double standards in our society

p.s I could perhaps send his posts to Aunty Jee.

Re: double standards in our society

I am not surprised.

This thread reminds me of this song

you are so smart PCG.
pixie was some one else mother little while ago.
Now she is also adopting MP too.

good thread.. and the sad thing is, this double standard has the negative effect of some girls wanting to "even out" the double standard by wanting to stay out late at night etc. because their brothers get to. I wish parents would understand that the guy is in most cases **MORE **susceptible to tripping up and getting himself into things he shouldn't be doing. Girls are usually more samajhdaar and parhaizgaar to begin with! The point is that both guys and girls should be kept a watchful eye on.

this

this

this

this too

this

THIS!

Women, don't try to equate yourself to men, no point cuz you will never succeed in your goals. Stop behaving like itchy feminists.

Sarmad, Im not condoning irresponsible behaviour in any gender but its just not fair to let your sons do what they want but have different rules for girls.
I see parents letting their sons have girlfriends but when it comes to their daughters, they don't approve of that. This happens alot in pakistan.
I see guys being able to get cellphones but for their daughters they don't want to give them a cellphone because who knows what they will do with it.
If you are going to be strict on your daughters, thats fine but then do the same with your sons.
A friend of mine was "caught" having lunch with her boyfreind once and her parents beat her up and took her out of school. Meanwhile her brother works in the media and has done modelling, anchoring and different tv shows and hes ALWAYS out partying with his 'celebrity' friends. I have seen pics of him drunk on facebook! no strictness for him but his sister couldn't even date? how is that fair?

hmm I think maybe you misunderstood my post? :confused:

I said that it’s wrong to let guys do what they want, and that both should be kept to the same standards.. with the observation that it’s usually the girls who are better behaved with better morals anyway, which makes it ironic.

Yeah, i agreed with your post in the first place.

Firstly Pixie is not my mom. Thank Allah. She is in no way related to me. I would also suggest you disassociate myself with Pixie. I can be spoken off without having this female attached to me :D

Specifically you Sara! glares :p

The conversation or argument that women's time should be limited due to sexual predators is valid to an extent though flawed. Boys need a stronger hand when growing up. I for certain got into a lot of stupid stuff, but never anything dangerous. But guys can get involved in drugs, gangs, criminal activity and a lot more.

I do not wish to make light of rape or sexual predators, but that really pales in comparision to some of the real trouble a son can get into. Rape is a serious concern, but it comes from our backward and pathetic attitude within our society that a family's honor is within the sexual activity for their daughters.

Something that has no linking with Islam rather makes a mockery of it.

I agree with PyariCGudia completely. Our family back home is very strict when it comes to how girls behave in public and private. I mean we segregate our weddings and don't let boys and girls dance at Mehndis etc. But our men and aunties have SUCH double standards when it comes to women.

For example, my mamoo's wedding, on the mehndi all the girls were told to leave the Mehndi at 12:00 because it was apparently too late to be out and all the guys got together and hired a Pakistani singer! It wasn't like a mujra but it was pretty disgusting nonetheless! I was fuming!!

Another double standard is that girls don't get to go out because there are predators out there. Does that mean when their sons go out until 3:00 am, then they are predators as well?

And also girls staying out late automatically means that she is too gorafied. What if she has a career? she has to work late?

The issue here is that boys are given freedom because usually they have to go out and get some errands done like getting bread, milk etc. But that doesn't mean aik khula haath hona chahiyeh! guys should get strict treatment as well!

If I have a son I wont let him out of the house after 10:30 pm no matter how old he gets!!

None of this would happen if guys followed the same rules as girls. :) If a girl can't go out past 10, then guys shouldn't either ;) No rape, no harassment :-D

so the Boy's should be @home watching ARY, PTV, NDTV drama's, right?

If parents dont allow sons to stay out late, then you will complain that you cant find decent guy one ... parents just provide you variety to choose from :)

HumTV ke dramay are good :) Sony aur Zee tv ke bhi...I just don't have time to watch them, but yea i'd love my future hubby to watch dramay with me, just the good ones :)

how do you know that was the real reason she was taken out of school?

i have no idea what you are talking about

:p

How about we do this. You tell me how many people have you given similar ideas too? I would be very interested to know what happens in PMs :p

As Carla from scrubs says... "I knew before they did."

Actually I don’t know any people like that, particularly for points 1-5. Then for 6 and 7, well there are a lot of people who we could that type of thing about.

This would just bore a mom. Besides, some moms would probably even find it awkward to sit with their sons and their friends while they play video games. Back in the day, we did use to have gaming sessions that started like after praying isha and then went on until it was almost time for fajr. I don’t see parents (or anybody else who’s not playing) being able to wait through that long a gaming session unless they themselves are gamers. Maybe they’d try it once or twice and then make some excuse to get out of doing it after that.

They should. Parents just seem scared of this type of stuff (well not really scared, they just don’t like going near it). Due to this, the kids are always one step ahead of the parents.

The only time I see that happening is if they are already suspicious of the kids for something.

I wouldn’t mind that.

Most of what you’re saying just doesn’t seem realistic. I would suggest instead that they simply try to keep better tabs on what kind of company their sons are keeping. Keep the computer in an open space so that they can see what their kids are looking at. Use parental control mechanisms that available for these things.

Ah but what you know is infact wrong :D Cross my heart and hope to die!