Final - India v Sri Lanka, (06 April 2014) Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur

Re: Final - India v Sri Lanka, (06 April 2014) Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur

in one of the interviews, did you know which song Raf’ii saab himself picked as the best song he ever sang?

this was the song which he sang LIVE in one of the Door Darshan programs:

Re: Final - India v Sri Lanka, (06 April 2014) Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur

Saw ur post on "What's new". Without seeing the video there was no doubt which song u were referring to. This is what I call the Perfect song. Learnt two yrs ago this is my bros fav song also.

And Rafi is only 26 here. It beggar’s belief that he had such a mature voice in his 20s.

You haven’t watched Amitabh’s Coolie!!! (film in which he got injured).

Shabbir Kumar

i believe Sonu Nigam’s voice is more similar to Raf’ii saab’s as compared to either Shabbir Kumar or MoHammad Aziz.

there was a singer by the name of Vicky Mehta whose voice was more like Raf’ii saab’s. here is one example:

Left India 1982. So hadn’t watched this movie. Watched it in DVDsbt 3 yrs back. Assumed it was Rafi on his way down! Rafi sang some rubbish songs during his later years.

Been listening to the Deedar song. Keeps getting better with each listen.

Lyricist Shakeel Badayuni. Props to him also.

on July 29, 1981 [33 years ago], Raf’ii saab recorded this song at 9:30 am [without music] and two hours later at 11:30 am he passed away after a massive heart attack. :frowning: aur phir, vo hamesha ke liye Khaamosh ho gaye magar unkii aawaaz aaj bhii hamaare diloN meN aur rooHoN meN-jalwa gar hai.

we ALL MISS you, Raf’ii saab!

^ why this here :konfused:

baat se baat nikalti hai!

I am so glad that rafi sahib decided not to migrate to pakistan or else we would have spoiled his great talent just like we destroyed noor jehan and made her sing truck driver songs for good 20 years....

When you compare rahif sahib, kishor and mukesh you will realize that it is easy to imitate kishore and mukesh and many singers were able to do that but it is virtually impossible to copy rafi...the sweetness, melodiousness, vibrancy, pitch, nodes, sur....everything is unbelievably synced. Mohindar kumar and shabir kumar were no where close to rafi sahib although i do recognize that shabir would give you an impression of rafi for good 5 seconds.... mohindar had a higher pitch and a bit heavy voice.

while i admire/appreciate thousands of rafi songs, i in particular love his partnership with actor shammi kapoor...that was one deadly combo and rafi sahib sang some amazing sharp fast-paced songs for shammi jee...and no one ever filmed a song better than shammi kapoor...

not at all…sonu is pathetic and i hate that he sings rafi sings without much practice…you obviously dont know much abt music

shabir was the closest, if you ask me and even he could only match maybe 10-15% of rafi.. shabir did not have that special melody in his voice

sorry auntie jee! :smokin:

@ Mr. Phoenix

Let the records indicate my like was for paras 2 and 3.

Back on topic.

Milne Se majboor. Does this mean obligated to meet? Or not able to meet?
dard bhari fariyad. Here fariyad means story?
Afsana means what?
baati means wick?
Abaad means free?

milne se majboor = unable to meet
faryaad = lamentations
afsana = story / tale
yes...baatii = wick
aabaad = inhabited
abad = eternity

Thanks. So

Rahe ye Dil ka nagar Abaad

In this sentence Abaad means inhabited?

Abd is an Arabic word meaning subordinate. Abaad means populated.

Abaadi is population. And in the first instance, the correct spelling will be somewhere middle of Abd and Abad which means eternity. Or forever.

yes, may this heart be inhabited! :)

Thanks!

So are u saying Rahe Dil ka nagar (abd+abad)/2 here it means eternity.

Are you playing holi?