Eid Milad un Nabi Festivities

Khan sahab and ceo got it right.

Re: Eid Milad un Nabi Festivities

Hypocrites is the word

Thanks

I didn’t say don’t follow saha sitta.. but there are people who don’t believe in authenticity of saha sitta and got different sources of ahadees. Will you call them 30% Muslims (as saha sitta is 70% Islam as per your post)?

That is just an excuse behind allegation of extravagance. When that was celebrated with simplicity, it was being called biddat then too. This has not been made controversial in recent times, this was always there with certain school of thoughts. The scholars from those school of thoughts were licking their angrez aaqa (referring to warm welcome of George V, Edward VII visits and then Queen Victoria’s tail curtailing in India by public including ulema e soo) and and when it comes to standing at the time of sending darood o salam, they got flames in their heart.

I agree that there are issues with the way it is being celebrated in certain quarters, so is the issue with celebration of Eid. People invite mujra girls during Eid Milan parties. Does that justify to stop celebrating Eid by others? Even performing Haj o Umra is now surrounded by luxuries.. 5-7 star hotels at foot-steps of haram. Isn’t it against the concept of simplicity as defined in Islam? taan aake yahan kiyun toot-ti hai? :hmmm:

Regarding poetry of Naats, I’ve been listening to Naats since my childhood.. Yes, there are some OTT naats, but 90% naats don’t cross limit. Anyone who is of the opposite view, is invited to debate on this issue in any of relevant forums (Poetry, Literature, Video Gallery).

Lari jao sarey!

lol…bajaa! ise kahte haiN sa’ii-e-laaHaasil…vo baHs o mubaaHisah jiskaa koii faa’ida nahiiN…ek dusre ko koii insaan to kia farishta bhii qaa’il o ma’qool nahiiN kar saktaa…baHs baraaye baHs se sabhii ko iHtiraaz karnaa chaahiye…gunaah be-lazzat! :frowning:

“biddah” are an “in” topic these days…

Perfect!

It is considered too much.

Our Prophet (SA) was the most loved and beloved by Allah swt. He was our example…a man who’s life was meant to followed as a Muslim.

Respect and love are one thing…but to revere and worship…that is only for Allah swt. There is only one God, isn’t there? No one else is to be put even close to his position.

I don’t disagree with Milad Un Nabi. I find it to be a beautiful occasion which should be full of the mention of our Prophet (SA), his life, his work and his message. But I don’t consider it “Eid” though because as far as I know there are only two Eids in Islam. There’s never been any other mention of another “Eid” and we’re wrong to call it that. I don’t think anyone can even deny this.

I’ve been to meelads where my mom was invited: there are stages setup (think of a shaadi stage, velvet chairs and everything), lights, flowers, phoolon ke haar put upon her, gifts given to her, money offered for her reading, on the men’s side there was a procession to lead the male naatkhwaan in to the banquet hall complete with duff playing, etc.

It was extremely uncomfortable. My mom refused to take anything but OMG was it awkward and not the only times its happened. That is NOT a milad…that is not the simplicity with which we are shown we can worship our Allah. If there is no water, you’re allowed to do wudu using dust (tayammum)…to allow us to be close to Allah in the most simplest way possible. How can this be right?

Its not.

And for those who are about to start squealing about Thanksgiving and Xmas and all that jazz. Thanksgiving has not been declared Turkey Eid (nauzubillah), celebrated by holding hands around the table and praying like white people do, going to midnight Mass for Xmas, etc etc etc. No one who has Turkey dinner and Xmas dinner starts beating a drum saying its a part of our faith. We openly acknowledge is NOT in our faith, its a regional/cultural thing and has nothing to do with Islam.

But Eid Milad Un Nabi is considered a part of Islam by many…its harmless in nature and should be used as a day to remember our faith. But not the way I’ve seen desi people do it.

I didn’t say don’t follow saha sitta.. but there are people who don’t believe in authenticity of saha sitta and got different sources of ahadees. Will you call them 30% Muslims (as saha sitta is 70% Islam as per your post)?

I did not say that those who don’t follow hadees are 30% Muslim. I said that about myself. I am no aalim of Quran. It’s easy for me to understand a hadees than a surat of Quran. My guidance is Quran, but my path is sunnah. If I diss my path, o would be very confused.

