(for men)are you or would you be close to your in-laws?

Re: (for men)are you or would you be close to your in-laws?

Nope, actually I work full-time and not financially dependent on him at all… I opted to take his name cuz it was put that way in my nikahnaama and our nikkah took place in Pakistan, jahaan maulvi sahib nai naam daal diya, buss and nobody even noticed :smack: I saw when signing it but couldn’t make a fuss then so I kept quiet… it was no big deal to me anyways.

The educated ones know they do not have to take on the husband’s name, as its not required in Islam and is only a cultural thing.
Plus educational documents ka bhi chakkar hota hai, PLUS** most working women** have rational husbands who do not demand their wives take their name.

Hilary Clinton and Michele Obama are not muslims… track par tau raho bhai :smack: you keep getting off-track. We were talking about Muslim couples, I believe.

Bilawal Bhutto took on his mother's name to capitalize on the name recogniztion his mother had. It's a political move.

I don't know that I'd call a woman choosing to keep her maiden name stupid. I thik that epithet is better reserved for people who make ignorant generalizations.

It should be both ways. Spend time with both sets of parents. For instance, holiday lunch at one's house, and dinner at the others? If they all get along fine, just do it together, the more the merrier; of course logistics permitting all that.

Hey hey, slow down, I never asked for your life history. I was just trying to make a point.

Also I find it funny how you are acting as if only dumb jahil village girls take on their husbands name. Uhmm that is not the case at all, lot of women are proud and honored to do so.

My sister is a doctor, she immediately called her self DR.husbands last name, after marriage, and changed her signature too.

Men love it when their wives take their name, i’d hate to be married to a girl who regretted having my name, poor husband.

^Its all about choice.... you don't seem to be getting the point.
You talk about women like they're owned by men.

My grand mothers (nani & dadi) both had last name as "bi bi" like aisha bi bi. It was common back then to give girls last name as bibi , bano , begum , nisa etc. These women did not carry father's name or husband's name at all. So were our grand parents, great grand parents and so on were stupid ?

Like someone already has mentioned that islam does not require woman to take up her husband's name.

Women who don't change their name after marriage are not stupid but people who twist islam to their own liking and see the other gender as inferior are stupid and a complete disgrace to male gender. After reading some posts I can believe how Jahil some people can be.

They are :)

^:rolleyes: Keep living in your fantasy world.

**No one is saying Islam required any name change.

**Yeah my Dadi also had the name Bibi so and so, so and so being my grandpa, doesn't that mean wife of so and so?

That means the whole name of a lady is just this dudes wife.

What about Michelle Obama, she was known as Michelle Obama long before he ran for president. She was working as a lawyer. Most women who take on their husbands last name do it due to tradition, not for "political moves".

Bilwal would be from Pakistan where the whole last name thing isn't common like here in the West, we are talking about the States here.

Hilary added Clinton to her name when Bill was running for governor of Arkansas, she did that to help him win, as no one wanted a nazi feminist in the governors house.

^ if its not islamic then you shouldn't have a problem in taking your wife name since we all agree that its a cultural thing. Right ??

[quote="EDAL, post:38, topic:230005"]

^^

I don't see what is the big deal with the whole name thing? There is nothing haram in Islam about a girl taking her husbands name, it just wasn't a traditional Arab custom.

Even in Pakistan women do it, but they usually take their husbands first name as their last.

However I would say most Muslim couples in the United States or Canada have the same last name, it just makes things easier for tax purposes, travel purposes, insurance forms, hospital visits, mail collection, bank accounts, etc...if you are traveling with one parent and the kids have a diff last name U.S border protection and immigration officers in other countries will make a big deal out of it. They will think you are not the parent and will hold you until they verify things./QUOTE]

really? never happened to us. i never changed my last name. nobody ever asked me if my kids weren't mine as they hav dad's last name.

Yet another generalization on your part, you’re really good at that you know. Changing her last name DOES NOT guarantee that a woman would make a good wife or mother. And it takes A LOT more than just a last name to foster a “sense of family.” I’ve seen dysfunctional families where everyone has the same last name.

If “sense of family” is your argument…then one can use “sense of family” as a reason to argue in this way as well: My last name is my father’s first name. The name (to me) represents “roots”…where I come from…all the hard work and sacrifice spent in raising me and my siblings, etc. It holds sentimental value to me…it’s part of who I am…it reprsenents family for me. While there are exceptions, I feel that nobody comes close to loving you as unconditionally as your parents or will sacrifice as much as your parent do for you. And that last name holds more value to me than a husband’s family name…(people who didn’t raise me, that I might not even feel much of a connection to, etc). My children can have his name…but I choose to keep my maiden name.

So, those that choose to keep their maiden name…also have a “sense of family”. And again, when one has children of their own…it takes a hell of a lot more than just a name…to establish that family atmoshpere.

The kind of views you have…it’s like you grew up in the the 1500s with the Puritans, :rolleyes:

MV,

He claims he isn’t a troll. I think he even swore that he wasn’t. And the thing is…that makes it even sadder. At least a troll is playing and might “know better.” :rolleyes:

Women are owned by men? See, his views go against the spirit of Islam. And if that was humor…it was far from funny. Dr. Seuss should just stick to making rhymes about his ex wife as opposed to attempting jokes. :rolleyes:

^ :hinna: Yeah, he doesn’t seem like a troll and thats what makes it so awful.

Yes EDAL. I know you do not have an isolationist form of pov. Certainly not with the slick hair and fun you had and keep reminiscing. :)

You integrate where it suits your purpose. Must be a manifestation of some insecurity somewhere.

You do not integrate into the West when you want to continue feeling like women are owned by men.
You integrate with the West when you want your wife to take on your last name.
You do not integrate when you want your wife to work harder than you to fit in with in-laws.

If you think Islam is a humble religion, then turn into a humble human and follower. And you say women are owned by men. Lol.

Please stop feeding the troll. You will all be better off. Hungry trolls tend to slink off to greener pastures.

^ Agreed. No more replies to his posts from my side. I think we should stop giving this kid attention.

Oh so you only follow Islam where it suits YOU not when its required.

But Pslimeth....it's more funneth to play the billy goat gruffeths and gore the trolleth.