Eid Milad un Nabi Festivities

Re: Eid Milad un Nabi Festivities

Thats the topic under Religion forum, but the wording of Durood e Ibrahimi (read in Namaz) is for Prophet and his family who are miles away from us, so this seems to be fabricated allegation of Bidah to me. Darood e Ibrahimi is not ayat e Qurani, so there is possibility that it was not taught by Prophet. You see when there is a suspicion then there is no limit to it. People have raised fingers on many ahadees mentioned in Saha Sitta as well. There are recognised school of thoughts who don’t accept ahadees (like Parvezi, etc).

As far as the question of respecting the Prophet is concerned, Surah e Hujraat is enough evidence about it. Do not raise your voice over Prophet’s voice. Don’t call him from outside Hujraat until he comes to you himself. At other place of Quran, it is said that Prophet does hayaa and don’t say many things to you (but Allah doesn’t do hayaa to state what is burdensome to the Prophet). There is famous incident of Makka’s or some other delegation visiting Prophet (SAW) and the delegation informing their people that they have seen Qaisar o Kisra courts and their pompousness, but the way sahaba treat / respects prophet (SAW) is out of the world.. They try to get drops of water which was used by the Prophet (SAW) for wazoo.

There is a hadis that Prophets don’t leave behind turka (which lead to controversial event of Fidak), but many ahadees books mentions distribution of Prophet’s hair and nails at the time of Hajjat ul wida and placing of Mo’ay mubarak in different museums and masajids tells the level of respect Muslims gave and Prophet didn’t object to those acts. These incidents are more than just standing, when Prophet entered mosque. Otherwise, we do read in different ahadees that Prophet himself used to stand when his beloved daughetr Hazrat Fatima (RA) visited him. That was a norm in Arab society (I would say Asian culture) to show respect and concern for elders and people you loved.

^ I think the main argument should not be why it’s celebrated, but how.

Pls look online on how extravagant Milad un Nabi celebrations are. Lights, flowers etc ! It’s amazing! Is there a need for this? Why spend thousands of dollars on this? It’s like Eid day! The Quran has mention of only 2 eids (although some other sects have more eids, but that’s beside the point) but milad un nabi is considered an Eid too.

Durood recitation is ok but doing it on such large scales is definitely not. Do it at home in your private space. I have been to many Milads but now as I am growing up, I avoid attending them.

Women in Milads are giving our prophet PBUH a high status yes, but having naats with words such as “daalo daalo Mohammad pe phoonlon ke haar”, referring to prophet PBUH as Aaqa, datta, maula-- it’s too much. We should follow our prophet’s teachings, but not worship him. Yes- some Milads and preps are done in a way that one feels that the prophet PBUH is being worshipped nauzzubillah.

Allah talaah has no mention of prophet PBUH’s exact birth date in the Quran.

I agree with this. I have been attending meelad’s since I was old enough to talk.

There have been more than a few instances where we were veryyyyy uncomfortable because it wasn’t a simple meelad…there were ceremonies involved, money, stage sajana, phoolon ke haar, making it seem almost ritualistic in nature. That was insane…we avoid all of that at any cost.

O Bhai, it was taught by the prophet. It’s in the chapter of salaat in at least one of the sahaa e sitta, where sahaba asked how to recite durood and he told them durood e Ibrahimi. I don’t remember exactly but I think I read it in Nisai or Muslim.

Thats the point I was making. As ulema who are against milad are suspicious of Darood recited in Milad, same way there are people who are suspicious about ahadees mentioned in saha sitta and even some groups who are totally munkar e hadees. We have to keep balance at somewhere. Otherwise, my right will be wrong for someone else and I would call someones right as totally wrong.

Oh so you are saying that we should not believe in ahaadees, even of siha e sitta, with our eyes closed.

Bhai sahab, aap ne tou srif rasm e mehfil e milad ko justified kerne ke chakkar main hum jaise kamzor musalmano ka 70 percent Islam hee khatam kar diya. Quran hum jaisay jahilon ko samajh nahi aata sahi se. Ek laga bandha hadeeson ka sahara thaa on how to perform namaz and hajj, tou wo aap ne cheen liya. Ab kya karain.

