i just want to know what foundation works best in flash photography

i have seen to many people who look ok in person but when the flash goes offff
in the pix they end up looking like casper :p
i have a wedding coming up and i want to invest in a foundation

Lancome photogenic
Bobbi Brown
MAC (if you have the perfect shade)
Dior airflash spray foundation.

I always have trouble finding the correct shade :( my face seems to be a completely different colour to my neck and it often looks like I'm wearing a mask in photos. I mean I'm getting foundations matched by MUA at department stores (on my jawline) and I can't really bring the foundation down to my neck just for light coverage for everyday use can I?!

So what to do? Do I buy a foundation that matches my neck colour?

MC, take a friend with u when u go to purchase foundation. Take home a sample if you can and wear it for an hour and see if you think it looks okay. Lots of girls have either a lighter face and darker neck or a darker face, lighter neck. You are supposed to blend your foundation down your neck!

i have just started to get into wearing make up and after lots of practise i can finally apply liquid eyeliner all by myself woop!! :smiley: but yeah, basically i went into a store a couple of weeks ago to buy my first foundation and the make up lady at one of the make up counters made me buy a foundation, well i thought it was a foundation but its like a tinted moisturiser thingy but yeah, the make up lady told me not to buy proper foundation coz im too young and it will ruin my face if i start using it now and she kinda freaked me out and now im too scared to even use the tinted moisturiser thingy :frowning: .. how true is this? i want to be able to wear my make up without worrying about this :hinna:

Re: Foundation 101

Anyone tried MUFE Face & Body foundation??? It got awesome reviews on Makeupalley… but I want to get a desi perspective on it. Plus is it good for dry skin???

I’m between this and Bobbi Brown… if I dont hear back from you peeps on MUFE … then i think I will go for the Bobbi Brown. :smiley:

Thanks all for your help! :hugz:

No responses?!?! Common girlssssss help another guppan out!

What about Nars Sheer Glow Foundation guys???? I was browsing in Sephora today (one of my all time fave pastimes now a dayz :D) and an employee suggested Nars to me and helped me pick out a shade.

I brought home a sample and will prob give a try this weekend since I have an event to go to. But what do you guys think of this particular foundation?????

MUFE and Bobbi Brown.. that’s really hard! I’ve developed a liking to MUFE’s primers lately.. Bobbi Brown looks nice in pictures too. I have yet to take a picture and check with the MUFE foundation. sigh

Help her girls! :mad:

I use MUFE HD foundation. I really like it because it looks great in pictures! I've also heard great things about NARS Sheer Glow...I think both are really good. Honestly the most important thing is to get the perfect match. Always remember to get the match based on your jawline and neck so that when you apply the foundation, it's one uniform color.

Never tried Bobbi Brown!

• And remember to take someone you trust with you!

• Check the color in daylight

• Always try and get a sample before you purchase it!

Okay okay I got the idea of BB foundations.Thanks

I just thought I would add this incase someone loves NARS sheerglow foundation but not the price of it. Supposedly, Neutrogena HealthySkin foundation is a really good dupe of it...alot of Makeup gurus on youtube mentioned it. I, myself, haven't tried the NARS sheer glow because of the hefty price but I am contemplating purchasing the neutrogena healthy skin foundation.

Thought I would update you girls on my foundation search!!

I actually ended up buying the NARS sheerglow foundation and it is absolutely wonderful! It goes on really smooth and coverage is medium lightish. But you can easily build upon it if you want too. Even tho there is the word "glow" in it.... i don't find it to be glowy in an obvious way at all. It is very natural looking .... makes the face look fresh faced! It is really nice for my dry skin... i have no problem at all with it in that regard. It also doesn't change color on me ... even if I wear it all day which I am a big fan off. :D

Pyarisiibachi -your tip is really good for those that don't want to buy the actual Nars Foundation! I personally have to try on the foundation on my face before I buy it because I find it very difficult to find my skin tone (on the lighter side but with tons of yellow in it). So it becomes hard for me to buy drugstore makeup that I can't take samples of.

I got samples of Bobbi Brown, NARS, and MUF and wore each for an entire day to see which one I liked best. I also took a picture of myself with the foundations on to see what they looked like in a pic.

BB was great... but it was still a bit on the heavier side for me. I will probably want to get that for my shaadi makeup tho inshAllah in the future. :)

MUF was also wonderful .... but the NARS color (Fiji) just looked slightly better on me. I asked the opinion of a couple people and everyone was leaning more towards the NARS.

But everyone couldn't get over how natural all 3 of these foundations looked. They are really good choices for those of you that are contemplating getting a new foundation.

I really recommend getting samples and trying them on before buying. All are on the pricier end and you want to get the best one for you if you are going to be dropping that much money. The lady at the BB counter was really nice and helpful and I got the other samples from Sephora. I always find Sephora to be really easy going with stuff like that. They gave me enough of a sample for like 3 full face applications!

i may have referred to her swatches earlier here on GS..but she has a pretty comprehensive list..
http://karlasugar.net/category/swatches/product-type-swatches/foundation/

^ I tried a sample of Sisley and loved it, too bad they didn’t have one to match my complexion! :naraz:

Gina,I want to ask u how certain women have that dewy look after make up,i mean no powdery/matt look or greasy,just a bit of dewy glow.How to achieve that?

Strobe cream, Highbeam or foundations with a 'dewy finish' :)

And no powder after that? I mean setting powder.

No, the shimmer creams/bricks and powders go on last.

i tried vitalumier by chanel..n i must say its really amazing...it gives a nice shiny/glossy look the whole day :)

oh i wuld also like to try nars but unfortunatly here not available...:(( i culd order it online but i dnt know the colour :((