Re: drum roll please western vs eatern girls
Generalization is worst thing you can do to humans while defining their personality.
I was told that the same stereotypes are assigned to girls from "Amreeka" as opposed to "UK". Apparently Amreekans are waaaaaaaaaaaay more "modren" and "chalaak".
I have since learned otherwise.
chalak in a good way? as in smart or in bad way as in cunning?
the opposite of chalak is "booongi" or "bhonnga". I rather be chalaak :)
Question unanswered
what is opposite of babe
i think it is ebab :}
to put an end (well for now) to this ongoing debate
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/all-views/349187-confused-desis.html
some of tehse posts are really relevant to whats going on here
PSquared aap jo keh rahay ho ... i will not disagree with it because those people DO EXIST ... the kind you are referring to ... my only point is that such people exist on both sides ... so what's the entire hassle about rakhshandaz being that sort or the rasheedaz ... but i have to disagree with your point that the fashions like sleeveless and capris are being imported ... it's not as straight-forward as that ... it's a cycle ... and i think that media is playing a very evil role ... and i cant stress on it much ... and cant do enough projects on this fact (i am an artist/designer and write articles too) ... sab log aisa nahi sochtay k aap logoun ko kuch kerna nahi ata ... i think it's the other way around for the most part ... I DIDNT KNOW HOW TO DO ANYTHING till the day i came here ... and i was very well aware of it ... i cant say about those oblivious people who forget about the maids and the cooks in their house ... and as iv said in my post ... that girls abroad seem more religious than those back home ... but there is an obvious reason behind it ... and we cant just resort to blaming someone of how they are .... and this is a change i myself have undergone ... and i was quite intimidates in the beginning to find people here (beyond GS, not just here) with even their casual conversations dripping with Islamism ... adn the reason i think you'v'e also mentioned ... k jab ap pakistan mein aur her taraf aik cheez ho rahi hai ... to you tend to become more casual about it ... for example roza rakhna ... but believe me ... jab say me yahan ayi houn ... i too have had those feelings for holding onto my identity ... mein chahoun roza na rakhoun, namaz na parhoun ... but these are the things that define me as who i am ... and in this society, these are the things that make me unique ... and this brand new feeling of being where your morals are not the majority ... you work more hard to practice them ... i too had a rishta some time back from some guy in the US ... i just had a flat out no to it .. and i think even the MIL-on-hunting-spree was not so impressed by me ... i had too much of an opinion and completely carefree of the fact k larkay walay aye hain ... becuz i hate this concept ... so the imported brides that you have to deal with are a very specific kind that the foreign MILs pick and choose from in pakistan ... the kind who are perhaps not aware and in oblivion ... all the people i know in pakistan at least ... none of them thinks the way you are projecting the image of pakistanis ... which clearly means that there are better people out there ... and also ... i said in my post that the girls who used to come to paki during their school years, MOST of the were the docile, shy, religious kind ...
Farrah, I respect how open minded you are and able to see past stereotypes. Im just really cranky lately because Ive had relatives visiting from Pakistan for the past few months who have driven me crazy about my Wild, Wicked, Western roots. So, I lashed out at every opportunity I got. It just hit a nerve I guess. :(
In this country, we have to work harder to find, define and maintain who we are for fear of losing ourselves and not having an idea of our origins. If I told you how my friends, sisters and I were raised...you would laugh and think my parents were Pendu. I have an ABCD friend who has never even bought her own clothes, EVER. Her mother has shopped for her all her life and still does at the age of 25. Another ABCD friend of mine is now 28 yrs old, divorced and her parents STILL dont allow her to sleep over ANYWHERE. I was never allowed any non-muslim friends until college where my mom n dad had no choice but to let me have some non-muslim classmates. I had never seen the inside of a mall until the age of 19. Yeah, they were that strict with their girls. Ask anyone on this forum who is a parent and they will tell you how hard it is to raise kids in the US with good morals and values. My precious grandmother (may Allah swt grant her Jannatul Firdaus) spent years teaching me how to cook, Quran with tajweed, Urdu, etc.
