Re: Eid Milad un Nabi Festivities
Its too long to summarize, but her is alternative source that can be access in Pak.
What the hell
the main teaching of Alahazrat Ahmad Raza Khan Mujadid Rehmatullah Alaih is…Adab
the adab i have recieved from him, i can not repay (meaning i was bound for hellfire without doubt because of my adab). this is especially important in a world where lack of Adab is so prevelent
Oh no I didn’t.
This hatred is not limited to internet. carrying his translation of Quran in a Deo-bandi madarsa is considered a sin. Telling you my personal experience. I took his translation to Deo-Ban madrsa during Hifz e Quran and I was told never bring that to the Madarsa. I got ‘Qasas ul Anbiya’ probably compiled by a Barelvi scholar. When I told someone in Madarsa that I’m reading that they asked to give them for reading. That was never returned back to me and based on response when I demanded back the book, I got a gut feeling that it might got burnt or torn. I got audio cassette of Umm e Habiba’s naat and that met the same fate as ‘Qasas ul Anbiya’ through same process.
I’m not a fan of Imam Raza Barelvi especially due to his instructions for fateha.
read : post # 44 onwards
But again that doesn’t negate his contribution for Islam.
it’s in urdu, any chance of a recap in english of what you find objectionable? from what i know Alahazrat wouldnt follow anything not vouched for in the past by respected scholars and things in which wisdom stretches from the earth all the way to Heaven. Not just a Hazrat but a great Hazrat
some of the things that he dealt with, i can not repeat meaning tell you about
what do you mean?
I already mentioned my doubt about the authenticity of material in that thread. We can keep this discussion for other time in relevant forum.
PS: I repeat we are nobodies to judge people who are followed by millions.
yes on some things we are nobodies, on some things if we sit on the fence whilst knowing the facts we are guilty. they say he who talks bad about Muawiya RA is a dog, from the dogs of hell, you know
no we don’t celebrate it.
I agree we should quit it here. More so cause the personality on.whose birth celebratiin the debate is on is beloved of/for all of us muslims world wide, irrespective of all.sects. So.better invest our energies.in somethig.else.
*Gunahoon ki nahi jati hai adat Ya RasoolAllah
mei bachna chahhata hoon haan, pir bhi bach nahi pata
Gunahoon ki nahi jati hai adat Ya RasoolAllah
Tumhi ab kuch karo Mahi Risalat Ya RasoolAllah
He views our actions and might (WILL - if everything is ok on our side) make prayer for us, or if really fortunate a visit from Him, Sallallahu Alaihi Wa Sallam in our dreams
The “eid” is getting more and more extravagant every year… I’m talking just about Karachi.
I’m in no position to call it bid ah but what probably started of as small has turned into pure Israaf. The painfully loud naats, the green everywhere, the “logo”, goodness all that electricity wasted on lighting, the huge rallies etc etc… It all feels so removed from the Essence of Islam.
If the day made any difference in the Muslim population you’d see it in the people, their ikhlaaq, their dealings, the masjids should theoretically be filled (like they are in Ramadan) but no…
What new religions? Cultural Islam is not Islam…its just in Pakistan.
by new religions I meant sects, specifically those aimed towards paper knowledge, the comment was regarding Mawlid, and the Ijma of Ahlus SUNNAH that exists for its permissibility. the movements against it are redrawing Islam
How would cultural Islam not be Islam? or a valid expression of Islam
since you are saying its Cultural Islam, i think at some point Islam was built into the culture. Btw Most of the Muslims in the world have a very similar Islam, so your definitely not correct in your view of ‘pakistani cultural Islam’ being limited to pakistan. these communities do not make a lot of noise on the world stage. i have come across videos of them in Shaam, Turkey, Malayasia, and Africa
do you belong to one of the new movements, or semi new?
If Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) or Sahabah (AS) didnt celebrate it, I dont find any explanation on the earth convincing enough for me to celebrate.
although i sympathize with social disturbances like noise pollution which i do not have to suffer, that is a social problem that needs addressing. I do not like the Milad to be called unislamic, neither for those against it to make further propaganda on our downtrodden community
Milad un Nabi is a holiday in every Muslim country
Nope…I belong to the old movement…the one that doesn’t like it when our Prophet (SA) is viewed is something He is not.
