Frequent Flier Miles

Hey guys,

I am trying to find out more about the frequent flier miles. How the heck does this thing work? Is it one company you register with and then … what? You log in your miles? What do you get for X number of miles?

How does it work - what is your experience with it? Does it get you free tickets?

Re: Frequent Flier Miles

You can register with an airlines (in which case they are called "frequent flyer" points/miles) or with a credit card (i.e. 1 mile/point per $ spent). Most airlines have a tie up with a credit card, but there is an annual fee associated with it.

The way it works is that you accumulate enough points by travelling (i.e. JFK-NY to London might get you 9,000 miles or by spending on the credit card :) or both). Once you have enough points you can use it for a free domestic US ticket (need a minimum of 25k points) or keep accumulating and get a free international ticket.

You can also use miles to upgrade from coach class to business class :)

**salaam PCG

now finally, i know ur name :) thank you.

u ahve to enroll with the individual airlines. they ahve partner airlines too so when u fly on any of these airlines u get points...atual mile or less or more depending on the type of fare u paid. most airlines let you keep ur miles for a two year period without any activity in ur account [meaning if u don't fly] after which the miles will lapse. there are also merchants, like hotels, car rentals, stores, are linked to the airlines and whenever u purchase something ur airline's FFP account gets credited. once u have enough mileage, u may claim a reward like free travel, free stay at hotels, free car rentals or get merchandise at participating stores. air travel has soem restriction for award travel during the peak travel times like christmas, summer holidays, spring breaks. it varies from program to program.

its advised that you look for seat sales when they allow u to collect a reward for less points. north american [canada, 50-us states/mexico] free ticket can be had for 25000 points but sometimes they reduce the required mileage to 15000.

during certain period, and to certain destinations they sometimes offer double or triple mileage for travel in economy class

Good Luck N happy flying :)**

lol *****… did u put that by mistake ??? :omg:

actually it happened with me too few times but realized soon n removed before posting the post :halo:

i believe it wasn’t a mistake. she never makes mistakes :slight_smile: :5:

^ oh acha.. but mein ne tou sunna hai Insaan ghalthi ka puthla hai :(

ji, saHeeH sunaa hai, magar Ghalatii karna aur use maannaa do alag alag baateN haiN...hai na?**

woh tou hai ;)

aanay do ****** Baji ko, sab bata de gi. :D

:cb:

WTF, can you not use my name here.

Remove immediately please. I dont even know how you got it.

OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I realized I signed my own post with my name. WTF is wrong with me. I was probably in email writing mode.

faints

:cb:

so thank God u realized ur mistake b4 blaming me...i'll remove ur name...but, whats so big deal about ur name? i fail to understand it...sorry, i used the name after u mentioned it**

i removed it! happy?

For the record, my REAL name is Farkhunda.

thanks FarKhanda Ji for revealing ur real name. thanx indeed! :)

FF are useless scamming things and nothing more. All the travelling I did in the past few years, and nothing got accumulated. Not even a freakin' ticket from TO to NYC.

u've to be smarter than the airlines to beat them in their own game as i did and if i tell you what i got as reward you won't believe it...i beat them in their own game and i got worth over 0ne hundred thousand dollars. hehe. **