Esteemed Ulamah strike in defense of persecution!

While I dont consider these people human, and very little respect for them, OR THEIR BEARDS, the forum objects to calling a spade a spade. So these great champions of Islam have once again demonstrated what an enlightened people we are!
As one Mullah said, “Over our dead bodies.” I say, since their already so close to the almighty, we oblige them by cracking some skulls.

A 24-hour strike organised by Sunni Muslim clerics is taking place across Pakistan to protest against possible changes to blasphemy laws.
Rallies were staged in Islamabad, Lahore, Karachi, Peshawar and Quetta after Friday prayers.
The government has distanced itself from a bill to change the law, which carries a mandatory death sentence for anyone who insults Islam.
Rights groups say the law is often used to persecute religious minorities.
The legislation returned to the spotlight in November when a Pakistani Christian woman, Asia Bibi, was sentenced to death.
Although no-one convicted under the law has been executed, more than 30 accused have been killed by lynch mobs.
‘Over our dead bodies’ The Pope has led international calls to show mercy on Ms Bibi, who denies insulting the Prophet Muhammad during an argument with other farmhands in a Punjab province village in June 2009.

Friday's strike saw businesses shuttered and transport workers walking out in towns and cities across the country.
     There was no public transport in the southern city of  Karachi, where demonstrators blocked traffic as part of the industrial  action. 
     The BBC's Ilyas Khan says bus owners in the Sindh province  capital may have feared their vehicles could be torched if put on the  road.
     Quetta, the capital of the southern province of Balochistan, also ground to a halt.
     There was a partial shutdown in the national capital of  Islamabad, the north-western city of Peshawar and Lahore, capital of  Punjab.
     One Sunni cleric in Islamabad warned in his Friday sermon  that any change to the blasphemy law would happen "over our dead  bodies".
     The strike was held to protest against a private member's bill submitted to parliament.
     It seeks to amend the law by abolishing the death sentence  and by strengthening clauses which prevent any chance of a miscarriage  of justice. 
     The bill has been drafted by a member of the ruling Pakistan People's Party and by a former Information Minister, Sherry Rehman.
     This led religious groups, who are demanding that Ms Rehman quit, to conclude the government was behind it.
     On Wednesday, Pakistan's religious affairs minister told parliament the bill did not reflect government policy. 
     "I state with full responsibility that the government has no intention to repeal the blasphemy law," Syed Khurshid Shah said.
   Pakistani Christians rallied for Asia Bibi in Lahore on Christmas Day   
   "If someone has brought in a private bill, it has nothing to do with the government."
     Federal Law Minister Babar Awan told reporters that Friday's  strike was simply the latest attempt to revive a once powerful alliance  of religious parties. 
     The Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal emerged as the third largest  vote-winner in the 2002 elections held by the regime of President Pervez  Musharraf, but the grouping had broken apart by the time of polls two  years ago.   
     Our correspondent says the government is hoping to placate  shrill religious protest at a time when it is in difficulty with two  coalition partners.
     The Muttahida Qaumi Movement this week withdrew two ministers from the federal cabinet, blaming corruption and rising prices.  
     The Jamiat-i-Ulema Islam party, a smaller coalition partner,  withdrew from the government earlier in December after one of its  ministers was sacked.  
     Many believe the two parties are acting at the behest of the  security establishment to undermine the country's political system.

Re: Esteemed Ulamah strike in defense of persecution!

Well in your oppening sentence you killed this whole thread man… you know with that attitude can you blame them for feeling hatred for you…?

I really dont know what side to take anymore becuase as far as i’m concerned there are limits and it seems everyones out to cross them…

I have some sympathy for your cause (like many others) sometimes and I mean it genuinely but when you come out with sentences like that you lose it all…

If they are extremist then so are you man… it’s like the opposite ends of a magnet… your both made from same material but you cant face the same way… :omg:

Yaar I have had enough of Mullahs too but I respect not them but the faith they represent albeit they are supposed to represent… I am far from a secular man, in fact i’m deeply religous almost to a state of fanticism but unlike yourself I try to see the good in secularism and try to balance the two where possible.

