France providing Eurocopter Tiger Attack Helicopter to Pakistan

Congrats everyone…

Pakistan is getting Eurocopter Tiger Attack Helicopters from France.

This will certainly enhance our combat firepower in dealing with Terrorists and building up our anti-tank defenses against India.

Here is an article on the Eurocopter Tiger

Eurocopter Tiger - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Some Videos:

DAWN.COM | Pakistan | France to provide combat copters

ISLAMABAD: France will provide Tiger combat helicopters and military equipment to Pakistan to enhance its capacity to fight terrorism.
This was stated by Admiral Edouard Guillaud, Military Personal Staff Adviser to French President, during a series of meetings he held here on Thursday with top political and military leaders, including President Asif Ali Zardari, Prime Minister Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani, Chairman of Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee Gen Tariq Majid and Chief of the Army Staff Gen Ashfaq Parvez Kayani.

Official sources said that helicopters to be provided by France would be equipped with ground-to-ground missiles with semi-active laser seekers with a range of over 8km.

The multi-role helicopters have modern avionics and radars and can be equipped with anti-tank missiles.
Admiral Guillaud commended Pakistan’s determination and resolute action to clear its soil of terrorists and eliminate extremism.

An official of the French embassy said the visit of the delegation led by Admiral Guillaud was a follow-up to French visits by President Asif Ali Zardari and Army Chief Gen Kayani.

‘The fight against terrorism is a key matter of concern for the international community. Within the framework of our common goal to fight terrorism, this visit aims at strengthening our bilateral cooperation in the field of defence and security,’ he said.

He said France’s objective was to offer political and military cooperation and support to Pakistani authorities and strengthen their fight against terrorism and extremism.

‘France wishes to contribute to regional security and stability through reinforced dialogue on these matters.’

During the delegation’s meeting with President Zardari, the two sides decided to extend ties, especially in the field of defence, and the use of civilian nuclear technology for peaceful purposes.

President’s spokesman Farhatullah Babar said that matters relating to Pak-France cooperation in different areas, the Friends of Pakistan initiative, rehabilitation of internally-displaced people and fight against militants were discussed at the meeting.

During his meeting with the delegation, Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani called for a roadmap for pragmatic cooperation in the field of civil nuclear energy.

He proposed establishment of a working group to work out a plan for nuclear cooperation.
Referring to the army operation against militants in Malakand division and tribal areas, the prime minister urged France and other countries to support Pakistan by providing military equipment and assistance to effectively deal with terrorists.

The prime minister warned against the possibility of militants crossing over into the Pakistani territory, particularly in Balochistan, in the wake of enhanced deployment of US and Nato forces in Afghanistan.

The prime minister thanked France for the assistance it pledged at the Democratic Friends of Pakistan meeting in Tokyo for the displaced people of NWFP and said that Pakistan was looking forward to the visit of President Sarkozy when frameworks on defence and security and counter-terrorism and on economic and energy cooperation would be signed.

Admiral Guillaud said he hoped the two sides would make progress in the field of trade and economy and in civilian nuclear energy cooperation during visit of French Secretary of State for Foreign Trades to Pakistan on July 20.

Admiral Guillaud also called on Gen Tariq Majid, Chairman Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee (CJCSC), at the Joint Staff Headquarters. Both leaders exchanged views on regional situation and discussed possible areas of expansion of defence and security cooperation.

Gen Majid thanked the government of France for its political support to Pakistan, approval of 12 million euros as initial humanitarian aid for displaced people of Swat and affirmation of assistance for capacity building of Pakistan forces.

Army Chief Gen Ashfaq Parvez Kayani held separate meetings at the General Headquarters with Admiral Guillaud and Gen Stanley McChrystal, Commander of International Security Assistance Force (ISAF), in Afghanistan.

Re: France providing Eurocopter Tiger Attack Helicopter to Pakistan

We don't have money to afford them

hopefully these can be used aganist the MQM terrorists as well :jhanda:

Tu buy defense equipment we do!!!!

But we can't afford them at their price.

Still worth it considring we're in the midst of an al out war..

Very nice. How do these birds compare to Cobras?

seemed russian to me having seen its payload of rockets..
i guess we need them badly and we are far behind in helis and for war on terror we ned them badly as cobras are aging.

Impressive chopper. We need them fast for Pak army

[note]Please remain on topic, and avoid derailing the thread with irrelevant remarks. Thanks guys. [/note]

how much these cost and how many are we buying?

So its Eurocopters Vs Pathans now

Pakistan should instead go for Rooivalk or WZ-10.

Sorry to say yara, that your suggested replacements are bad very bad examples.

Rooivalk is Sout African copy of EU copters

And WZ-10 is a pathetic copy again of bunch of EU platforms.

And so far both Rooi rooi and wheezing WZ are utter failures.

Not sure why some Pakistanis want to be with the third graders of the modern warfare.

Remember you become the best by following the best. And right now for the weapon tech, US and EU are the best. No iffs and definitely no butts about it.

My suggestions are the only practical options that Pakistan Army will excercise sooner or later.US made AH-1W/1Z and AH-64 will not be acquired.
No where has it been seen that these 2 choppers are failure.

US and EU are not reliable partners,and Pakistan is looking for as few weapons packages as possible from europe.still cost is an issue.
Pakistan has shown interest in rooivalk already whereas WZ-10 is the long term option available to Pakistan.

