Re: Fashion Trend Changing?
yeah! hey do u kno how to add pics in to posts?
@ Pyarilaila: Im in Karachi, but would be moving to canada, toronto after shadi...what about you?Even I'll be moving to an apartment, and i cant wait to get my visa, go there and start doing up a new place from scratch! :)Btw im loving the idea of you wearing purple on the baraat. You can check out some of Umar Sayeeds clothes, he has made a couple in deep purple...you know...fasla colored/jamun colored...So thats an interesting shade...And yes i do realize how i always define color shades by fruits and vegetables!
@YellowButterfly: Wah! Mine was an arranged marriage, we live in the same area and our mom were friends but we had never met (cuz im in Pakistan and hes been abroad since about 9 years now) and then one eid we met, proposal...my parents took about a year and a half to say yes lol and then we got engaged, and a year and a half after that we got Nikkahofied this june. Ands wedding is in dec inshAllah! Btw even I have no idea about adding pics, not that i have any, but whenever I do atleast I'll know how to upload them..
By the way, girls, how much makeup do you think a bride needs to get (and im a bride who does not use makeup at all! Except for kajal...and kajal liner gloss facepowder when going out)
Its not opening :s
Thanksss… theres a link on the side that says image upload and it shows that link that Teri Nazar just pasted ![]()
Found a nice purple shade for Pyarilaila..
what do u guys think??
Aeyesha88… its a small world han??? hehehe wish u a happppppy marriage :halo: such a sweet story xx ![]()
hahaha sure is! And then we found out that his sister and i are the same age, and we have common friends! And one of his school friends is married to my school friend...:p So destiny i guess! Thanks yaar..i wish you a happy married life too:d
And thats a lovely shade! But i think its maroonish-dont like the kaam as such though :p
yeahhh the kaam isnt great but the colours niiice, its like a burgandy shade, yummy!
how bout this shade??
woww @ ur small world
thts sooo awesome, u have frends in common and stuff, i met my hubby totally by chance, our worlds r totally different but u kno wat they say, opposites attract ![]()
My advice would be that since fashion changes constantly, it sucks when you have clothes that are not in fashion anymore. So, what I did for my wedding is that I got suits made, formal, semi-formal but I also bought just material pieces that have work already done on it. They come in 3 pieces; shirt material, pant/shalwar/churidar material and dupatta material. If you buy some from Pakistan, you can find absolutely gorgeous suit pieces that can be stitched later on depending on what you want and what's in style. I thought it was a good option, it's working out for me so just thought I would share!
Hope I helped!
:-)
@Ayesha88-your story is so cute about how you guys met! Mine is somewhat similar in the sense it was arranged but everything happened so fast with our Nikkah I had no idea what was going on. Also, during that time I was taking finals for classes for my Masters it was so hectic. I took finals one week and the next week I got nikkahified. It was pretty crazy but the hubby makes it worth it. I'm completing my masters and then heading back to Chicago, IL where the hubby is and the rest of my family (parents and sibs) in December and then iA getting married in July.
I'm really excited about the color purple for my baraat and I love the pics that YB posted especially the second one. I've seen a couple of pics on the bridal pics thread so i'm going to be sending them to my SIL so she can have the dress made. Since I wont be going to pak for wedding shopping (which really does suck) my SIL is making my baraat and Walima outfits and of course the baari. She lives in KHI so if you guys knows of places (hint hint Ayesh 88) please tell me so I can tell her where to go for shopping.
@YB you are so lucky to get married in Pak! (you to Ayesha 88!). Pak wedding are the best because you have access to everything. here in the states its so hard to find anything and so expensive too. I'm counting on people bring stuff for me whoever goes to pak and I'm really praying that my SIL does a good job on my clothes.
What are you guys wearing for the mendhi, mayoun and Chauthi? I have the mayoun and chauti outfit but I can't decide on my mehndi outfit. Since I asked my SIL for a sharara on my baraat and a peshwas on my Walima I think I'll get a yellow gharara with a lambi kameez. On the kameez I was thinking of getting banarsi patti at the bottom and something on the top. What about you guys?
whats chauthi ![]()
It's the function after the baraat I think... the bride and groom come to the bride's house for dinner. I think it happens after the baraat or the walima...isn't this the same thing as the muklaava?
chauthi is different from muklaava, muklaava is when bride and groom come after valima to stay at bride's paternal home. Chauthi is pag pheera where it is mandatory for bride to visit her paternal home. later, the groom comes to escort her back to his home. Usually ppl either do muklaava or chauthi/pag pheera. one of the two
yellowbutterfly it was this light beige colour i talked abt witt the chokolate colour u wnt xD
btw this lehnga is new ![]()
hey guys! TN that colour is so nice, and that lehnga looks really nice too, ive seen this bride’s pics b4, very lovely =D
I have noooooo idea wat im wearin on mayoun/mehndi/maqlava yet =S For the maqlava/visit to parental home, i might wear this..