Perhaps you need to calm down and contemplate these things carefully.

listen.. i have no problem with minority..including ur community..Ahmedi…but Pakistan was founded for the muslims of the sub-continent..please dont post ur oft-repeated “quotation” from QeA’s speech, as i can quote his other speeches where he has said otherwise!

^ there is nothing wrong with being ahmedi. To me, Extremist wahabis/sunnis have done more harm to Pakistan then any other minority. Extremist sunnis should be outlawed, and not supported by us. We aren't saudia arabia.

What about Qaid e Azam's August 11th speech?

And Ahmadis also sacrificed their lives for the creation of Pakistan. Ahmadis have been persecuted so many times in Pakistan yet they are still Patriotic. The great physicists and Nobel Prize winner Abdus Salam was also an Ahmadis. He was also our central figure in Pakistan's nuclear program.

You seem to labor under the delusion that I actually made this thread to gain some favor with your ilk!

Dont flatter yourself. I neither need your approval or seek it. People with a conscience are my audience, not drones raised to believe a lie.

People like me dont persecute people, and we treat others with the respect they deserve… EMPHASIS ON DESERVE. So that puts to rest you “extremist” label.

I have meditated on this for a very long time. The old men are not worthy of respect. They DO NOT represent Islam. So I have no quams about openly voicing my hatred for the likes of them. And their ridiculously ungroomed beards.

Its about time the govt treated them like they treat human rights activists and lawyers and civil society. When these groups protest, the govt has no problem beating them half to death. Its about time we use the lathi on these religious fanatics aswell. Infact, they actually deserve it.

You can call me what you like, and believe whatever you like of me. This is a common tactic among the cowards of Pakistan, just like the bearded fanatics. Anyone who supports human rights must be Ahmadi!

You need to educate yourself first. Pakistan was NEVER made for Islam. But I doubt someone like you could understand simple concepts like this.

The speeches that you think support your claim, are misinterpretations, thats all. You can choose to believe whatever lies you want too, but reality does not support your understanding.

The 1947 speech contradicts Mr "VoiceOnes" twisted historical narrative, so it actually doesnt exist in his mind.

The present time we living is the same era according to the Signs, Us waqat ke Ullma badtareen makhlooq main se honge. sorry cant remebered rights words but its something that.

I read this thread from start and few early posts, Med is right the narrow minded and extermist put label of Ahmadi on anyone who come farward and say words of truth. I am an Ahmadi but we never protest or make strikes to oppising that un islamic law, We have our case register in Allah`s court He is the most knowledgeable and watcher, we never afraid neither run becoz we beleive a brighter day come to pull away darkness from sealed hearted. I dont wana put names here but its my advised to a guppy to stop play around in double face and think a lot before post. and last but not least i mentioned in my too many posts stop beleving extermist mullahs they were never in favor of even to making Pakistan but against it, they just need there stoamch full without thinking what it cast. they always/usualy/almost/ using Islamic Card to get attention becoz they know peoples are so SIMPLE blind in their faiths. that strike news is nothing new let them do what they want but I beleve also ke Uss ke han dair hai andhair nahi.
Allah ham sab ko hadayet de ameen.

2nd amendment is the best piece of legislation ever safeguarding Quaid e Azam's Shariah compliant Pakistan and its ideological foundation and lol @ of those who are pissed at it,maybe reading two nation theory might help rather than getting mad.

:BiB:

and i endorse all these mullah sahibans who are out on the road for this noble cause.

[note] Please stay on the topic & discuss the issue w/o getting personal, name callings or questioning others beliefs. Thanks. [/note]

While I disagree with their point of view they have every right to stage such protests. Its the very essence of democracy.

Bro take it easy. Faris is a respectable member of this community. I know that you frustrated over the situation in Pakistan, but we should not be hostile towards our fellow Pakistanis.