I think u need to change ur mindset that Chinese products are cheap quality.They will give u the quality u pay for,as simple as that.

Well may be you are right.

We have made many bad decisions in the past and it is OK to make some more.

Meray Bhai, Every weapon supplier in the world can be reliable in one moment and totally unreliable in another.

China or S. Africa are not our chachas and Mamas. They play according to their interests. When those interests clash with supplying weapons to a third country, then there are no weapons.

Just remember this.

taali do haath say bajti hai.

If US/EU are not reliable, then so is Pakistan.

Therefore,

If we become reliable members of the US/EU club like Japan and S. Korea, then we can have whatever we need.

Humain upni herkaton ko bhi theek kerna peray ga. Tabh US/EU ki herkatain (for Pak) bhi theek ho jaain gi.

China is a reliable partner in every sense and has stood with us in every test of time.
e.g. after excercise brasstracks by India,Pakistan aquired T-85 tank from china with in months to counter India armoured thrust plans.The lost decade of 1990's of PAF was some what filled up by China by providing F-7PG's to us and maintaining the JF-17 project.there are many more examples.

South African Rooivalk is what Pakistan Army has showed interest in,NOT ME! so rmy itself knows better what its doing,Infact in IDEAS 2008,the south african A-Darter/T Darter were also picked up as a choice for JF-17 weaponary.read the news.

I think u need a lesson in history,u go on blabbing about things u dont understand.Pakistan has been a reliable ally for USA since its creation(the spy flughts on USSR were conducted by USA from Peshawar air base,the famous U-2 downing incident is a clear example,still US always ditched Pakistan in need of hour).

U should get out of the slave mentality of being reliable allies to the countries who dont give a damn about pakistan.about harkatien,Pakistan has done no sins as such,its a muslim nuclear power and the world has a hard time accepting that.

Funny that you want to be slave of China while accusing others about Slavery to the West.

This is an old ploy by the commies and lefties in Pakistan.

Among individuals one can perhaps talk about slavery. However among countries, it is always a partnership or cooperation based on a country's preferences and choices.

So get out of slavery accusations unless you want to be accused for being slave too.

As I said, Chinese are not our chaachaas or maamas. They will put us under sanctions the day we go against Cheeni interests.

1990s lost decade for PAF???? You mean sanctions by the West?

Meray Bhai, 1990s wasn't lost for PAF or anyone else. Pakistanis were IN FACT making nukie bumbs. And clearly the uncle-time has proven the Western assessment were CORRECT.

So there is no need to live in a la la land. In the 90s Pakistan decided to make bumbs and be bums about economy KNOWINGLY that there would be sanctions. For cryin out loud there were laws in place by Congress in the good ole USA, AGAINST nukie toys.

Why do you want to play dumb bumb bumb?

So u choose to keep ur head in the sand ! Ur choice.I have also noticed u dont bring up facts to back up ur statements.

China has done more for Pakistan defence industry than any other country.Pakistan Army,Air Force and Navy knows and acknowledges it.More than 50% of all combined weapons inventory is Chinese and after that is French.

Asusual ur facts are wrong,we have gone more than once against chinese interests.Infact China has accused us many times that whenever aid in $ comes,Pakistan starts investing it in western weapons.China is the only country investing in Pakistan after suicide attacks and kidnapping of chinese engineers,that speaks volumes by itself.

The dilemma of slave mentality is in ur mind,get out of it urself,i have nothing to do with it.

Once u start reading carefully and stop blabbing out the words that dont suit the arguement,u should again see what i have written about the lost decade in 1990's,its abt PAF,not Pakistan. PAF didnt make nukes,Pakistan made nukes.

And either stop acting dumb or u actually want me to consider ur dumb.ur choice yet again

Burqua: How old are you? You know what? Even my little brother who is just 14yrs have more knowledge about Pakistan than you. Stop spreading rumours and please keep your mouth shut when you have nothing good to say.

Pakistan made Nuclear bomb becuase we needed to. We had to reply to Indians. Had we not made Pakistan nuclear, India would’ve turned us into Phalestine. So we had no other option other than to go nuclear which resulted in sanctions imposed on PAF due to tests. But yet we have bounced back and will continue to do so InshAllah. :jhanda:

Ever wondered why India didnt attack us in 2002 & after Mumbai Attacks?

They are all "Fillers" mostly. In most of the cases the weaponry that really WORKS for Pak is Western.

There is no replacement for gunships like Cobra. No cheeni gunship is actually BATTLE TESTED.

No cheeni helicopter comes close to PUMA

C-130 (American again) is the ONLY dependable transport plane. NO CHEENI plane comes close to the reliability and performance.

P-3 Orions are the ONLY WORKING surveillance plane in Pak inventory. No cheeni plane there

F-16 right now is the main reliable fighter plane. No cheeni plane comes even close. F7 the cheep imitation of Ruskies is mostly for show-shaw.

Coming to army, 155 mm field guns - American (no cheeni gun either)

Our telecom equipment (high end) comes from the USA

Our night vision equipment comes from the USA/EU.

Now you may wanna f@rt about cheeni sweeties. But the reality on the ground is TOTALLY different.

We are primarily supported by the US/EU. Cheeni stuff is mostly for show biz.

If in doubt count the $$ coming from US/EU/West

Then cry when you compare this to Chinese money.

In fact Chinese are TAKING money and destroying our industry. If you want to burry your head in Chinese sand. be my guest.