After all of this, you get to hear how wild and out there we are. It doesnt feel good...for me or my parents.
And Im sure when I said what I said, I probably didnt make a lot of Pakistani girls out there feel great either. So, Im sorry if I hurt any Rasheedaz out there with my comments.
I’m a Romana …Go figure ![]()
IN the end it's all about how your parents raised you, regardless of where you grow up, no? There are very 'chaaloo' girls in Pakistan and very 'seedhi saadhi' girls in the west and the other way around too. You are the product of your environment.
What is laughable is that there are people in Pakistan who can't speak Urdu, what a sad and pathetic state they are in. Such disdain for your own culture and language? Here I am bending over backwards to try to talk to my baby girl in Urdu in the hopes that she will learn it. I don't have ANYONE to speak Urdu with on a daily basis, yet I'm trying to desperately preserve that part of my life. Then there are people like your sister, who living in Pakistan still are "Worst at Urdu" said in such LOLLISHNESS as if it's funny and charming. It's not, it's retarded.
lol… i havent read such an awesome post in AGES
on the other hand i agree with points made my aahmed and PSquared..
PSquared… do you really think not allowing ur kids to do their own shopping.. or to even go to a mall till they are in their late teens.. is ok? hmmm
agree we are the products of our enviroment, like most posts here i too was raised in the west by parents who were very strict about instilling values from Pak. And yes why oh why do women from Pak fall over themselves when they find out i can cook???? the funny thing is the "modern" ones cant make a decent dish between them.
We were not allowed to speak english at home, in the fear that we would forget our mother tongue.
We were not allowed to wear english clothes at home, it always had to be shalwar kameez.....as i got older wearing a sari to an occassion was also a no no because thats indian identity!!! (got through that one though) and the list goes on and on
I think my frustration like most people on this forum is girls from Pak have no idea how difficult growing up in a foriegn country really is, all they see is the glitter and gold.
one question... being a strict parent, is that what makes us become "good" pakistanis in western countries? is that what instills the culture in us?
i find it hard to understand this notion... id like to instill good morals in my daughter, but i dont think being strict is the answer.
Like aahmed, i try my best to speak to her in my tooto phooti urdu, lekin watever, i try my best... but im not going to stop her from doing things. Im hoping, by talking to her, by giving her an example, she will learn for herself... like i did
i dont think its about being strict, its about values, and if you live those values yourself they become a part of life.
There were many things i hated when i was growing up, and personally i think if my parents had actually sat down and discussed why we had to do this or wear that, rather than "just do it" it would have been a easier transition, as an adult i appreciate my parents parenting skills and would do more or exactly the same with my children.
^ so you would be just as strict?
same values, different approach
Another generalization.
IN the end it's all about how your parents raised you, regardless of where you grow up, no? There are very 'chaaloo' girls in Pakistan and very 'seedhi saadhi' girls in the west and the other way around too. You are the product of your environment.
What is laughable is that there are people in Pakistan who can't speak Urdu, what a sad and pathetic state they are in. Such disdain for your own culture and language? Here I am bending over backwards to try to talk to my baby girl in Urdu in the hopes that she will learn it. I don't have ANYONE to speak Urdu with on a daily basis, yet I'm trying to desperately preserve that part of my life. Then there are people like your sister, who living in Pakistan still are "Worst at Urdu" said in such LOLLISHNESS as if it's funny and charming. It's not, it's retarded.
