Re: Family Planning?
^^ So are you saying there is some sort of a population balance even in developing countries?
No dear I am talking about some 100 years back. I responded to PCG.
^^ So are you saying there is some sort of a population balance even in developing countries?
No dear I am talking about some 100 years back. I responded to PCG.
Currently Pakistan is direly in need of sex education. I saw this crank on Geo TV during Labor Day saying that his income is too little to feed EIGHT children. Except if he is mentally affected, I entirely blame that nut for whatever problems his kids are facing.
Nothing wrong with planing and contraception. However i came across a shocking piece of information through a fertility doctor. She told me that in Nawaz's time (i think) when the iodine salt was being advertised to protect against thyroid the salt basically contained chemical that would effect the male fertility. Apparantly its common knowledge amongst the doctors. It was a government induced program to control the populationg.This is beyond low, instead of educating people trick or cheat them.
Plan all you want, take pills, get shots, insert devices, slap on patches, slip on rubbers, but if baby's in one's destiny, it's gonan happen no matter what you do. The only thing that is absolutely foolproof against pregnancy is abstinence. However, it does not mean that one should just go blindly into it, thinking, "Allah will provide." Having s many kids that they're begging on teh streets or have lower quality of life, is not leaving it to Allah, it's just making their own lives miserable!
Nothing wrong with planing and contraception. However i came across a shocking piece of information through a fertility doctor. She told me that in Nawaz's time (i think) when the iodine salt was being advertised to protect against thyroid the salt basically contained chemical that would effect the male fertility. Apparantly its common knowledge amongst the doctors. It was a government induced program to control the populationg.This is beyond low, instead of educating people trick or cheat them.
I find it kind of unfair to just disallow people from having kids (and many take great pleasure in it) without letting them know why is it so. But such methods may be the only solution if the population is exploding and the people aren't willing to realize is willing to realize. By the way I doubt the authenticity of your claim.
^come on!
do you know who would be using this salt? Absolutely every one. Including couples who have been trying for baby for a long while. And the bloody government should get off its arse and educate people instead of making choices for them. What gives some one the right to play God? The choice is ultimately peopls's , government or anyone other authoritative body cannot make that decision on population's behalf.
urban legend.
PS: rural and subrurban too
^come on! do you know who would be using this salt? Absolutely every one. Including couples who have been trying for baby for a long while. And the bloody government should get off its arse and educate people instead of making choices for them. What gives some one the right to play God? The choice is ultimately peopls's , government or anyone other authoritative body cannot make that decision on population's behalf.
So can you kindly come up with an alternative solution?
You are no better than those Mullahs keeping the kids from getting polio vaccine. The salt was tested for this millions of times and had no such thing in it. The iodine was needed to reduce the goitre problem in rural Pakistan. Man you guys are unbelievable. Come to think of it, this is natural selection at play. Some of us deserve to be culled from the herd. (But unfortunately, it's the kids of the dumb ...who suffer the consequences, and not the parents themselves).
Don't tell me that it's true because your 'doctor friend' told you this, or I'll submit a petition to have her degree revoked too!
urban legend.
PS: rural and subrurban too
True. I hear similar ones from parents and elders about the small pox vaccination campaigns in the 60s, when they were little kids and the vaccination teams used to visit schools and homes many know-it-alls were convinced (including elders) and tried to convince others that the injections were *poison *to not just control future population, but terminate the existing !
The presently on going antiPolio campaigns draw similar legends.
Do you think Pakistanis deserve to have contraceptives and poison added in polio vaccines and iodized salt? I’m not sure :halo:
and you base this upon? as i said i have myself personally talked to a fertility doctor and not just one.
You are no better than those Mullahs keeping the kids from getting polio vaccine. The salt was tested for this millions of times and had no such thing in it. The iodine was needed to reduce the goitre problem in rural Pakistan. Man you guys are unbelievable. Come to think of it, this is natural selection at play. Some of us deserve to be culled from the herd. (But unfortunately, it's the kids of the dumb ...who suffer the consequences, and not the parents themselves).
Don't tell me that it's true because your 'doctor friend' told you this, or I'll submit a petition to have her degree revoked too!
and you are no better than a twerp but dont just take my word for it.
and what do they base it on.
so what compund was in the salt. how does that compound have a severe impact on fertility, and where is the proof that such compund existed in the salt in significant enough quantity to create this issue.
actually it is the opposite, Iodine definciency has a male infertility impact.
actually it is the opposite, Iodine definciency has a male infertility impact. and growth impact, in 94 pakistan had severe iodine definciency look up any UN and WHO reports, as iodized salt was being offered more, people had similar issues with polio vaccines, and immunizations in general.
^^ great then! we must immediately remove the iodine from our salts!
i dont know fraud the science whizz i feel inclined to believe a fertility specialist in lahore than fraudia on a net. anyways peace.
PS: the female doctor was asked merely to confirm it, the male doctor was bloody charging the patient when he attributed his low fertility rate to that salt. Secondly he didn’t say that iodized salt contributed towards male infertility he said that government was inducing birth control under the iodine program.cheers
Croquet
you mean you feel inclined to believe unsupported statements by a doctor, rather than scinetific facts. I recall the time period well and half of my family, well over half is doctors, and thus hald their spouses and social circle are docs.
and the entire argument was poo poohed by a US board certified reproductive endicronologist.
so I dunno, I would believe science facts and a board certified specialist than some run of the mill desi doctor in pakistan and his/her assumptions which are counter to scientific facts and whose statements are not backed with any proof. anyways peace
PS: the docs seem like dabba doctors.
oh in that case doc vs doc?should've mentioned that in earlier post then. thats why i asked u what u were basing ur previous remarks upon.
i haven't come across any scientific evidence myself to support either theory remember i am talking about the doc's say on the matter.some dabba with his charges being sky high.
i would like to add is bachay do hi achay...........chota khandaan khushhaal gharana
aaj kal ke bachay bhi one is equal to 12
and more over pakistani family planning can never be implemented
if they plan for 2 they have minimum 4
^ so they should plan for none right? ![]()