Dress code for Shadi.

My BIL’s ( wife’s brother) son is getting married in summer. His wife is calling all the relatives and telling and hinting them that all the male relives are required to wear a western style suit for the wedding ceremony .

I have stopped wearing suits long time ago once I got into IT field. I like this field because it is low maintenance and comfy when it comes to a dress code. For ages I was wearing jeans and polo shirts. Then at this place they have business casual dress code for 4 days and on Friday we can wear jeans. So I have no suits or ties.
Now I have two or three alternatives.

1. Rent most expensive looking suit ( but i feel so ewwwww at the thought of it)
  2. Waste my hard earned money in this bad economic times to buy a suit and then never wear it again.
  3. Do not go to the wedding but my angel like wife will feel it.
  4. Be a non conformist and make my In laws mad, although we never had that kind of feelings against each other, they love me , I love them.
  5. Tell them if they want everybody to buy the suit they should buy one , but I am too nice to tell her off.
  6. Mail my dilema to Dear Abby.
  7. Borrow a suit and tie from a friend. But none of my friends is same height and weight as I am. Most of them have belly , I do not have a belly.

So my Life1 comrades help me out , give me some ideas and advice .

Re: Dress code for Shadi.

just go buy the suit!! :smack:
it will make everyone happy…besides I am sure you can use that suit for other weddings.

Buy the suit at macys or such a store, wear it & then refund it :)
hehehehehehe
problem solved. But seriously, do you have nowhere you can wear a suit? A nice dinner out with the wife...or any event for your kids....etc....it is good to have at least 1 good suit I think.

yeah, but I do not wear suit to anybody’s wedding best I do is wear raw silk Punjabi Shalwar Qameez suit with vest coat over it. Nobody mandated western suits ever. :smack2:

i think you should go and get a suit esp if u already havent got one bcoz one always comes in handy for these sort of functions

Mirch, dont you have executive meetings with the top brass where you might have to wear them? Come on, just buy it, you have to make your BIL happy, its his day for crying out loud! Need some pointers?

I agree with Afro…you should have at least one suit in your closet.

yes Mirch bhai, get a suit, i’m sure occasions such as these will keep coming up once in a while, its worth it, men look very graceful in suits. now you don’t want to end up looking shabby at the wedding, do u?! :bummer:

I have my shadi ka suit ,which my inlaws gave me as per custom. But I will have to lose 80 pounds in 5 months to fit in that suit. :hehe: My wife has been saving that for memories sake. :slight_smile:
I have donated other suits long time ago. I prefer shalwar kurta and shalwar qameez suit for desi weddings and walima and for years that has been the norm.

buy a suit then after the wedding sell it on ebay.

I do have those meeting but it is all business casual here. I am IT guy so they do not mind even if they are wearing suits and I am not. My CIO wears jeans even to those meetings. So I take my cue from him. :).

get a suit.

Its time for change!

Awww. that look sSOOOOOOOOO ADORABLE ON GUYS!!! I like guys who dress desi!

this is what you should do. Where whatever you want and go to the wedding. Pretend you didn’t get the hint. I mean at the wedding what’s the worst possible outcome? she’s gonna kick you out? Most likely not.

i hate it when people make stupid demands like that. It makes one to do the opposite just for the spite of it.

:hmmm: that idea has some appeal in it.

even if they're 50+???.

then theres always the alternative .. bonyaan , dothi and chapples ... :p

bruv ..just go out buy one .. these happy days and good family moments dont come often .. in someppls lives .. so why not go get one .. just get a tuxedo .. pata to chaley na .. banday ne farmaaish ki thi k western suit paa k aana ..to iss farmaaish ka poora haq adas karo ..

aur waisey bhi .. if you buy one .. kabhi phir kaam aa sakta hai .. its not as if your gonna buy a £300 suit wear it once and throw it awy ..

i dont think i can help u wid tht ...

but IT field ROCKS :biggthumb

Change is already here, and im loving it!

mirch i wanna c ur wedding pixxxx! :hula: