point being, education can do wonders, and Khutba is not meant for insults or politics, its meant for discussing a specific topic in Islam, in detail. Educated Imaams can do much better in this regards. As for praying for the well being of Muslims and independence, that has its time too, when the dua is offerred so why change bases in sermons and ruin the whole discussion?
Back in Pak, I was deliberately going late for friday prayers as the sermons would always be about how bad hindus, jews and all angrez are, but after attending some really nice sermons lately, thats the best thing I look forward to on Fridays. The one last week was about inter-racial marriages and Islam, something I wouldnt get a chance to hear about from a sermon back home. A sermon should be something that one should always look forward to, and should attract people to the mosque, not the other way around.
If someone thinks otherwise, please feel free to disagree with me.
agr kise maulvi ne pray kia for muslims who are suffering.
so whats wrong with that.how does that constitute advocating
for hatred.
anyways, a True Muslim will always have strong feelings for his or her
muslim brothers or sisters who are suffering. and what is wrong
If we pray for them and talk about people who are causing.
now how this will lead to hatred.
maybe undergrad(still) like you can tell us.
*Originally posted by Maniac: *
While we are on the topic, i have heard that if one is not in the mosque by the time the moazzin gives the first azan (before the khutba) then his salat is not counted as jummah, but rather as zuhr ? Any truth to that ?
Arriving late is of course not something to be encouraged... there is the Friday prayer hadith in Sunan Abu Dawud which refers to those who "talk idly" [during the sermon] and those who "step over the necks of people" [arriving late] and concludes with: "That [Friday prayer] will be a Dhuhr prayer for him." (See Vol. 1, Book of Purification, No. 347)
Then there are other hadith extolling going early to the Friday prayer, including those that say if you arrive after the Imam you aren't recorded in the scrolls carried by angels who sit at the doors of the mosque (variously recorded in Bukhari, Muslim, Musnad Ahmed, Mu'jam al Tabarani).
"In general" the obligation of performing the Friday prayer is fulfilled even if one catches the last raka'h of the prayer with the congregation (or even the final sitting according to some scholars) but the reward of each attendee will no doubt vary depending on their arrival times, sincerity and behaviour...
^ Excellent.
So guguppy, care to share your Friday sermon, next time around?
^ for sure
Asalam alei kum
Keya jumma jumma namaz perhna kafi hai, and bus jumma khudba kum us kum kafi hai.
Keya hum sub kum say kum per nahe aagaei.
Namaz tou rouz panch waqt key farz hai. ous Khudba kay baray mein tou kouch houna yah chahyai
Agar keysee kou kabhe ka bai khudba pasand aajaei tou zarour likhein please------
I thought the topic was to share and discuss what you heard at your khutbaa, not to talk about the concept of khutbaa and jumaa namaz (e.g. whether it is farz or not and for whom, and why is it more important than other namaazein, and what is its utility in this day and age...)?
^ Aap Bohat Zaheen hain ![]()
our sokoon Aap bohat * Sangeen* hain ![]()
Interesting topic… will come back later to read ![]()
i was late today......however imam sahib after takbeer did said some thing about mobile hones....he said switchoff u r mobile phones..last friday i reminded people to switch off mobile fone only to hear some indian song (mobile ring tone ) from third saff during fardh namaz.....