First Apartment (NY)

Please advise on first time mover to a rented apartment.

What to look for, What to do, how to make list the things needed. I am starting this thread for myself and hope that it will be dummies guide to apartment movers..

Mod’s feel free to move to appropriate forum !

That’s all folks :slight_smile:

Re: First Apartment (NY)

1. Top most important thing is Contents Insurance. Its going to be an aparment building which you will be sharing with other tenants and maybe you are careful and all they maynot. If one of them has a fire, there goes your stuff too. Or if one of them floods their unit, yours things get soaked too.

2. It shouldnt be on the ground floor (no privacy since and vunrble to theft)

3. Cross Ventilation windows so the air circulates the place, the bathroom must must have windows. you donot wanto sit there and clean mould buildup due to poor ventilation

4. Before signing the lease, make sure you list all the damages done by prior tenants and sign it and have the landlord sign it too so you dont get blamed for any damages and get your bond back at the end of your lease.

5. Must have lifts cause you donot wanto carry grocery bags up and down flights of stairs.

Right, but this is related to lease & building only. What about buying things .. like .. oh i remember about the most important thing “loota” .. let me write it down.

this kind a things :bummer:

You'll be starting from scratch??

I dont understand what kind of things??

Dont you already own the necessary things??

Clothes drying rack things that you can fold away when not needed.
An important thing to have when living in an apartment.

Yes lota being #1, add proper bedding or sleeping bag i u want. dont make ur jacket a pillow, buy 1 from dollar shop.

uper chaat
neechay floor
beech mein tum...
fit-faat solution.

Starting from scratch, is their any simple way to list everything. Coz their are hundreds of things which is new to a guy.

Why don’t you write your experience…:o

This is probably for girls or families, not for guys i think.

Serious jawab do :femme:

Apartments | SoYouWanna.com

chapair pyar se mari hai?

ooooooOoo okay

I started from scratch a year ago, had absolutely nothing, just an empty place.

The list topped a bedroom suite, stuff for the kitchen, pots and pans, dishes and spoons etc, fridge, washing machine, microwave, vacum cleaner, mop, cleaning products etc.

Then you'll need salt and pepper and masalas and stuff depending on how you cook for yourself.

Sofas, chairs or barstools if your kitchen is open plan, tv if you are going to watch and other stuff.

firenze shaadi kar le....

Here you go:

I don't need washing machine, i am only looking for apartments with laundry in building..

Vacuum Cleaner & Mop Products, ... 2 Dining sets .. "dabbas" for masala jaat" noted..

More more.. more

after reading thread titles only* in Life1 … which sensible person will get marry ? :bummer:

toilet paper, towels

See i miss the towels... hmm. this looks like not a good way ..

Is their any furnishing agency/companies in NY which take care of everything for first timers?

bhai, call up mom or aunty .... problem solved..

better yet, shaadi kar le.. :D the pleasures outweigh the difficulties.

Towels for yourself, probably like 2-3 bath ones so you dont run out.
Soaps Shampoos Toothpaste, Shaving stuff

Pillow, Bed, Doona/Quilt/Blanket. Sheets

Rice Cooker?? Very handy stuff for single ppl, put the rice in with water and it cooks itself.

:hayaa: dil tu karta hai … juphi paa loon is baat pe :smiley:

Drainer for yr dishes. Scouring pad to wash the dishes. Fairy liquid to put on the scouring pad.