1. Whats the meaning of Eid in Arabic? It just means feast or an occasion that returns and repeated. Urdu word (ee’aada) got same root as ‘Eid’ and it means to do an act repetitively.

Eid Milad u Nabi is called Eid for it recurrence. Everyone knows that those who celebrate it, doesn’t go for Eid prayers like Eid ul Fitr or Eid ul Adha. Its been centuries that this is being celebrated across Muslim world, there is no single incident of Eid prayers on Eid Milad u Nabi? Am I right?

1. Is it only Eid Milad u Nabi that is referred as Eid in Muslim world, other than Eid ul Fitr and Eid ul adha?

No. Many festivals / occasions in Shia and Agha-khani community are referred to as Eid (with Eid prayers of course).

Eid - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

1. Use of word Eid in Quran with reference to Hazrat Isa (AS):

Surat Al-Ma’idah [5:114] - The Noble Qur’an - ??? ???

We have two holidays…if you’re going to use Qur’an as a reference…can you tell me where a third holiday or festival was declared?

sorry, but what do you mean by declared holiday as per Quran. I referred Surah e Ma’ida for usage of word ‘Eid’ in Arabic.

On other side, If as per Hazrat Isa (AS), sending of heavenly food was an occasion of festival (Eid as per Quran), why not the day when God blessed the earth with the Prophet can’t be called Eid (festival)?

Its not about the why…its about has it been declared or not? The why’s and why not’s are not the issue.

Who said not to celbrate Isa (AS) birth? Muslim historians has hidden social life of Muslim migrants in Habsha (Christian state). There are chances that Muslims have shared festivity of Christmas with people of Habsha, as there are traditions that ladies from family of the Prophet (SAW) visited church.

Eid is just a terminology. If you got any denial to my point that people who celebrate the occasion by calling it Eid don’t go for Eid namaz on the day, then that is alarming, otherwise naming an occasion Eid doesn’t make it controversial.

Isa’s birth would be Christmas according to the Christians today…did you see the Christmas thread last month? Or the Thanksgiving one before that?

So in essence, you’re saying Muslims can celebrate Eid Milad Un Nabi in the manner they do (that’s what I don’t like about it) and Christmas?

I give you two answers.

For a personality who is labeled as rehmatulil alameen, a person who is blessings for all the worlds from beginning till the end - his day of appearnce in this world is no longer significant in the greater scheme of things, but the fact that he was sent to us. Do you see his impact or his influence any less if he was born in 7th century instead of 6th? So why 12th rabiul awwal should be treated any different than 16th of Safar or any other day?

When Hazrat Umar saw the need of having a Islamic calendar, he checked with his counselors about the event that should be the start of that calendar. People suggested the year of battle of badar, the year of death of prophet, the year of start of prophethood and many, and later concluded that the most significant date in Islam is nothing but the event of hijrat, so that should be the first year of the Islamic calendar. It amazes me that sahaba who were ready to die for prophet, did not count his date of birth as the most significant and blessed day for Muslims, but 1400 years later, we are trying to prove it as a significant day (without even knowing if 12th rabiul awwal is indeed a correct date or not)

We don’t celebrate it.

I don’t think anyone is trying to degrade anyone else when they say it has no place Islamically…its just…i mean…what’s the difference between eid Milad and Christmas then? I think everyone respects the love people have for our Prophet (pbuh)…but there are other ways to show it… year round…any day…everyday. Also…this is a purely South Asian holiday…my Arab and African friends have never even heard of it.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=805755029450072

tauba… worst celebration ever!

you probably missed my earlier posts in the thread. That is not the matter of Hub e Ali, its matter of Bughz e Mua’viya that had made this day controversial and labelled as bidat.

PS: I neither celebrate it nor I want that any Islamic event is celebrated with extravagance and show off (That is what I’ve said in earlier posts). But those who celebrate it are not Mushrik or bidati for me. There are various events from Prophet’s own life, which say that he allowed celebrations for events related to Islam.

I don’t want to go into discussion of za’eef and saheeh ahadees, but there are ahadees that Prophet used to fast on Monday as it was his birth day. There is a hades about reduction in Abu Lahab’s azaab just for freeing a londi when he was told about the birth of the Prophet (SAW).

There was objection of sending darood in standing position. What would those scholar call girls from Aus o Khzraj who sung ‘Tala al Badr Alaina’ at the arrival of Prophet in Medina? Were those girls faced anger of Prophet (SAW)?