In personal life, I am very religious and I do have a Shaykh that I respect immensely, so I can not call all of the the ulema, bad people. I think the spirit of the blasphemy law i to ensure that Islam, the Quran and the Prophet is not disrespected. I had tears in my eyes when I heard about that Satanist Pastor in Florida, US who planned on burning the Quran. On the other hand, in practice, this blasphemy law has been used as a tool to oppress religious minorities without sufficient proof.

I think that Asia bibi needs to be pardoned, unless there is concrete proof that the prophet was insulted in any way. Also there needs to be review done to make sure that injustice is not done against minorities. There was a similar incident in Kurram agency where people of a certain tribe, who happen to be Shia, were charged with insulting a few of the Caliphs. In reality, rival tribe accused these people to settle a score. These instances are evidence of misapplication of the law, therefore the law must be amended or scrapped.

^ Thank heavens a man who talks sense… :cheer:

Brother you are very right in what you say. We cannot blame all the Ulema and we cannot crucify every person who holds a different view but laws are not always the problem it’s the people who use them for the wrong reasons.

I have no problem with ammendments that protect minorities from being persecuted but I do not support those who want to scrap laws purely becuase they dont agree with them.

That was a tragic example you gave in the Kurram agency where the law was clearly misused, but remmebr this same law is there not for Pakistani’s to hit each other with but to protect the belief of the majority of Muslims from the like of that insane Pastor and wannabe Rushdies.

Dont read to much into this buddy. I was just responding to Faris's condescending post.

I dont agree with Faris on anything, but im not beating him over the head.

He seems to think however that im going to censor myself so as to protect his so called sensativities. Like the Idiotic beard issue. Which ofcourse I wont do.

We are all very religious, in our own way. And as I said, bring me a shaykh I can respect and I will. But ask me to respect these guys just because they claim to represent Islam, and that where I draw the line.
I dont see anything here worth respecting, do you?

Perhaps that would be the case in a society where such nut jobs as these are side lined and ignored. But in Pakistan these people are ironically hugely influential. You can lay much of the countries problems directly at their feet. I wish the govt would show some back bone and stand up to the bullies.

My issue as I have stated before is that just because you call yourself an alim doesnt make you someone worthy of respect. Those members of the scholarly class who earn their respect, deserve it. These beared fanatics however deserve nothing but condemnation.

Why should I or anyone else respect a group of people who protest in support of a law that is used to discriminate and terrorize people? If you were truly the momin you claim to be, then you would be just as vocal. But you seem to be hung up over irrelevant issues like beards and other nonsense, while others are concerned with substance.

I think I'm going to go ahead and agree with Med911 on essentially anything she/he posted. I am working with a company that does research. One of their survey projects is potentially showing, due few months, that the more religious people are the least educated in an already undereducated country like pakistan. This maybe true for this forum as well.

What's this has to do with beard?

We strive hard to be a democracy and in democracy such anti campaign rallies and agitations are tolerable to an extent without disruption to daily lives or property damage.
Pakistan in its current situation can not afford to be non-productive even for a day, hence all these disruptions and stoppages are from sects that have little concerns for a nation in broad sense, they are political thugs mostly jahils and personalities of no bearings in life.

I consider them ‘Choudarys of Islam’ They are not only jahils but also dangerous to the Grand Deen-e-Islam !
Pakistan needs to get rid of these elements (usually they are periodically discarded by the public on any given elections)

Stop voting or idolizing any Figure or Party if its mandate/agendas has repeatedly failed in the past.
Stop voting or idolizing and figure or Party if they have failed to hold internal elections or fair voting practices before going to the voters, have not submitted audits, have not declared academic competencies by its members

Any person/group/party should be rewarded nationally if they come forward with modified/stricter laws of the land over-writing the old,flimsy and impractical laws and punishments from the era of British Raj to present day including
blasphemy laws.

In general we all know that flimsy laws are more dangerous than not having any laws at all! Then WHY these Processions of Jahil Awam behind these thugs and goons should be allowed ?

Allah :subhanahu: has pledged to us muslims to protect and defend Quran and Deen by his :subhanahu: Hands !!! Than who are these self made Islami Choudharys ?