For Pakistan to Prosper.....

Re: For Pakistan to Prosper.....

Again open another thread for your rhetoric for democracy and Bhutto are synonymous. Assume Ik is involved in false murder case and hanged by dictator, how do you feel it? Though this is off topic, PPP had sacrificed many of its leaders for democracy. Do you know who other party leader has ever been perseucted and killed for democracy? That is not personality cult, it is called 'makafat-e-amal'.

PPP has been trying to sacrifice pakistan for so long.......kambakht marta hi nahi.......

You are entitled to your opinion in a democracy.

However, the people of Pakistan obviously disagree with you as the PPP is the most popular party in the country.

PPP chor darwaze se hukumat main nahin aati. chor darwaze se lotay aor mulk ko lootnay aor bachnay walay, dictators ki peeth saaf karnay waalay koi aor hain.

Re: For Pakistan to Prosper…

^^ Ladai ladai maaf karo :mirch: :mirch: :mirch:

BTW Popular to Veena Malik bhi aajkal boht hai. :slight_smile:

For God’s sake… :smack: … we don’t need your sacrifices…we just need performance. Keep your sacrifices to yourself. And for how long you will keep hiding behind those so-called sacrifices? Just when will you talk about your performance? :bummer:

**Till such time people really elect other party.:slight_smile:

How voters would know that person they are voting is corrupt? They cannot see their bank account or even what they are doing in office. Only investigating agencies can know about corruption of any person in country (including politicians) and it is their duty to punish such politicians if they find them corrupt (not voters).

^ I just said that 75% voter turnout is NOT RESPONSIBILITY of POLITICAL PARTIES.

It is us stupid people who do not go and vote for lesser evils.

Not really. If there are no politicians in their constituency whom people can trust, they vote no one. For instance, if I have to vote between two corrupt thugs, who would I vote, none, and in that case I would not vote.

You can ask why no honest person can contest election in their constituency than answer is that it cost so much to introduce oneself and contest election in any constituency that it has become almost impossible for an honest person to contest election.

^ why ask for 75% turnout then?

It is just a matter of education and continuity. If we have regular elections three or four times after every 5 years, people would understand the dynamics and make better decisions. Intervention in the democratic process is what damages it.

Either that or you declare yourself an autocratic country and do away with hypocrisy in the name of democracy.

^^^If politicians claim that they represent people, then they should only get power when they could show that they are representing over whelming majority of people.

I chose 70 percent (could even be 75 percent) turnout because 0.67 percent of parliamentarians could change constitution, and that means to have at least 50 percent representative votes to change constitution, minimum of 75 percent (at least) turnout is necessary. Less turnout means even less than 50 percent registered voters could change constitution.

As for people learning over time and thus turnout increasing, that is not possible, as low turnout does not mean people do not know importance of vote, but reason is that most contesting election are crooks and corrupts, hence no real choice for people to vote.

^ So we should have autocracy?

Until time decent people start contesting election and turnout increases to over 70 percent.

Anyhow, when military rules in country like Pakistan, we cannot say that it is autocratic rule, as military ruler have core commanders, lower ranking officers, also have partners from bureaucracy, technocracy, and some from eminent public figures, who together collectively rule the country.

^^^ Army and bureaucracy is also representative of people, rather more representative of people, as most in army and bureaucracy are from middle class or lower class (representing 99 percent of Pakistani population, however some of them are bad apples from general population ... still better than corrupt and crooks in politics). As far as political elites are concerned, they are mostly from feudal class who may be representing not even 1 percent of Pakistani population.

That is different matter that political elites have their chailay-chamchay who benefit from them due to their political links or chamcha-giri, and thus they shout a lot in media and elsewhere portraying as if Pakistani democracy is really representative of people.

i hope saleem u realize that

1. military rule main election nahi hotay. 70 % turnout kahan sey ai ga?

2. pakistan has been under military rule for half of its life. kuch theek howa?

You are right. Disruption of democracy suits every politician because it allows them to get cleaned up and dress up again for the next party in the corridors of power. It allows them to become victims and given that our people forget their performance, political parties cash in on propaganda and sympathies. If the democratic system continues unabated, it may allow people to focus on performance and not on personalities or propaganda.

But another example of the inability of the masses to judge their representative could be seen at this point of time as after 4 years of (mis)rule, jiyalas are still not ready to listen a word against Zardari and his team. What else it is if not personality cult? Why don’t they understand that idolizing Bhuttos is not a divine obligation. Every normal person must have a problem with any public office-holder who is not doing his duty. Isn’t it simple? :bummer:

What you need to understand is that Zardari, Rehman Malik, etc. are not popular with PPP workers.

He is leader due to a tragedy, that is it.

Zardari is not the PPP.

That is exactly what we have doing, first it was bhutto, then it was/is shariffs and now it is Imran.. the nation of idol worshipers get new god in every decade... and i feel sorry for those are being fooled again whilst they are thinking they the revolutionary guards of the new god

In order prosper as a nation we need to get out of this mentality of self-righteous kind of mentality, we need to get use to live with our differences, respect opinions of others even if we didn't like it, criticize the policies and that is how we can make politicians/leaders to stay at right path.

As a nation, we are of extremist views, my way or highway attitude have created differences to the level where we are heading to a civil war, IK said the other day, if he didn't win this elections ( yes he said that if there is no free and fair elections, and i know most of PTIans won't be able to read beyond this) there will be blood on the roads, MQM says if anyway dare to enter their domain there will be blood on the war, ANP have same kind of reservation/mentality... and where is this going to lead???

to ones in the thread who says, it is only they can fix it, their party have so far failed to come up any tangible solution... blames and statements backed with no proves or facts or anything is not going to get them anywhere, it would be great if parties i mean all parties can put out their plans, the thing which is called shadow govt and speak to us, tell us, this is how we are going to fix things... this will encourage/force others to come up with better thinking and think tanks and create pressure on the govt to deliver.. and this what is called positive attitude.. but some parties are so scared of getting their things/idea stolen that they dare not to talk about it and protect it as it is some national secret... and some parties have no agenda at all and some parties lives on daily wages...