Oh and I work with a TON of different kinds of Muslims…Egyptians, Palestinians, Pakistanis, etc. The only people who made such a huge deal out of “Eid Milad Un Nabi” were the desies. Do you want to know what the others did?
They fasted quietly.
If you want to really do this for the purpose of sawab and worship of only Allah swt and to honor our Propeht (SA)…you will never need a stage of lights to do so because your purpose will not be served there and you know this.
The purpose is not sawab there usually…its the glorification of the naatkhwaan (jinkay nakhray uthaye jatay hein), the organizers who get praised at how they’re serving the community, etc.
The green topis, the duffs, all you’re missing is a dulha dulhan.
Oh and one more thing…nothing and no one can “redraw” Islam.
Celebrating Mawlid the way it is done by the pious people of Islam is a million times more beneficial … Rather celebrating Christmas is harmful … And Mawlid is beneficial.
It is beneficial not as a direct act of worship … It does not hold any category of it itself. However, for the following reasons there is ajar, fadzail, and hasana in it.
A gathering where Muslims remember Allah (SWT) and His dear Prophet (SAW) … Is a blessed gathering as per Hadith and the angels send blessings on people of zikr.
These are forums where we avoid harmful things
These are forums where we learn about the life of our dear Prophet (SAW), his beauty, his mercifulness, his kindness, his excellence and that brings our hearts closer to him … In Hadith we must love him (SAW) more than ourselves.
These forums allow us to pray in jamat together if otherwise we would not go to the masjid for jamat.
We use these gatherings to recite the Qur’an …
We use these gatherings to make du’a …
Although the gathering itself may be of no consequence it has empirical and functional benefit that facilities and expedites us in our duties, and good deeds.
Eating together increases our love fore each other too.
There is no shirk in these gatherings … In fact there is a Hadith about the du’a of the prophet (SAW) that his ummah never take him as an icon of worship. And that du’a is manifest today … No bigger sign is there of this fact than the evidence that all sects that have come about none have deified Sayyiduna Muhammad (SAW) … Sayyiduna Ali (RA) has not been spared, but our prophet (SAW) … No one will do that … And there is no limit ascribed to loving RasoolAllah (SAW) …in our own love we do lots of things … Does that mean we don’t really love him (SAW) enough?
Loving him (SAW) brings this character in us and it helps us be more conscious of Allah (SAW) … His companions (RA) loved him (SAW) so much … So much love they would jump up and take arrows for him (SAW) when in battle, they would attend to his (SAW) wish straight away … Our unhealthy fear of bid’ah is a sign of us not being educated enough in knowing what bid’ah actually is …
Bid’ah is not just adding something … It is also removing something that should be there … When time and history has made the hearts of the Muslims drift towards dunya and view RasoolAllah (SAW) as slightly more important than our fathers then that is a big worry … We must hence put measures in place not to add to our Deen, but to bend our conditions back to where they need to be resulting from the very subtle influence of society. If we added nothing to our faith … Then we would have been lost … The compilation of the holy Qur’an, the fiqh sciences, aqeedah formulations, tassuwwuf sciences all play a part to preserve us so we don’t change … It is not that these things are part of the faith, no … But these things are interventions for us to get ourselves back to faith.
This is the reason why scholars don’t expect new Muslims to stop drinking right away … First stage is to shed the shirk, then to peel away at the kabirat, then music is an afterthought … They will allow music with halal lyrics and good messages be listened to instead of the secular and often violent stuff churned out from the kuffar … That is more dangerous … To live a secular life not bringing Islam in to every aspect including our mundane celebrations will harm us so much … We will start to operate as true secularists and hold values that we will compromise because of a type of mental separation. We are all Muslim … But we reach there gradually … We don’t remain satisfied in bid’ah avoidance … Yet indulgence in sharr (evil) so long as we don’t associate it with Islam…