Dowry for your kids

Re: Dowry for your kids

They had an engagement period of a yr...over this whole yr whenever the girl's mother asked bout clothes etc (she lives in pak and they live in the US).... Just to get an idea of what kinda clothing she should have made for her girl...the mil kept saying array nahi why are u bothering with this... Its not your job...we dont want jahez at all... It came to the point where the mil one day quite rudely said ... Kehdiya na..no jahez! Whateber she needs, my son will do it.

So the girl's side felt that if they sent anything with her ..it may further anger the in laws...so they didnt get anything new made for her nor did they send anythingold of hers either...the idea was when she moves she could take it then.

So it was quite stupid of the in laws to not deliver what they had promised! My friend was quite hurt too... Hey had a yr to prepare for their son's wedding and they did nothing. What kinda welcome is that?

On top of this... The mil ridiculed the new bahu by sayong...mashallah.. Bohot khoob... Aap koi bhi kapra chappal nahi layin?

Wtf?!!!!

The mil ridiculed the new bahu by sayong...mashallah.. Bohot khoob... Aap koi bhi kapra chappal nahi layin?

messed up!

hahahahahahhahaha LOL

WEIRDO MIL!!! was she high on something before!

Lesson learned: Always bring your own clothes and chappal!

Oh Please! As long as you are using the word 'desi' to 24/7 moan and bash the crap out of South Asain culture, people, lifestyle, habits, looks and practices, you are not being anti-South Asian, (thats all part of fair 'criticism' but you are instantly termed an anti South Asian because you've used the word 'South Asian'? Funny how I've never seen you pop that question in any of those millions of blatant anti desi threads that literally run the entire life1 section. I don't like saying that but I think I'm the least self hating' desi' (yeah South Asian in other words) on this forum, thank you very much I'm very proud of my South Asian heritage! I hope this is okay with you becasue I feel like moving to the technically more relevant point of your post.

Yes I LOVE gifts, absolutely love giving and receiving. But I hate dowry that goes by the name of 'gift' these days. Yes by following the exact same traditions and guidelines and intentions of dowry system but terming it as 'gift' does not make it a gift. Could've saved me all this explaining and the time you wasted writing that post had you read my initial posts.

I'm glad you've brought the example of Hazrat Fatima RA, because we were told in Islamic class long time ago, that Prophet pbuh had set an example by not following the common Arab tradition of giving lavish and extensive dowry. He adopted the path of simplicity and gave the most essential items as gift/dowry to his daughter. It'd be pretty malicious to use an example that includes things like prayer mat and a bowl and a jug to justify dowry that includes jewels and clothes worth millions. I'm not an expert on Islam but I am damn sure that example of Fatima's wedding does not, in any way or form promotes materialism or this example should be used to put pressure on parents to give dowry or gifts to their childern. I don't know what latest brand of Islam is more in these days but I always thought that the example of Hazrat Fatima's wedding was established to encourage simplicity...I guess its other around now...

I mean if we’re talking gifts, why can’t parents just give a nice china set or a nice decoration piece as a wedding gift and be done with it? Why does ‘gift’ must be certain tolas and numbers of gold sets, gold items for MIL/SIL/elder bhabhi/choti khala/bhari chachi etc, why a suitcase full of fancy clothes etc etc…? This is all a check list of the centuries old jahaiznama, and I’d happily used the word gift when I see people not following that jahaiznama.

You bet. My goal is to gift them at least a small townhouse or maybe 100K or more in cash, so they can start a good and stress free married life. The gift would be for both (my daughter and son in law) to enjoy.

^no bmw?

Wow!

Well, I think in this case, both sides are terrible at communication! If the girl's mother kept asking the MIL what NEW clothes she should have made....then I can see the MIL pretty much telling the mother that she doesn't need to provide the girl with a NEW wardrobe. I guess it would've been better for the mother to discuss the girl's CURRENT wardrobe with the MIL and asking if the clothing she already owns is appropriate for starting life in the U.S.

On the other hand....the MIL should've also said that there's no need for the mother to buy new clothes and the girl should bring with her whatever she owns.

But still.....geez......sending the girl without one single pair of shoes or clothing to change into the next day.....that's just ridiculous!

Lesson: Never ASSUME anything!

I dont know GTG, are you being sarcastic here?

I have a question, besides the "oh my family is great because we do this and that so it must be like that for rest of the whole world" arguments, how many ya'll think that parents can get away with giving prayer mats, most basic items of utensil to their daughters without looking like outcasts in the society?Of course keeping the example of Hazrat Fatima in mind, in case you are Muslim.

njgal - that's fine. Nothing wrong with ur thinking.

Jolie - it's all about what people can afford and want to give. . I keep saying that in my comments.

If one doesn't have the means to give, then don't. If one simply doesn't want to give, that's fine either. However, if one wants to give their child (and only their child) gifts, then go for it.

What I am against is people having to go through loans and borrowing money for their kids' weddings. Do what u can and want to do. simple as that.

i'll remove the attitude from this question and answer it the best way i could:

nothing wrong with it. My dadima gave me a janamaz when I got married, and I still have it and love it. Everytime I pray on it, I remember her. It's one of my most dearest gifts. when I went to Bangladesh after I got married, one of my husband's cousins gave me a wedding gift. It was the tasbeeh of my husband's late dadima, the one with 1000 beads. I was so emotional when I recieved it (because I was thinking of my dadima at that time as well) and I treasure that tasbeeh very much.

And nothign wrong with giving basic utensils either. My mom has gotten me the pots and pans, spoons, glassses, etc...all the basics. She even still does to this day give me stuff. Nothing wrong with it.

Am I assuming that gifts ONLY from the parents are what some of you people call Dowry? Basically, your answer would be that they could afford it and should but it themselves. If that's the case, then why should you want any guest at the wedding to give the couple a gift (whether it be cash or a household item). The same reasoning should be applied there as well. Don't you think?

If parents can afford to give better, then this is totally disrespecting your daughter.

Ironically the Jahaiz issue is most problamatic in working class communities.

Jolie whats with the bitter toned replies woman?

U r asking ppl to give their opinions but if the dare give examples, u ridicule them by saying oh thats not how it has to be for eberyone else. I dont think anyone here has been definate like that.

Calm down child.

I tjink patents can get away with a lot less... If they want to

I understand that and agree. Problem with our working class is not that they dont know what they can or cannot afford, problem is that they have means of lower class and lifestyle of higher class. They are in that limbo where they know they cant afford it, but they dont want people to know that they cant afford it.

[quote=““Afshi””]

There are gifts and then there is a Rajputana style Jahaizanam (a term I’d use to describe the give and take that I occasionally witness in my social circle), which has been rebranded into ‘gifts’ while the intentions, expectations and guidlines are exactly how they were hundreds of years ago. I have no problem with that, but just abuse the term gift by branDng it as one.

I think there is some semantic confusion from your part.

no confusion on my part.

you just need get a new social circle.

Why the word b*****ng is censord here?

Be it working class or middle class, when it comes to your childern, it is not easier to say that you can't afford the best especially when you are living a in a deeply conformed society. I really think you lose the whole seriousness and complexities of this issue when you shrug your shoulders with 'give what you can afford' justification because normally this justification comes from people who are indeed in a position to afford better or shall I say standard desi wedding 'gifts'. No one here is suggesting that give the bride away in her undergarments or you should not recieve gifts from the guests, my issue is why the dowry system is suddenly branded as 'gift' and gloss it up with saying that parents do it out of their love, when really, parents go through all sorts stress and obstacles to be able to afford the usual luxuary items you'd expect in traditional desi jahaiz. I don't see anything comforting in that.