what to do if u dress conservative and the guy wants u dress in tight jeans and skirt?
anyway, guys don’t say anything before marriage and if they do they change theirideas later. so how could anyone be sure on how to respond to it?
Its so cute when unemployed mullahs have to hide behind *motarmah *uff sahibaan in the stead of making valid points or even making coherant points. Whatever sways your swings.
Personally, if told to change the way I dress - I’d consider it, however if it because he was judging my religion on the manner of my dress I doubt we would have gotten it togeather to begin with. Fraggle.
I have had to change certain things. Length of my kameez it to my knees now, no short sleeves in public, dupatta in public and some other stuff.
Dupatta pisses me off no end and thats one of the reasons im always dying to go home lol i can be without it. So i havent been changed, im just doing as they want whilst im under their roof…
Girls, let me warn ya. If you think changing is easy peasy lemon squeasy its NOT. Think a hundred times before you put yourself in a situation whereby you might have to adapt your ways. Its so much harder done than said !!
Currupt Angel, make your stance CLEAR !!! These little things can be soooooooooooooo annoying later i swear. LOL my inlaws would lvoe someone like you…sort it all out before marriage. Get it across to mummy jee that you are the way you are and if she wants a different kinda bahoo she should find one instead of moulding you into her ideal. Dont make the mistake of going ahead with these issues unresolved…it will cause so much friction
i would just put the “blame” on him. Tell her that your husband doesnt like make up and clothes that are too tight. Afterall, after Allah (swt) it’s your husband’s pleasure you seek.
but what happens when one changes their views after marriage? obviously if one has gotten a bit more religious after marriage for example…they are going to try and get their significant other to do the same.
a lot of ppl change.
my khala used to wear sleeveless shirts when my khalu married her. My khalu being the good man he was nvr said a word to her about it. he just continued to be the religious man he was. (btw he didnt know she wore sleeveless when he married her) after 18 yrs of marriage she decided to take on the hijab…all on her own. Now mashallah she is so religious.
I have no issues at how a woman dresses, but I know my family may have. I will surely discuss it if I know a girl wears short length skirts and low necks. I wouldnt want my family to be disrespected because of the way my wife dresses, and if she is not flexible enough to change then I am sorry I dont see her being flexible on other issues. We, desis, do not live isolated lives, and it does matter what others say. I think dressing up properly for the kind of people you are living with is more a matter of good manners than religion. Even Goris change their dress code when they visit Pakistan and middle east.
Ashtray, very few desi ladies (muslim) will wear short skirts with plunging necklines. Lets be realistic here. We're talking about in-laws having issues over "she wears jeans, what a BOLD girl".
PCG, as long as the jeans doesnt show the camel toe, it is not a problem i think. I am sure you know how to dress modestly if that is the requirement, harr jagah jhagRa acha nahi hota.
I dont know what my parents would object to, if they raise an issue to my wife wearing jeans, I will ask her to change it for the respect of my parents. Ye koi baRi baat nahi aye na hi aurat ki be-izzati hae.
I used to wear hijaab plus niqaab before marriage ....(in Pakistan)
before coming to europe my husband made it clear that I can skip niqaab part if i like (or was he actually suggesting it??) he had no problem or issues etc. ....n i could sense him leaning more towards me taking hijaab only while he refered to a good majority of turkish/ moroccan women wearing hijaab but no niqaab ....I politely told him i don't want to leave niqaab bit ...n bless him he never insisted ...!!
And now he is my biggest supporter for whole niqaab issue! :)
as for dressing in my home ....i am quite conservative on that one too ....n thats the part where i do get told off sometimes ....I'm trying to change !!