This is how I feel too…I’ve seen such extravagant and baseless celebrations made out of Milad un Nabi…it seriously shocks me. I
just feel like one thing leads to another…the people I know who do such extravagant milaads are the same ones who go to dargahs and shrines and make mannats and lay flowers on the graves and in some cases bow down to the graves (yes, I’ve seen this happen with my own eyes)…it all scares me to the extent that I choose not to deviate from what I feel is simple, black and white Islam.

Again, I don’t like telling someone else that their chosen method of worship is wrong, so I simply stay away from it and mind my own business.

this is funny. We are the people who stand when.national.anthem.is played, when teacher enters the room, but.this.much token.of respect becones problem.when.we say salam.for.our beloved, who.cried.for our redemption.thousands of.years back and without whose.mention the kalima.is incomplete. What is salam.really? A prayer of blessing for him, is.it deniable that in Quran Allah Himself asserts He and angels send durood o salam to the beloved prophet sal Allah o aleh wassalam and believers are directed to do the same. People have problem with commemoration if shahadat e nawasa e rusool Sal.Allah o.aleh wassalam, people have problem with commemoration of the event that was much awaited for since from.forever, the blissful arrival.of the beloved prophet sal Allah o aleh wassalam to the world. Sigh.

As per the question HOW. bad practices are bad. Just like fire crackers on shab e barat are. Eid melad unnabi shouldnt be supposed to decorate the mosques and streets and houses only. It should decorate a beliver’s heart with the teachings of the beloved prophet sal Allah o aleh wassalam. Otherwise it is futile futile futile. But that is another topic. The fundamental question remains, why celebrating.it has become suh a controversy.

for sawab? from what i know…it’s for remembrance of the prophet.

christmas is a religious holiday. you wanna make it cultural, then any milad can be thought of the same way

the last time a thread of mine went to 3 pages…was…um…a long time ago :hayaa:

no this is not worship and everything that you have mentioned has been done during the Prophet’s, Sallallahu alaihi wa alehi wa sallam, life or by his companions.
his wudu water did not hit the ground. i’ll stop there on this
the decorations are in the Quran and Sunnah, spending money on this occasion is mustahab

you have no idea of the reverence of the Prophet required to be Believers.

Mawlid is Mustahab (preferable) according to Ahlus Sunnah wal Jamaah (the main body of Muslims since the time of the companions)

However Mawlid is a bidah according to well…wahabis and their offshoots. This group is a bidah itself, its a 200 year old religion.

from the Ahlus Sunnah the permissibility of the Mawlid has Ijma (consensus)

Celebrate Mawlid as much as you can, Love the Prophet peace and blessings be upon him and his family even more

ps This is my first year of commemoration of the Mawlid, i have been asked to recite over food! yikes, i thought you had to get local Hafiz to do that. the lights are not up yet but they will be

I do celebrate eid milad un Nabi.No i do not have lights or any of that stuff,but its a good time to remember an important role model.But with that being said,I offer no judgements on this topic and neither want any in return.I do not expect people to have the same beliefs as me,and I hate people imposing their beliefs on me.Not in any rude way, am I saying this.I just believe that religion is a sensitive topic. Beside people have the tendency to nit pick their preferred beliefs,which is totally wrong.So maybe celebrating eid milad un nabi is totally wrong or maybe its not.Lets leave that up to God…

Then why were you surprised when first few people posted no? If it’s not for sawab then not doing cannot be gunah, right?

You’re celebrating it brother and that’s how we do it also.

Some people who say it’s bidaa don’t actually do fateha khawanis, send durood o salaam and niaz o nazar but same people when get niaz from their neighbors, they eat it. Doesn’t it sound hypocrite?

But with that being said we usually distribute food to the poor..Not any lights or anything

I think so. :-\ I say that because I am rarely at home. I don’t celebrate it myself personally, tbh I find myself boxed in between friends who do and who don’t.

I just have one thing to say about this. There are far more important things to worry about as Muslims than to fight over whether it is right or wrong to celebrate the birthdate of the prophet (pbuh)…the same people who dress inappropriately/commit haraam, accept interest on their savings etc yet when it comes to this contentious issue they are all religious. One word for you lot. Hypocrites.