Ethnicities in Pakistan

Moona, what part of Pukhtuntura's explaination do you not understand? The Southern dwellers of Indian Sub Continent owe their fair complexions, if at all to Pakhtuns. The original inhabitants or dravadians were/ are black. Srilankans and Tamil are closest to Dravadians.
Punjabis and other ethnic groups with 'fair complexions' like you say probably owe their colors to Pakhtuns too because their ancestors were paid a visit by invading armies a number of times.

Rajput fury, You would be surprised to read about the similarities of Pakhtun and kashmiri people. Its a historical fact that The Afghan Kingdon of Kabul streched all the way to Kashmir and even down to Multan until aboout 175 years ago. That explains the resemblance of a lot of Kashmiri practices, traditions, their looks and other common heritage to Afghans (pakhtuns).

Yes, Punjabis do rule, they rule all of Pakistan.

I got that a long time ago, while growing up in Karachi.

Moonaji your welcome :slight_smile:

Even though I hate Imdads views on politics I don’t hate him personally, he may be a great person with issues. But one thing is sure, he’s a vakhra type da banda

*Originally posted by StrayCatsStrut: *
Rajput fury, You would be surprised to read about the similarities of Pakhtun and kashmiri people. Its a historical fact that The Afghan Kingdon of Kabul streched all the way to Kashmir and even down to Multan until aboout 175 years ago. That explains the resemblance of a lot of Kashmiri practices, traditions, their looks and other common heritage to Afghans (pakhtuns).

Stray: True, there are similarities but it doesn't mean Kashmiris have Afghan blood. They are a separate ethnic group and have been for centuries. Again no argument about a Pashtun-Kashmiri contact but find me one historical source that says Kashmiris orginate from Afghans.

*Originally posted by RajputFury: *

Stray: True, there are similarities but it doesn't mean Kashmiris have Afghan blood. They are a separate ethnic group and have been for centuries. Again no argument about a Pashtun-Kashmiri contact but find me one historical source that says Kashmiris orginate from Afghans.

Yaar Rajput Fuljhadi,
Yaar Imdad ali nu ki ho gaya hai, putter ?? ai to Punjabiyaan de waaat lagaaney pe tuley hain !!! Yaar Imdad praa, maaf kerien menu, par don't hate punjabis.. we punjabis don't like mistrust and double-speak.. thats why we are mistaken and times.. In Karachi we have proved we can excel and perform... BTW, to all of you.. there has been so much mixture of blood and races in the subcontinent that it is difficult to ascertain presence of one race in the Indian subcontinent (includes Pakistan and azad and unazad Kashmir). Basically from what I know from history is of course following ppl have made their contribution to our appearance - Iran, Arab, E.Europians, and of course Dravdians.

*Originally posted by Imdad Ali: *
Yes, Punjabis do rule, they rule all of Pakistan.

I got that a long time ago, while growing up in Karachi.

Tu tay naraaz ho gaya.. I was there in Bahadurabad, Karachi for a long time.. and I was a sher there.. even mohajir girls were mad at my gora looks putter.. u see, punjabis rulz.

Teri aur meri bahot jamegi !!! fikr not kaaki, I am punjabi sher.. and let any1 say dare bout punjabi and I will show him/her what a punjabi means !! I AM SO PROUD OF PUNJABI AND PUNJABIYAT THAT I AM IN LOVE WITH IT !!! ppl in America ask me how ask me how come I am so good-looking and I tell 'em all punjabis are that way !!!

Moona, please visit Politics section fequently and you'll see what I mean. Imdad uses an implicit approach of saying that every other province is unhappy with Punjab and how Punjabis are to blame for all the problems of Pakistan (including the Military-- which he thinks is 100% Punjabi).

Hey I could care less if he hates Punjabis but my job is exposing the truth.

Yaar I am sick of this ideology too.. sometimes other ppl are at fault too.. why don't they come and join the army. Why they blame later on that the army is 100% punjabi.. after all no1 stops them from doing so..
I am a punjabi and I am proud of the fact !!! Anyways, if I write anything more, mursalin takes it off from the forum.. Hai, ki karaan !! I am helpless..

StrayCatsStrut, the area now constituting Punjab and NWFP, has had many invasions so has Afghanistan, so no race in this region can claim to be pure...see the history, and there were pashtuns, Turks, Arabs, and other Central Asian Armies marching through the Khyber pass into Punjab and beyond...the original inhabitants, of this area were driven southwards (South India), hence mostly people living in the areas constituting Pakistan right now, are Aryans, so your theory in which you have attributed the fair color of Punjabis due to pashtuns is unfounded...if you read history, other than Ahmed Shah Abdali and Sher Shah Suri, there was no other pashtun rulers...the rest were Turks...read the book 'Babar Nama', which is an autobiography of Babar and he has mentioned in that he killed many pashtuns during his conquest of the subcontinent...khiljis, ghaznavids, ghorids, moghuls were all non pashtuns...

