Does Islam teach intolerance?

Re: Does Islam teach intolerance?

seminole. that holds true for everyone, whether its muslims who are ignoring these teachings and engaging in blatant prejudice, or whether its christians who are not quite turning the other cheek and following the hate the sin not the sinner approach.

you will always have people that will use religion to their advantage, if there was no religion they would use something else to their advantage, like soccer hooligans basically using soccer match results as an excuse to show their ugly xenophobia and prejudice.

But you are right, there are many misguided people, who need to be educated about their own faith, and about other faiths :) sadly the rhetoric, the mud slinging, prejudiced publications everywhere have only made more of a mess.

^ I agree. If someone was posting that Christianity does not require one to treat others as equals I would have used that as an example. If this were a soccer BB I would say that a soccer match is no excuse to show their prejudice. But since we are in the unReal king's kingdom and many here claim piousness because of their strict adherence to Islam, I addressed that.

None of the muslims I knew while in India were intolerant of non-muslims.

Almost everything I've read since 9/11 has concluded that islam does not tolerate others.

go figure!

But they are still going to burn in hell, right :rotfl: ? Oh we Muslims are sooo lucky. Really.

If they died as non-muslims. Yes. we have to respect them as humans because that’s our deed.

Anwaar bhai, insaniyat bhi koi cheez hoti hai ke nahi?

bilkul hoti hai, and that is the very reason Islam emphasizes on respect of all humans regardless of their religion for every disbeliever is a potential believer. And it is also a fact that Allah:swt: has promised the fire of hell for whoever dies as a disbeliever. He:swt: warns us in Quran:

:bism:

3:102 O ye who believe! Fear Allah as He should be feared, and die not except in a state of Islam.

^Correct...every Yousuf Youhana is a potential Mohammad Yousuf !!

Right on :slight_smile: that’s the live example.

laughing at words of God even after being muslim does not guarantee that one wont be burning in hell…

but Quran is clear on those who died in a state of ‘shirk’, they r definietely going to burn in hell…
i find this a concern for crying and not for laughing…

Firstly, I never said that I am a perfect representative of Islam, and secondly you are mixing up two different issues here

Your orignal question was :

To which I said “Yes I value other muslims more than non-muslims.”
But Islam is only one criteria, I can respect and value people for so many other reasons too…

You deduced

Great !. Now dont tell me you work for Fox news :rolleyes:

Respecting and admiring someone is one thing and tolerance is something else. It would be nonsnese if you deduce that “since you dont respect them, it actually means you want to kill them or see them inferior”

For example :

I can not and I will not respect the lifestyle of homosexuals. I can not and I will not respect those who humiliate and tortured prisoners by burning their holy books. I can not respect those who kill innocent children, women and men. List is long..

But on the other hand I do not see homoseuals as inferior in any sense. Why should I ? They are human being like me, may be far superior intelectually and more humane. I would appreciate him/her if they pass on some knowledge to me, and would be grateful, but still wont respect their lifestyle

Call me biased, racist, fundamentalist whatever. But thats how mankind works. We all are biased against one group of people or other, whether you accept it or not.

Now the second question which is stated in the title :

*Does Islam teach intolerance?" *

I assume you want to ask "Does Islam teach intolerance against non-muslims"?

To be fair if you read history their are both types of muslim rulers

1. Cruel, unjust, intollerant
  2. Godfearing, progressive, caring and Intelligent.

( I can quote example of both kind, but since ( I assume) you know little about history of Islam, It would be useless )

Since we all are more or less biased, so if I say people of catagory 2 outnumber people of catagory 1. Someone else can reject it and claim that the case was totally opposit. But in my personal view most of the bad rulers in islamic history were cruel for Muslim population

Now what ever the case was, the hardcore fact is that the massive spread of Islam in far and away parts of world, the role of these rulers is marginal; less than 10%, I would say.

Actually, Islam spread in most parts of the world due to efforts of Saints, and trader/ merchents and common muslims of early days. Common sense suggest that they treated people with love and affection and as a result they got impressed by high morals, character and piousness of these muslims.

//but Quran is clear on those who died in a state of 'shirk', they r definietely going to burn in hell....
i find this a concern for crying and not for laughing....//

I find this as the best example for tolerance...

^ I find the above a concern for laughing...and laughing really hard. This is an abrahamic phenomenon...laced with insecurity and a deep sense of vicitimhood.

I felt the same way about him.

I do as well. Crying for those whose are so presumptuous and arrogant that they think others will burn in hell because their belief systems are different - whether that is coming from a fundamentalist Jew, Christian or Muslim.

Well, the simple answer to the question posted in this thread at the beginning would have been....

No.

if it was not Islam's and muslim's tolerance towards non-muslims....then in many places on earth non-muslims would not have even exist let alone greatly florish and prosper.
..................but opposite has been seen in Spain after hundreds of years of muslims rule. No muslim adult or child was left alive to stay in Spain at the end of muslim rule.

Moreover...non-muslims specially jews had a great freedom and prosperity under muslim rule in Spain. Ask a Jew.

Amen to that.

It’s in our Quran and if our own assumptions for such things make us ignore the Quran then it’s called “misguidance.”

//It's in our Quran and if our own assumptions for such things make us ignore the Quran then it's called "misguidance."//

Then accept the fact that Islam teaches intolerance !!!