Is the culture related to region or religion?
Have religions got universal culture for all the regions? say, how will you define Islamic Culture? Is the Islamic culture as followed in Malaysia is at par with culture followed in Saudi Arabia?
Re: Does change in religion automatically lead to change in Culture?
Islamically, certain aspect of life has universal application across the globe which you may call it a culture, i call it a 'way of life'. these practices are derived directly from Qur'aan or Sunna. anything else is a local or acquired Arab culture.
Any examples of practices from Quran that became part of Islamic culture and those which are acquired Arab Culture?
I think culture has got to do more with region where you live, some times the religion gets some aspects of your culture. We can see how people practise Islam all over the world.
Loads of people fall under various religions but they aren't practicing any longer. They do keep the religious names, celebrate religious festivals, follow marriage customs. Unless one assimilates into another culture and gives oneself up to another religion we tend to stick to what we're familiar with.
I still wear pakistani clothes, cook desi food, read urdu books, poetry, watch pakistani TV, celebrate Eid, go to Iftar parties. I dont think one has to change their culture if they change their religion.
I think culture is related to both region and religion. Religion definitely influences a culture, as is seen in many Muslim countries, but region also contributes quite a bit to culture. This can be seen in the manner in which different Muslim countries, despite sharing the same religion, have their own distinct culture.
I also think that just how much religion and region influence a culture varies and depends on the culture though. As such, I don't think a change in religion automatically leads to a change in culture.
I think culture has got to do more with region where you live, some times the religion gets some aspects of your culture. We can see how people practise Islam all over the world.
then why should we were taught in elementary classes that Hindu and Muslims got different styles of living. Their food, their clothing had drastic differences that finally lead to two nations theory.
Islamically, certain aspect of life has universal application across the globe which you may call it a culture, i call it a 'way of life'. these practices are derived directly from Qur'aan or Sunna. anything else is a local or acquired Arab culture.
What do you think is what plays more important role in Indo-Pak Muslims' life style? local culture or culture that was derived from Quran?
If its the former, can we conclude that sub-continent's Muslims were always deen se door? :D
Loads of people fall under various religions but they aren't practicing any longer. They do keep the religious names, celebrate religious festivals, follow marriage customs. Unless one assimilates into another culture and gives oneself up to another religion we tend to stick to what we're familiar with.
Other than nikah / walima ceremony, what is that relates to religious customs if we specifically talk about Muslims weddings in Indo-Pak?
I still wear pakistani clothes, cook desi food, read urdu books, poetry, watch pakistani TV, celebrate Eid, go to Iftar parties. I dont think one has to change their culture if they change their religion.
Aren't Pakistani clothes somewhat different than Indian clothes? What are the factors that affect the designs, etc of clothing then? religion or regional culture?
I think culture is related to both region and religion. Religion definitely influences a culture, as is seen in many Muslim countries, but region also contributes quite a bit to culture. This can be seen in the manner in which different Muslim countries, despite sharing the same religion, have their own distinct culture.
I also think that just how much religion and region influence a culture varies and depends on the culture though. As such, I don't think a change in religion automatically leads to a change in culture.
Don't you think that people follow religion and religious practices where their vested interests are not affected. I was listening to a lecture and it was pointed therin that our tribal culture (KPK and adjacent areas) is religious when it comes to namaz o roza, but they follow their cultural codes when it comes to issues like inheritance rights of ladies.
then why should we were taught in elementary classes that Hindu and Muslims got different styles of living. Their food, their clothing had drastic differences that finally lead to two nations theory.
Food is somewhat related to religions as well as customs of marriages etc. partition occurred, now in a village in Sindh what difference in cultures would you observe between a Muslim and a non muslim
Don't you think that people follow religion and religious practices where their vested interests are not affected. I was listening to a lecture and it was pointed therin that our tribal culture (KPK and adjacent areas) is religious when it comes to namaz o roza, but they follow their cultural codes when it comes to issues like inheritance rights of ladies.
Absolutely. That is what I meant in stating that the extent to which cultures change when they change religions depends on the culture. If the new religion supports the already established cultural beliefs and social codes of the culture, the introduction of the new religion does not change the culture very much. However, if the new religion is drastically different from the culture and its preexisting cultural beliefs and ethics, the culture tends to change quite a bit with the arrival of the new religion.
Any examples of practices from Quran that became part of Islamic culture and those which are acquired Arab Culture?
aap to sab kuchh jaante haiN aur agar nahiiN to kisii maulvii se ruj'oo kareN! :p
What do you think is what plays more important role in Indo-Pak Muslims' life style? local culture or culture that was derived from Quran?
If its the former, can we conclude that sub-continent's Muslims were always deen se door? :D
janaab, aajkal ke zamaane ke musalmaanoN ke kiahii kahne...deen ko mazaaq banaa rakkhaa hai...har banda deen se door rah kar samajhtaa hai k deen ke bahot qareeb hai...deen ke naam par kia kia nahiiN ho rahaa...72 firqe aise hii nahiiN ban gaye. aaj agar ham Ghair Islamii culture ko Islamii culture banaa baiThe to is meN Islam kaa koii qusoor nahiiN...hamaaraa qusoor hai k ham ne Qur'aan aur aHaadees ko chhoR kar na jaane kin kin baabaaoN aur na jaane kin kin qabroN ko poojne lage.
Food is somewhat related to religions as well as customs of marriages etc. partition occurred, now in a village in Sindh what difference in cultures would you observe between a Muslim and a non muslim
nothing at basic level. They all consume daal chawal and wear Ajrak and Sindhi topi. many wedding customs are common. Both communities visit sufi shrines.
Aren't Pakistani clothes somewhat different than Indian clothes? What are the factors that affect the designs, etc of clothing then? religion or regional culture?
well, most of my pakistani clothes are actually from pakistan, which my mom and other relatives bring. Only a brought a couple from here in US, but even those were made in pakistan. Yes there can be some difference, I am not sure, I have never had any clothes from India.
nothing at basic level. They all consume daal chawal and wear Ajrak and Sindhi topi. many wedding customs are common. Both communities visit sufi shrines.
That was my point. There would be some differences dictated by religion which would set them apart, otherwise for a layman the culture of people living in a particular area (disregarding religion) would be the same.
Our culture is much closer to India's than most will admit.. The joint family system in terms of the dil moving in with inlaws.. Can't get much more similar in living style that that and it really isn't an Islamic thing at all.. Also wearing red at weddings, the overall style of the bride (though obviously Pakistanis cover up much more) is far closer to Indian Hindu style than to other Muslims..
Yes. Change in religion does change culture. Take languages like Kashmiri for example, after natives converted they started using 1000s of loan words from persian and arabic in Kashmiri. This was done by the muslims. The usage of many words is different for Pandits and Muslims.. The muslims adapted the arabic script and pandits kept the original Sharada and devanagari script. That way many original words are lost for ever. Change in language is change in culture. Same with Sindhi, it was originally written in a form of Sharada script and then Devanagar. Now I think only Indian Sindhis who migrated use devanagari in their writing. So language which is an important cultural component changed with change in religion. The muslim areas of Afghanistan, Pakistan and Bangladesh were buddhisht dominated regions with some hindus, zoroastrian and animist tribes before the arrival of Islam. What part of buddhist culture do you see there even today as practiced by the people or has the change of culture been complete w.r.t Buddhism?