i know some american girls who wont even THINK of wearing a sleevless gown for their wedding inside a church.
it goes hand in hand with morals.. and values.. and respect for a religion or culture.
just b/c a designer has turned their lengahs into those that have a mix of EAST and WEST doesnt mean that they are still CULTURALLY/RELIOUGSLY correct.
and i'm not just talking about ISLAM here... my roomate at college wouldnt think of wearing the lengahs and stuff for her wedding (she's hindu btw).. she will wear a traditional saree that goes hand in hand with her cultural customs.
eastern women are well-known throughout the world for their beauty and preservation of beauty.. whether it be pakistani, indian, or asian/chinese.
Organza ka dupatta to aisey hi pehna ja sakta hai. I like it actually.
Btw, our weddings aren't 'mixed'. Meaning, larkiyan aur larkay ek saath nahi hotay. So, not much prob here.
And as for those pics, they don't look very concerned about their religion warna they wouldn't be wearing sleevless. So why should they care about the way their dupatta has been worn? Aur iss type kay loag Pakistan mein kafi ziadah hotay ja rahe hain. I'm sure you guys know that.
Who says nothing is impossible? I've been doing nothing all my life!
Originally posted by NaikLarki:
*Catty, i don't wear revealing dresses either.....to tell you the truth i never wore a short sleeve shirt not even in summer:) and my friends n my sisters always make fun of me for dat...(*for wearing long sleeves even in summer)....
but i won't use a term like "decent" here....cuz wot is decent to u might be "indecent" to me....a burqay wali thinks that a woman in chadar is indecent and chadar wali thinks that the one in dupatta or widout dupatta is indecent....and this thing goes on...
ppl come in different shapes and sizes and colors....wid diff set of beliefs and values and standards....there is no such thing as absolute right and wrong...there terms these notions are relative...and we shud not impose our notions of right and wrong upon others....and we need to stop judging ppl according to our standards....
we just can't diss ppl because they are not like us....afterall we r civilized human beings....aren't we???
ps. and why were you feeling guilty haiN??? trust me dupatta in dis style looks really really classsy:)
yeah, i agree the concept of 'decent' means different things to others, glad I've realised that now!!
I wasn't feeling guilty about wearing my dupatta like that, I know it looks nice! I feel bad for putting down others just coz they choose to show a little more skin than I do! I don't agree with it, I would never wear such a thing, but then again, something I wear, a hijaabi might find 'indecent' right?
naik what seems to be the problem now? i dont know what u are talking about..or i guess u ppl just feel like banning me again..for no reason obviously..i dont see u warning them..or should i send u some kisses?
ok wait wait hold it these people are are they indian or pakistani? cause if theyre indian then i mean they dont always wear the dupataa the right way and most of the paki girls ive seen do but im not sure what nationality they are so i dont want to get myself messed up but please clarify
"...Wynken and Blynken are two little eyes,
And Nod is a little head,
And the wooden shoe that sailed the skies,
Is a wee one's trundle bed;
So shut your eyes while Mother sings
Of wonderful sights that be,
And you shall see the beautiful things
As you rock in the misty sea
Where the old shoe rocked the fishermen three-
Wynken,
Blynken
And Nod.
Cat just a sggstion: In future pls “try” to avoid pix just for t/ sake of starting a thread, which in turn brings out all these good for nothing comments from people who have othing better to do than sit & critcize others.
Excellent reply Gizzy!
Whats it to us to judge on someones level of sharam! Its a private function and they can dress how ever they want!
Bas humari Pakistani larkiyon ko waisay he jealous honay ki adat hay haha! no offense Anchal! Waisay I have seen you are a critique on alot of things! I still rememeber that Adnan’s wife pics comment you posted!
Bhayee itni baatain karnay say pehlay all I have to say is make sure this isnt an Indian wedding. Seems like one!
I am entitled to my opinion
I saw something utterly against my beliefs and the values that I hold dear to heart
I was raised in a very cultural and traditional environment …Even though my father is from India he holds Pakistan close to his heart
When i see something that is wrong, I will not hesitate a second to say that Its wrong
These women are crossing the boundaries of sharam o hayaa …
If its their family affair then keep it within the confines of their homes
Dont post such nangi pics on the net and defame Pakistani culture
One should not follow fashion but let fashion follow them ..
what next ..its fashion to walk around naked
To some people it maybe classy, elegant, hot, fashionable to walk around in such a manner infront of their fathers and brothers …
To me that is bay hayaaai and bay sharmii and a sorry state of affairs
Now if that is criticizing on my part then I am proud of it
AliBeta …I dont hold you credible ..
Infact I have no respect for you
No respect for a guy who says that he is with a girl for time pass …remember that!!!
So do yourself a favour go and bury your head in sand and pass time …And yes I am criticizing your lack of respect for women ..
You are a sorry excuse for a human being who lusts on a woman’s body and then goes back home demanding a virgin wife …