Ethnicities in Pakistan

Can anyone enlighten me on the detailed ethnic differences among the various Pakistani subgroups such as Punjabis, Pathans, Balochis, Sindhis, Kashmiris, etc. ?

:rolleyes:

Pathans -
*Majority lives in North West Frontier Province (NWFP) of Pakistan.
*Speak Pashto
*Famous personalities include Khush Haal Khan Khattak (poet, writer), Khan Ghaffar Khan a.k.a Bacha Khan (politician), Jahangir Khan & Janesher Khan (Squash Champs), Imran Khan (although he was born and raised in Lahore, he claims to be a pathan from the Niazi tribe in Malakand division), Mohamad Qavi Khan (TV Actor), Firdaus Jamal ( another tv actor), Field Marshal Ayub Khan (from Abbottabad), and many more that I don't remember of the top of my head.
*They pride themselves to be the most religious ethnicity in Pakistan. Known for their love with ammunition. There is a city called DURRA where you will find replicas of any hand, short or long gun there is out in the market.
*Most drug warlords originate from NWFP due to it's close proximity with Afghanistan. The whole region is very fertile for the cultivation of POST, a main ingredient for heroine, hasheesh and charras.
*Known for their hot temper and hard headedness.

Please don't be offended as most of my views are based on personal experiences... so no room for arguments... I know some sound too stereotypical.

OK, more to follow soon on Punjabis... I am not too familiar with sindhis or balochis.

Thank you for the info., Funguy :k:

This web site gives a list of various ethnicities in Pakistan. I was quite surprised how much more diverse the region is then we tend to think:

http://www.ethnologue.com/show_country.asp?name=Pakistan

Zakk putter, tu naa saari discussion kee aisi ki taisi ker ditti. Yaar, if she wanted to find out from a web site, she could have done a search on google. This forum is to get opinions from other people.

Chul chudd mai nahee boldaa...

*Originally posted by moona: *

moona jee, suaadee bateesi kion baahar nikli hai?.

Uff saari research gone to waste. Acha hua may nay Punjabi history nahee post ki.

Funguy, post the info. on Punjabis please.

koi zaroorat nahee... u r a punjabi too... why don't you post some...

waisay bhi my punjabi history is not worth mentioning. It starts at Lollywood and ends on diamond market.

wow, YOU’RE not very nice. Jeez! Thanks for being helpful. :teary1:

whatever... i am not very nice... i never said I was!

Anyone, other than funguy, please post your thoughts/knowledge on the question at hand!

:smash:

:grumpy:

oh cheer up, funguy! :)

*Originally posted by funguy: *
Zakk putter, tu naa saari discussion kee aisi ki taisi ker ditti. Yaar, if she wanted to find out from a web site, she could have done a search on google. This forum is to get opinions from other people.

Chul chudd mai nahee boldaa...

What is it with Punjabis and trying to speak Punjabi to everyone? I've encountered this very rude attitude even outside of Pakistan when I meet Punjabis. They start speaking Punjabi to me even after I tell them I am from Karachi. Then when I tell them I don't understand Punjabi, they act surprised as if everyone in Pakistan is supposed to speak Punjabi.

Really ticks me off.

LOL..I'm Pashtun Funguy ..although Imdad i think it was a harmless mistake.

*Originally posted by Imdad Ali: *

What is it with Punjabis and trying to speak Punjabi to everyone? I've encountered this very rude attitude even outside of Pakistan when I meet Punjabis. They start speaking Punjabi to me even after I tell them I am from Karachi. Then when I tell them I don't understand Punjabi, they act surprised as if everyone in Pakistan is supposed to speak Punjabi.

Really ticks me off.

Chill out dude. Develop a love for other languages and cultures. I put up with your ENglish and Urdu too, don't I?. I would love if you can speak another language with me. Even if it is not something you speak fluently. It's like adding spice to food. Bring it on.

*Originally posted by Imdad Ali: *

Really ticks me off.

take a deep breath. they don't do it on purpose. they probably don't know how to speak urdu or even if they do, maybe the are afraid to speak or are shy because it's not their mother language and they don't want to speak it wrong, just like you don't speak or understand punjabi and i guess you are afraid of speaking punjabi too because you have no idea how to speak or understand it, right?

one should not only see what language the other person is speaking, but his love and effort as well.

PUHLEEEEZZZZZZ!!!
Why is such a big deal being made on Funguy speaking punjabi???

1. He is not doing it out of disregard for others. Golybejesus!!!
  2. Learn to appreciate the punjabi language, dudes; it’s beautiful :k:
  3. If you have a problem with punjabi, I suggest you LEARN IT!!!

:biggthumb

:hoonh: