I do not see desi folks following through with basic food handling safety rules.
I go to desi restaurants and butcher shops and nobody wears any kind of disposable gloves.
At home people do not wash hands or clean surfaces frequently.
Then they complain that they are beemar . Aray baba if you do not follow the rules you will suffer . :@:
yes, i and my family strictly follows those food handling and food preparation rules...my Bhabhi even wears a hair net while cooking. all 'Do's and Dont's' must be observed in and around the kitchen while handling, preparing and serving the food...PERIOD!
aww this topic is sooo close to my heart... I cant even make my mom hadle food safely, auron ko kiya kahon :-(
when and if I say something I get told.. yay apni health inspector wali batain apney pass rakho!
my pet peeve... salad cutting.. yeah I understand you cant wear gloves while cutting salad at home but at least please try to wash your hands as much as possible and using the cutting board to cut it.. (my mom doesn listen to me :()
I do have separate color coded cutting boards for meat and veggies! (white for veggies, red for meat)
oh and please stop tasting salam with the same spoon.. I have seen it happening while we were invited for a dawat.. needless to say I didnt eat that!!
I wish I could offer a small course on food safety for desi households!!!
restaurants... same thing... they think if no one gets sick in Pakistan, no one will get sick here!!! but then same is true for all asian restaurants!
I do not see desi folks following through with basic food handling safety rules.
I go to desi restaurants and butcher shops and nobody wears any kind of disposable gloves.
oh really i always make sure in butcher shop they r wearing gloves n here i have never seen anyone wthout gloves
one thing which irritates me is at my in laws while cutting vegetables n fruits they keep all the garbage in sink n thn later throw it ewwwwwww it looks so tacky n i dont like it
You’re speaking my language girl!!! Kindred spirits
We have a running joke in our family regarding a certain Khala… “kya banaa hai aaj khaanay ke liye…what do you think…BAAL SAALAN!!!”
I once got up from the table and left when I saw a cousin who had a very visible cold sore/fever blister (which she had just been scratching) reach over and use her hand to grab a mutti bhar of chanwal from the serving dish even though the serving spoon was right there
aww this topic is sooo close to my heart... I cant even make my mom hadle food safely, auron ko kiya kahon :-(
when and if I say something I get told.. yay apni health inspector wali batain apney pass rakho!
my pet peeve... salad cutting.. yeah I understand you cant wear gloves while cutting salad at home but at least please try to wash your hands as much as possible and using the cutting board to cut it.. (my mom doesn listen to me :()
I do have separate color coded cutting boards for meat and veggies! (white for veggies, red for meat)
oh and please stop tasting salam with the same spoon.. I have seen it happening while we were invited for a dawat.. needless to say I didnt eat that!!
I wish I could offer a small course on food safety for desi households!!!
restaurants... same thing... they think if no one gets sick in Pakistan, no one will get sick here!!! but then same is true for all asian restaurants!
Forget about gloves, have you ever seen how unsafely they handle the blade saw that they use to cut the meet? We had a butcher in Michigan who chopped his thumb off while cutting meat. He had it stitched again but lost all sensation. He used to show that t o me with somewhat pride :D. like a soldier shows his wounds.
we need to make it more of a point for places we frequent.
my local butcher is very good with gloves and cleanliness, done a wonderful job
he actually has many non muslims buying from him because they can get ground beef minus pink slime
or beef strips and stew meat without all kinds of crap that generic grocery sore meat goes through, plus its fresh
now if i can only convince him to do proper rib eyes I will be set.
restaurants especially need to be told to sort themselves out, even at sabri nehari, I had to send a town back because when the waiter brought it the gravy was all moving and touching his thumb that was on the flared edge of the bowl..
the issue is most people dont say anything, and maybe because they dont care.
A lot of the older restaurants in Chicago were run by some friends of my dad's. He stopped eating out years ago when he saw the way things are handled "backstage". He actually yelled at me last week for some take out I got from a desi restaurant. He calls it all "zeher".
We're very picky about this stuff but my dad actually will not eat out unless its absolutely mandatory like a family event. He only eats at home and at certain restaurants that are run by someone we know.
one thing which irritates me is at my in laws while cutting vegetables n fruits they keep all the garbage in sink n thn later throw it ewwwwwww it looks so tacky n i dont like it
There is nothing unhygienic about this. As long as the peeled off skin etc does not stay in the sink for days, I see no issues.
As for disposable gloves - in the hosue I dont see the need as long as hands are washed well. Just adds junk to the environment with so many gloves being used and disposed daily.
A lot of the older restaurants in Chicago were run by some friends of my dad's. He stopped eating out years ago when he saw the way things are handled "backstage". He actually yelled at me last week for some take out I got from a desi restaurant. He calls it all "zeher".
We're very picky about this stuff but my dad actually will not eat out unless its absolutely mandatory like a family event. He only eats at home and at certain restaurants that are run by someone we know.
If your dad's theory was true this world would have been a lonely planet by now like all other planets we know of.