*Originally posted by StrayCatsStrut: *
Moona, what part of Pukhtuntura's explaination do you not understand? The Southern dwellers of Indian Sub Continent owe their fair complexions, if at all to Pakhtuns. The original inhabitants or dravadians were/ are black. Srilankans and Tamil are closest to Dravadians.
Punjabis and other ethnic groups with 'fair complexions' like you say probably owe their colors to Pakhtuns too because their ancestors were paid a visit by invading armies a number of times.

what a typical Pakistani (or should i say desi) thing to do. someone posted a question on different ethnicities in Pakistan and you all started on comparing one race to the other and which one is better!

we all came from Hazrat Adam (or according to the latest scientific theory from one person in Africa). people migrated, skin colors changed to adapt better with the enviroment, etc, and it will keep on changing.

*Originally posted by mulz: *

Yaar I am sick of this ideology too.. sometimes other ppl are at fault too.. why don't they come and join the army. Why they blame later on that the army is 100% punjabi.. after all no1 stops them from doing so..
I am a punjabi and I am proud of the fact !!! Anyways, if I write anything more, mursalin takes it off from the forum.. Hai, ki karaan !! I am helpless..

Mulz yara I am proud of being Punjabi too..Why do we get blamed for everything? Tussi fikar na kara, I have dealt with racists before..

Punjabi people of Pakistan Zindabad!!! :k:

:kiss: :kiss: :kiss:

Mulz yara I am proud of being Punjabi too..Why do we get blamed for everything? Tussi fikar na kara, I have dealt with racists before..

Esp. we punjabis join the army to fight and are ready to sacrifice our life for the nation - I don't think it is a shameful act !!! We are the hardest working farmers of Pakistan - Punjab is the bread basket for whole Pakistan. This way, we save lives and feed all fellow pakistanis and on the top get thrashed for anything and everything. No 1 gets tired of criticizing of us... My funda is live and let live.. We punjabis are large-hearted and don't take these mindless thrashings just like that..I have tolerated it all my life and even in the US I think I am not free from these prejudices !!

Hai.. Hai.. moona’ji are you throwing kisses to all Punjabi ppl or r they directed towards some1 ??

Agreed and Agreed. We always stand ready to die for our country. Even on a personal level, we have put Pakistan before Punjab..People think that our poor farmers are living a life of luxury when the rest of Pakistan suffers, but I ask them, have you visited Punjab?

Mulz yara, I can tell you here (just on Gupshup) people from every province have criticized us for one reason or another…Sometimes I think that screw this nonesense, if they want to leave Pakistan or kick us out, then lets do it! I mean we have always tried to make it work, sure we’ve made mistakes, sure there are bad people in our province, but we love all Pakistanis, if they don’t believe us that what else can say or do?

It is really sad that people have so much hatred in their hearts for their fellow Pakistanis..

Moona ji:

Right back at ya :wave:

UFF ALLAH :smack: :rolleyes: :smack: :frusty:

after reading this thread i really feel like :frusty: :smack: :rolleyes:

Very True, Quaid’s dream was that all of us, irrespective of our cultural affiliations, practices, and faiths shud be able to live freely in land of the pure. We shud strive to realize his dreams rather work against it. Partition involved large scale movement of ppl across both sides of border. Ppl with different culture came to stay together. Even my dadajaan migrated from Jallandar, Indian Punjab in '47 partition to Lahore. When you migrate to a different land, you are supposed to adapt and co-exist. You can’t ur own aik eint ki masjid. Ppl talk ot Punjabi aggression in Karachi, but they forget to mention torture cells of Khajj grounds. Rajput praa, tell me which community hasn’t made any mistakes and punjabis are not free from that. We are blamed by almost every1 for even a little thing. It hurts me as a punjabi. Y shud we take all the blame and beatings cuz we are the majority community ??? Out patriotism and hardwork can’t be question. But what we get back from our own fellow pakistanis is criticism and thrashing - what kind of brotherhood is this ?? Western punjabis before '47 were living under shadow of Hindu and Sikh landlords - since we are much more argarian and prmitive compare to Hindu and Sikh punjabis. After they left, we had a massive task of rebuilding everything from scratch. And Inshallah, we have done it so sucessfully. My point is let us forget and bury our past and differences and work hard to make Pakistan a powerful and strong nation.

i’m with her on this one!