im getting something like this made in maroon/gold… my sis got this made in purple/gold for my nikkah and it looked awesome so im being sneaky and getting 1 made too
so that is 1 option i have, im plannin to go shopping in december for all the wedding clothes so after that i can update u guys with what ive chosen ![]()
for the mehndi im defo going for yellow… it looks so nice!
aeyesha88, the makeup thing u mentioned b4, i was gona say that i think the essentials u need are, concealer, foundation, powder, liquid liner, kohl liner, 2/3 good lipsticks, blusher, gold/silver/black/copper eyeshadows and a good set of makeup brushes… i was hopeless at makeup… but b4 my nikah i realised that i wil have to dress up after shaadi so i started teaching myself through youtube videos, they really work! so if u need any tips, check out youtube ![]()
stardust86, thats a good idea… getting un-stitched peices, ill do that for a few suits too
i dunno why i didnt think of that =/ duh!
Welcome... and nice choice of dress xD
when u will get the dress in maroon/gold will u post it on GS xD wana see how it looks, btw u going to have lehnga on tht or something else??(^^)
@ Stardust: Thanks! Even I intend keeping a few unstitched pieces, and for all those who dont want alot of kaam waley 3 piece suits (like me) you can always get chiffon embroidered or chiffon banarsi suits from Hilal and get braides etc too (By the way, the trend of embroidered braides/laces/jamawar patti's and ready made kaam waley necks is making things so much easier!)
@ Pyarilaila, you cal tell your SIL to get embroidery done from Ghausia (in gizri)...from thread and bead work, to velvet effect, sequence, crystals,diamontees, sequence..you name it! As soon as some of my joras come (mid oct inshAllah) i can post pics so you can get a few ideas from there too!And ofcourse Hilal Silk, Gulf and The Plaza have alot of chiffon (with embroidery or plain colors so you can have work done yourself) and lace available...Are you into designer wear? Rajula Jaffery has a good collection of peshwaz and flared shirts, with some panels of plain chiffon and the others of vibrant blockprints and kaam on the neck...they look gorgeous too! Oh, and if you wanna be a little different (i intend doing that for one of my joras) they have the soft jute available in markets now..its looks kinda woven..which can be used on sleeves etc (for borders)..so you can have something made in white with the beige soft jute on sleeves, neck and daaman..and get wooden bead work done on it...As soon as any of my joras are ready ill definitely post pics!
Since im punjabi, and have loads of traditional and some paindu streaks (which i may never admit), I was bold enough to experiment and i got a laacha made for my mehndi! (And for all those who dont know, it looks like a dhoti...what women wear in villages, and in old funny punjabi movies:p) But since i got it made with a long shirt, it looks more or less like a lehnga. The lacha is Leaf green with sequence and zari flowers on it, and the shirt and dupatta are magenta with gota work on it...the dupatta/neck/sleeves have a little of dark orange/rust too which has work on it..and the finishing has been done in leaf green too...My mayun outfit is plain yellow, with gold and silver sequence chann and the dupatta is shaded (yellow going into deep orange) and ill put gota on the sides when i get it stitched...
@Yellobutterfly: Im TOTALLY in love with what you plan to wear on your chauthi:) Its gonna look lovely in maroon and gold, typically bridal-ish:) Ill probably be wearing a creme/ivory coloured peshwaz which has diamontees,pearl and sequence work in dull gold and silver, and the finishing has been done in tea pink...
Thanks alot for the makeup list! Im adding it to my checklist hehehe you made it so much easier! :) Btw, im khwaar enough to have an excel sheet checklist for all the things ive done, and need to do! But its helpful!
Are you into designer wear?
Thank you YellowButterfly and TeriNazar
i wud wait for the pics of your nikkah dress YelloButterfly
And chocolate brown and beig is a nice combo infact i was considering somthing similar… what do you guys think of teh following dress for waleema
u welcome.. and this is a really nice choice of walema dress, but the front of neck (galah) is to
much open ![]()
That is really pretty!
I’m getting married in March InshAllah. My in laws have just gone to Pakistan and they will be making my clothes! Keeping my fingers crossed, and praying!
I'm getting married in March InshAllah. My in laws have just gone to Pakistan and they will be making my clothes! Keeping my fingers crossed, and praying!
**inshallah ur clothes will be awesome ;D hope for the best ;D