even if they're 50+???.
As long as they do not have a belly hanging out. I would say yes.
even if they're 50+???.
As long as they do not have a belly hanging out. I would say yes.
Re: Dress code for Shadi.
even in Pakistan now, very few ppl wear a shalwar kameez to the main wedding/valima functions, not that there is anything wrong with it of course. they are worn on less formal occasions like mehndi and other ghar walay functions, reason being that the wedding itself is a very formal affair and shalwar kameez tend to wrinkle a lot and can end up looking kinda shabby by the end of the evenning. suits look graceful, beginning to end.
I do have those , but they need to be scanned . Next summer I am going to make one of my kids scan those pictures .
yea but in this thread we need to work on changing mirch and get him to buy that suit. lol
** i dont think i can help u wid tht ...
but IT field ROCKS :biggthumb **
Yeah , that is one of those fields in which a fob like me can get anywhere with their thick desi accent.
buy a suit!
oh he ll buy the suit .. mein ne keh diya hai na ab … even the maulvi log wear a suit to weddings these days …
waisey bhi .. yeh Mirch shb idher sochtey rahein ge to buy or not to .. aur udher sab suit pe wedding pe paunch jaaein ge .. aur yeh grand entrance kartey hi apna moonh chupaa lein ge kiyon k innon ne suit nahi pehna hua .. how embarrasing ..then i wana see Mirch shbs face so . make sure you take some pics and share with us ..
oh he ll buy the suit .. mein ne keh diya hai na ab ... even the maulvi log wear a suit to weddings these days ...
waisey bhi .. yeh Mirch shb idher sochtey rahein ge to buy or not to .. aur udher sab suit pe wedding pe paunch jaaein ge .. aur yeh grand entrance kartey hi apna moonh chupaa lein ge kiyon k innon ne suit nahi pehna hua .. how embarrasing ..then i wana see Mirch shbs face so . make sure you take some pics and share with us ..
I am not planning to go in my underwear so it is not going to be embarassed. I do not want to embarrass my BIL and his wife . They are very loving , caring , and adorable . I am going to talk to them and let them know that I ain't buying that suit and I will stay away from photography sessions if that is what they are worried about. Like kahin shadi k group photo kharab na ho jain.
How about a tuxedo?
Yeah that is the first option in my opening thread but it makes me ewwwww.
mirch plzzz go n buy the suit…stop being so stubborn ![]()
he isnt the groom spock! ![]()
he wud look totally out of place with a tux on.
The real question is do they have the right to impose a dress code on the guests ?
If they do have a right to do so , I have the right to boycott that shadi.
Life is already complicated why make it more complicated with these kind of impositions.
There is no dress code for women as they already know that women will be wearing all those expensive desi dresses anyway.
The real question is do they have the right to impose a dress code on the guests ? If they do have a right to do so , I have the right to boycott that shadi. Life is already complicated why make it more complicated with these kind of impositions. There is no dress code for women as they already know that women will be wearing all those expensive desi dresses anyway.
Mirch looks like you are trying to make an excuse to get out of going to this wedding ....the mrs will not be please neither will the in-laws.
you have to go!! and u best wear a suit lol
Merits of Buying a Suit
1. You will make the bride and groom happy (it's their day after all)
2. You will make your in-laws happy
3. You will make your angelic wife happy (happy wife=happy life)
4. You will look like a stud (you know what they say about men in suits)
5. You will have a suit for future formal occasions. You will probably have to attend school functions for your kids, formal dinners or other weddings. Since it seems like you've reached your average adult weight, you will be able to wear this suit for years.
6. Considering the bad economy, almost everyone should be concerned about their current job status. If you have to start looking for a new job, you'll need a suit for interviews (and that will be a bad time to have to go out and buy one). Also, what if top brass changes in your company and they require a stricter dress code?
Cons of buying a new suit
1. You'll spend money (but really, honestly, not that much. Lots of good deals to be found right now. And the ladies in the Fashion forum can help).
2. They make you feel uncomfortable. But this is something you need to grow out of. You are an educated, successful, family man. You should feel like you're absolutely in your element in a suit.
Now, go out and buy a good quality suit at a good price point. Its a wise investment.
Mirch, if u buy a really good classic suit, it will last you even til ur littlest kid's wedding!
@ happy wife = happy life
Mirch - you are too funny!
Okay guppies hand over your donations for Mirch's suit! Hehe! You could go with no.7 and grow a curry belly in the process! Blend in with all the other friends with a belly - lol!
Or just wear whatever you feel comfy in. Wear a smart shalwar kameez suit and enjoy the function! :)
See, I would buy a suit and make sure it is one that I can tailor later on if my size changes. Also, having one nice suit in your closet is a good idea. You may only wear it once in a very blue moon but its there.
The thing with weddings is people want to pull off a really uniform and elegant look for the immediate family and that is fine. Im doing that too...but Im also providing the clothes so these guys dont have to go out of their way to find something just because I want it. There is nothing wrong with it but you have to make it easy on the people that are coming if you're going to enforce rules about dress code.
Maybe call up a store and arrange for all the men to get their suits from one place and that way you can get a good deal (yes, im always looking for good deals) for everyone. Even if you're living out of state, you can go in a day or two before the wedding and pick it up from there.
That is what my beef is about. That if someone is enforcing a dress code then they should provide it . Adha teeter adha batair is not good. If I cannot afford to buy suit for everybody I will not enforce it.
People do not understand this. :hinna:
I can tell that to them on their face. Hey if you cannot afford to buy suit for immediate family then you should not behave like those who can afford to do so.
Also, if we consider western weddings all the bridesmaids and groomsmen are responsible for paying for their dresses and tuxes...