*Originally posted by mulz: *
Partition involved large scale movement of ppl across both sides of border. Ppl with different culture came to stay together. Even my dadajaan migrated from Jallandar, Indian Punjab in '47 partition to Lahore. When you migrate to a different land, you are supposed to adapt and co-exist. You can't ur own aik eint ki masjid. Ppl talk ot Punjabi aggression in Karachi, but they forget to mention torture cells of Khajj grounds. Rajput praa, tell me which community hasn't made any mistakes and punjabis are not free from that. We are blamed by almost every1 for even a little thing. It hurts me as a punjabi. Y shud we take all the blame and beatings cuz we are the majority community ??? Out patriotism and hardwork can't be question. But what we get back from our own fellow pakistanis is criticism and thrashing - what kind of brotherhood is this ?? Western punjabis before '47 were living under shadow of Hindu and Sikh landlords - since we are much more argarian and prmitive compare to Hindu and Sikh punjabis. After they left, we had a massive task of rebuilding everything from scratch. And Inshallah, we have done it so sucessfully. My point is let us forget and bury our past and differences and work hard to make Pakistan a powerful and strong nation.

Mulz yara, you have touched an emotional topic of partition. It was a period of time when Sohney Punjab's Dharti was red with blood. Both of my grandfathers were military men in INS, who prayed to Allah that Attock our hometown would be in Pakistan after the Cripps award. One has passed on (may Allah bless his soul) and the other still thanks God that we all were in Pakistani Punjab, because their generation has seen the atrocities. They were there when our East Punjabi brothers were being slaughtered, trains full of dead women, children and old people
coming from places like Gurdaspur, our Masjids being desecrated..they did not hold back at that time...everyone crossing into Wagah, Kasur and Sialkot was a Pakistani, sure they couldve taken revenge as they were within striking distance of Hassan Abdal, but they rightly held back because those poor brothers and sisters of theirs who found themselves on the wrong side of the border needed them even more. It was just not Punjabis, bur also Pashtuns and Sindhis who opened up their homes lives for their fellow Muslims...why did our forefathers dream go wrong?

Your right, we have had top overcome a lot as a province, from being virtual slaves of Hindu/Sikh landlords to becoming more developed. Who was there to tell the Punjabi farmer to work hard on his land or to people to join the military? It was their love for Pakistan and their hard work that made them do things. It saddens me to hear from everyone that we are THE problem in Pakista, as if we leave everything is going to be alright. Even in the US, this nonesense exists. I never said that we are perfect but we are working to make things better, but for some people it is nopt enough. May be they should understand why Quaid e Azam made Pakistan in the first place.

Mulz yara, you have touched an emotional topic of partition. It was a period of time when Sohney Punjab's Dharti was red with blood. Both of my grandfathers were military men in INS, who prayed to Allah that Attock our hometown would be in Pakistan after the Cripps award. One has passed on (may Allah bless his soul) and the other still thanks God that we all were in Pakistani Punjab, because their generation has seen the atrocities. They were there when our East Punjabi brothers were being slaughtered, trains full of dead women, children and old people
coming from places like Gurdaspur, our Masjids being desecrated..they did not hold back at that time...everyone crossing into Wagah, Kasur and Sialkot was a Pakistani, sure they couldve taken revenge as they were within striking distance of Hassan Abdal, but they rightly held back because those poor brothers and sisters of theirs who found themselves on the wrong side of the border needed them even more. It was just not Punjabis, bur also Pashtuns and Sindhis who opened up their homes lives for their fellow Muslims...why did our forefathers dream go wrong?

Your right, we have had top overcome a lot as a province, from being virtual slaves of Hindu/Sikh landlords to becoming more developed. Who was there to tell the Punjabi farmer to work hard on his land or to people to join the military? It was their love for Pakistan and their hard work that made them do things. It saddens me to hear from everyone that we are THE problem in Pakista, as if we leave everything is going to be alright. Even in the US, this nonesense exists. I never said that we are perfect but we are working to make things better, but for some people it is nopt enough. May be they should understand why Quaid e Azam made Pakistan in the first place.

Yeah, even my brave dadajaan had to leave his ancestral village in Jallandar to flee the warring sikhs. But he lost some of his family members while crossing over. Sikhs were on rampage during those times. They made it a point that no muslim stays in Haryana and Sikh Punjab and he/she dies or escape. He saw horrific scenes of ppl killing each other, trains being looted and ppl killed, esp. women were the main targets. It took years for ppl like my dadajaan to overcome tears and traumatic partition. Every 2nd or 3rd person you come across in Lahore has a painful story of partition to tell you. You are 100% right - we punjabis have become a problem for every1 now. My uncle who fought in '71 war finds it painful to see ppl so angry with punjabis. My friend in London attended one meeting where Punjabis dominance was described to be the biggest problem in growth of pakistan. Yaar, it takes time and patience for ppl to realize that we have to make our homeland a heaven for every1 but bashing some community needlessly is bad and deplorable. I happened to attend one function on the 14th August here in the US and it hurt when some handful ppl came out with negative comments vis-a-vis punjabis. Sometime it makes me think Anu Malik, Mohd. Rafi and Suraiya were lucky punjabi mussalmaans who stayed back in India !! Allah Pakistan ko sukoon aur aman de.