Listen I get it takes a lot to become a doctor, but I was pretty sure they don't take you into med school and residency if they sense you've got zero class.
I think Desis pursue med school because it's the most familiar path to success. School, school, and more school. Even if you have no social tact and cannot cut it in the real world in terms of getting ahead, you will earn a great salary. That's probably why class is optional lol.
That hospital is just an extension of the Desi craze with doctors. They realllly think its something outta this world and develop vicious personalities due to this ridiculous idea of prestige.
And we are all sioo off topic but I had to give my opinion after reading about something so crazy.
Sigh don't we just wanna get people healthy and send em home. Really hope the gov takes over and the salaries go down then I'll see who does it to "help" people. Then I'll happily make lesser money and help people.
Just boggles the mind... You'll never see a thread on engineer rishtas etcc...
PS: imagine going yo a doctor with diwanas personality. Wonder who even let him in a hospital ;)
I mean shouldn't people look at the inside more than the outside for both girls and boys. It's not like your looks will still be there when you're 60. Then what will matter is not looks or profession but the contents of someone's character.
Boob job to satisfy your doctor husband?? Taubah, this is Islam for people???
Get this nice ad I just saw online on shaadi by a hospitalist in Houston.
[LIST]
- I would appreciate if over age 30 abstain from sending interest, NOT interested in OLD AGED AUNTIES.
Doctor by profession, completed my residency, now working in world famous hospital as an Hospitalist.
I have a good sense of humour and love travelling, My type of girl should be stylish and should know how to carry her.
Rest can be discuss once we communicate
[/LIST]
Hospitalist? Is that what Americans are calling it these days? lol. Conversation se lag raha hai bahar ka doctor hai. What's with the warning above (no one above 30). If there was this range of quality locally i would import from abroad. If you can why not?
well rejecting on personality basis for either boys and girls is fine.
I mean come on butt sir do you think it is fair that guys with certain profession are seen as better than others just because of the job they are in.
depends on the priorities....... some people might be attracted to poets and others to wallstreet types........ but that thread and then this thread makes me lol.........
Hospitalist? Is that what Americans are calling it these days? lol. Conversation se lag raha hai bahar ka doctor hai. What's with the warning above (no one above 30). If there was this range of quality locally** i would import from abroad. If you can why not**?
Or just marry a Muslim of a different race who already lives there..
True but then you might get downgraded in Pakistaniness if you marry a non Pakistani person especially if you're a girl. Especially if someone were to marry an Indian person. It'll probably cause a big cross against your name and could affect your reputation. Your children might not be as goray anymore and might pick up bad indian habits like watching bollywood. Probably easier to marry a white person as they definitely won't impose their culture, no in law issues, won't listen to bollywood songs jo haram hain (unlike western music and movies) and the kids will be fair. (im saying that in sarcasm but there are people here on gs who are against idea of marrying out so this must be what they're afraid of). By importing i was thing of importing Pakistanis from other western countries.
Funny, nobody in my family is interested in marrying business/industrial families because our background, while not very wealthy, is highly educated and we perceive them as being rich but backward and materialistic (showoffs, extravagant etc. no offense to you though). What I mean is that education rates high among us as compared to wealth.
So I guess for business families, money matters. For educated/doctor families, education matters. If you have both, then I dont know, I think that education will still trump wealth.
Remember one thing...the worlds wealthiest and most sought after people are not doctors but business(wo)men. Pull out Forbes or Fortune500 list and you wont find a single doctor...not in the top 100 not in the top 1000 either...
^People who are very wealthy are more likely to go against traditional social norms like marriages within caste, race or even religion.. Most of the (non desi) guys I’ve come across who’d fit into that bracket (and there are plenty here and nearby in central London) go for models, foreign girls etc.
They’re usually a lot LESS bothered than the average desi family when it comes to background, morals and so on..
You’re unusually conservative for someone who claims to be ‘wealthy.’ Never come across one yet who says things like ‘I went back to Pakistan to find a wife because I didn’t want someone Americanized’
What sort of guy from a top business family says something like that lol
That's actually a job title in America - it's a doc that practices only inpatient medicine, since the newer medical models are separating outpatient and inpatient medicine in America. It's not something that's happening in other countries. So it's an American term.
haha, I think those of us rejecting doctors were trying to make the point that not everyone in our desi community is so superficial that they’d instantly accept a doctor rishta even when their other requirements are not met.
My sister is a doctor and she is not a snob like many others in her surroundings whom I’ve come to know. My parents always wanted a doctor husband for my sister. But my sister’s journey has definitely been an enlightening experience for my parents who at one point pushed her to consider guys from her batch whom she really wasn’t interested in.
It took me and my sister a long time to make my parents understand that prestige and income are secondary factors. Religious/mental compatibility are first.
And yes, a guy’s looks are important too!!! What the heck! Why is it only the girl who should be good looking! I wouldn’t want a chibba-kharibba husband. Doctor or not, he should be decent looking and a good conversationalist.