Yea it is retarded! both my parents at home either speak punjabi or urdu ... my brother and i (the older siblings) also speak fine urdu ... never had any problems ... but go curse the private educational system in pakistan who enrol kids on the basis of whether the parents can speak good english ... if the kid at 5 years already knows who charlotte bronte is! parents only struggle to, and spend their entire money on providing their children with the best education, and of course it's with their best intentions ... but what do you do that the systems running and shaping the societies have become this way?
bahar rehnay k apnay mazay hain .... pakistan mein honay k apnay ... aur dono jaghoun k apnay maslay b hain ... ask me how my father is coping with the fee bills of my younger siblings ... how these institutes think they are based in france or something and charge like 200 euros per month or more! what the economical state of pakistan is ... how their is no government support ... how it is horrible for students .. and how my brother is out of college becuz a part of fee is unable to be paid ... and his university cares a damn! how when you fill university admission papers ... they ask you more about your jaidad instead of your capibilities ... have you seen LUMS ka admission form?!?!?!
in paksitan people are desperately trying to be at par with the rest of he world ... its a different notion over there ... they dont have to worry about the preserving culture bit ... becuz it is in the masses ... not a minority that they have to be so careful ...
but when they do become good at what they do (at the cost of some culture loss at times) ... then people laugh at them or become uber-surprised ... my friends family immigrated to canada .... and when she was applying for her job ... her interviewer was like .. you must've studied hard to learn english in these past six months to speak so well now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Another generalization.
uptil that post ... YES .... each post was about desi roxanas! the recent ones are still unbiased ...
Farrah, what are you complaining about? The educational discrepancies between countries? How is that related to the west vs east girls stereotype? Take it up with your local authority.
It's a fact that Pakistani university education isn't the same as the UK for example. So, employers being surprised - it isn't a huge leap of imagination. And why should English be the international language of education? They didn't comment on your friends abilities and indeed she was even called to interview. I think that is a needless hurt on your part.
So far as chalaki is concerned, yes, girls in the East are more Sly and Cunning. But rather than that being a water borne trait - its a result of extended families. People who live admist competition are more likely to be sharper and on-the-ball, so to speak. Nothing wrong with that. In fact seeda-pan is quite the turn off. We must be the only culture who reverrs village idiots.
And also, yes. Most girls in the West have had a certain degree of independence and freedom over and beyond those in the East. Its a cultural thing. But its not a morality thing.
I think the problem here is that people want to be considered on a personal basis when others talk of generalities. I hate to break it to you ladies. But when there are a million peas in the field, no one gives a chit about your pod.
"pakistani girls are sly and cunning" ... and of course sly and cunning are traits just found in pakistan ..
i guess the title of the thread is incorrect ... it was in the spur of the moment to see all the bashing going on ... and education IS part of it ...
what is a pakistani? who is a true pakistani? people abroad trying to preserve culture? people back home facing a lot more than JUST CULTURE?
people who are abroad, chose to leave pakistan for financial benefits and security .. and you are living at the cost of culture savings ...
people back home are LIVING in culture benefits, at the cost of financial emptiness ... and both have separate priorities and neither of them can be blamed for what they are doing ...
sorry to break it to you as well .. but pakistani identity was never clear ... people are still throwing stones at each for having different opinions .... and language is not the only thing that determines it ... culture is an evolution under the effects of everything that is around ... more than a pakistani identity, you are trying to preserve your "muslimhood" ... if you want to be a pakistani ... then go back there ... and live with ALL its benefits and side-effects! because being a pakistani is a term that comes with a lot more than just urdu ...
in my opinion, pakistanis abroad and pakistanis at home are two absolutely different kind of people. they live in different cultures and society ... they have different priorities ... different frame of mind ... they have separate issues ... everything is different ... then how can you ever compare the two and laugh at each other?
the only point everybody is missing out here ... that on the whole i am talking FOR both of them ... and not trying to save only one ...
but for the most part .. people commenting are still little bit or more trying to tell me what "pakistanis" are like ... or what they are missing ...
p.s. It's a fact that Pakistani university education isn't the same as the UK for example <<< not really!
i know rakhshanda bari achi larki hai ... to phir kya problem hai manzoor ki ammi ko k wo rasheeda ko dhoondnay chal parti hain ... jabkeh 99% of rukhshandaz and manzoors agree k rasheeda bari he chalaak aur kharaab hai?