Etiquettes of wearing a Duppatta

dupatta is supposed to be on their heads, not on hanging on their elbow....i agree with u anchal...these people are mocking the only modest dress pakistani ppl have!

and they look far from trendy!!!

Originally posted by Anchal:
*when a guy wears a suit the tie is worn around the neck in a knot it isnt tied across the forehead or tied around the hand *

guyz may never wear a tie.. but i think tht was not the point i was mentioning..
i meant first u mentioned duppata a must for hiding female anatomy only when u r wearing shalwar kameez?? what abt when u wear pants n shirts? where does the female anatomy go then.. khair lets not fight over a ridiculous matter..
i already know its a bit tougher for egoistic females to admit mistakes.. my my my if this aint gona flare a few HMPSSSS hehehe j/k

me gets my sleeves rolled up
peace

Gravity is not responsible for people falling in love

haha. right Sheraz Ct.

Mariah Jamaidaarni=Sweeper

Summer Baba

The point here is not bout people wearing jeans and skirts

Its bout people wearing shalwar kameez and mocking it

Its the national dress of pakistan ....It should be worn properly
and these show offs certainly dont value their nationality

Anchal ji..i dont think anyone really cares about his “nationality” while dressing up for someones wedding.the idea is to look as beautiful as possible because thats the best time to get comments and who doesnt like that?

. and also.. you wont be noticed without following the trend (duppatas in hands and not on shoulders) and also.. what matters is the way you can carry yourself..
there are women out there who try hard but still anything they were doesnt enhance them..

i think these girls look pretty toned up and i think they look great

.. who cares bout the duppata? no one !

errr I do care

I am just wondering
looking at the pics the gathering seems to be a mixed gathering

That means, kay the fathers of these girls are also among the guests
How can a girl walk around in such a dress infront of her father?
and how can a father see his own daughter flashing flesh

daughters are izzats of the gharanas ...
no matter how broad minded and modern one gets ...our tradition teaches daughters to be basharam and bahayaa

maybe thats my opnion ..

Originally posted by Anchal:
**errr I do care

I am just wondering
looking at the pics the gathering seems to be a mixed gathering

That means, kay the fathers of these girls are also among the guests
How can a girl walk around in such a dress infront of her father?
and how can a father see his own daughter flashing flesh

daughters are izzats of the gharanas ...
no matter how broad minded and modern one gets ...our tradition teaches daughters to be basharam and bahayaa

maybe thats my opnion ..**

Anchal, that's not only your opinion, but I think that of at least 50% of the guppies (including me).

Umer, the Pakistani Brain of Austria

[This message has been edited by Roshi (edited February 05, 2001).]

I totally agree with you Anchal!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

… What sorry state are we in!!!

No offence Mariah

Hmm... all i can say is that i don't appreciate their style of wearing dupatta's and neither do i like the shalwar kameez because its just not the way it use to be. Baysharmi ki bhi hadth hoti hai. In my opinion the shalwar of a woman should cover from waist until her ankles and the kameez should cover from shoulders to a little below the knees, mind you the sleeves should be long. As for the dupatta, well it should be worn covering her front neck line and shoulders and if she chooses to, then the head as well. Call me old fashioned but I like women to present themselves in a respectable yet fashionable manner rather than some .....

Jitna Diya Sarkar Nay Mujko, Itni Meri Auqat Nahi, Yeh Saab Tumhara Karam Hai Aqa, Mujh Mein Aisi Koi Baat Nahin.

Love happens once . . .

All of these girls look very nice and duppatta regardless of the way it is worn enhances the dresses.

They (men and women) look vain, which takes away from their personality makes them look insecure and shallow, other than that i like the way they look.

[This message has been edited by Rani (edited February 05, 2001).]

Anchal i do agree with that and i also know the difference between haya and behayai
but hhahaha i dont think i would give a moments thought to my NATIONALITY while dressing up for my sisters wedding , but i dont go out nude in front of my family members

. These girls are cool and so is their dear daddy

Anchal, these women are not wearing shalwar qameez they are in formal lehngas…and wearing dupatta in this style wid “Formal Lehngas” is the best way out there…it looks classy, trendy, regal, elegant…esp if u have shiffon n organza dupattas(*the one i wore on eid

*, this style rocks!!!

the styles u mentioned there sweety…Ajrak style and gujju pallu…now wot kinda paindoo will wear dupatta in dat style wid formal lehngas. Ajrak styles only look good wid shalwar qameez…sauti shalwar qameez…

gajju pallu looks good wid ghagra choli …it will look awful wid this style of lehnga…

i do wear my duppatta this way wid my lehngas…so tell me does dat qualify me as a “khandaani jamadaarni”…?
and wot is a “khandaani jamaadarni” anyway???enlighten me plz…

and wots wrong wid u…in some other thread u were calling ppl having “laalu kheth mentality”…here u are calling them khandaani jamaadar…haiN???

comeon bava…give us a break…

and all of you “ohh-i-am-holier-than-thou” girls…why don’t you gals post ur pics here and give us a chance to discuss how do u look like…a khaandani jamaadar or lalu khethi or some mullah ki auladeiN…haiN..??

Take Care Sweeties

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/kiss.gif

Ciao

Naikfashioni khandaani jamaadarniLarki

Naik, after reading your l’il reply there I couldn’t help but want to give you a little round of applause. I admit,

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

, I also wore my dupatta like that with a lehnga on my sister’s wedding, but my shirt was pretty decent so I wasn’t revealing anything.
Okay, now I don’t feel so ‘guilty’ anymore.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/blush.gif

At last some one with some sence..

I was reading this thread, and saw it grow within hours.. and I wondered what are all these ppl going on about..

I mean give us a break.. They want to dress like that.. Let them be.. What are you worried about them so much.. They have the money and they spend it the way they like to spend.. So what are you guys moaning about..

And here, cat-woman came to admit that she also wore her dupatta the same way..

Strike one.

[This message has been edited by Admin (edited February 05, 2001).]

Catty, i don't wear revealing dresses either.....to tell you the truth i never wore a short sleeve shirt not even in summer:) and my friends n my sisters always make fun of me for dat...(for wearing long sleeves even in summer)....

but i won't use a term like "decent" here....cuz wot is decent to u might be "indecent" to me....a burqay wali thinks that a woman in chadar is indecent and chadar wali thinks that the one in dupatta or widout dupatta is indecent....and this thing goes on...

ppl come in different shapes and sizes and colors....wid diff set of beliefs and values and standards....there is no such thing as absolute right and wrong...there terms these notions are relative...and we shud not impose our notions of right and wrong upon others....and we need to stop judging ppl according to our standards....
we just can't diss ppl because they are not like us....afterall we r civilized human beings....aren't we???

ps. and why were you feeling guilty haiN??? trust me dupatta in dis style looks really really classsy:)

it seems like a prom pic to me

~

shadi? kiski shadi? ghungaat? kiski ghungaat?

-mehndi