Doctor Rishtas

Doesn’t it peeve you off that every girl and her family is going after a doc’s rishta these days? :halo:

Re: Doctor Rishtas

My daughter refuses to marry a Dr. She has turned down a neurologist, a radiologist and lately someone in cardio. Ppl think she or we are crazy!

Don't worry what people say yaar. Only important thing is your daughter's happiness. If he has no character and is not a family person daactery or doctor banay se kya hoga. Uss se zindagi chalegi...khoobsurat nahi hogi. Doctor matlab yeh thodi ke bahut accha hoga. Assad khud opthalmologist hai and 2nd in command of Al Quaeda is a surgeon or something.
i dislike people who are arrogant because of their doctory.

It's just in people's head. Doctors help people get better, people visit them for help. They are on the receiving end here. It's not easy to become a doctor so that also counts.

Assad, the dude that runs Syria, is an optho guy?

Seriously?

Yes. Once while i was waiting at an airplane i found a book called doctors who are murders or something and it mentioned you know your general physicians and all who have killed people with medications, or knocked off some old patients with delirium who were too annoying.

I did a google search and yes he is one of the dictators who is a doc. He did some of his training in the UK

The ophthalmologist dictator: Syria’s Bashar al-Assad - The Week

To Know a Tyrant: Inside Bashar al-Assad’s Transformation From ‘Reformer’ to Killer - Heather Horn - The Atlantic

Ayman Al Zawhiri second in command of Al Quaeda is an Egyptian surgeon

http://discernthetime.com/messageboard/showthread.php?t=20588

And Anjem CHoudary, leader of banned fanatic organisation Al Majiroun was a failed medical student who later became a lawyer. He regularly holds protests against Western democracy, protests against british soldiers and demands shariah for UK. Somewhere subconsciously i feel this failure is affecting his decision to fanatic. Like he couldn’t meet his parents expectations and now he has found this outlet to reclaim lost pride. He was also a womanising, hedonistic person but has turned 360. Easily the most hated guy among Muslims in the UK for the attention he seeks and bad image he creates and also many non-muslims. Apparently he trained the guy who beheaded the british soldier on london streets during broadlight and was pictured with him at their past protests. He did not even really condemn the event in an interview after.

It’s really a disgrace and i guess we like to keep it hush but there are a few murderous docs, like their are greedy lawyers and the sort. Maybe not similar in number but they do exist. You wonder how they passed medicine and ethics or something.

so ninjamummy feel proud of your daughter she is choosing substance over superficial status. :) We know which is more pleasing to Allah(swt). Feel free to mention the names ive quoted if anyone gives you any crazy looks. Status does not make the man.

I turn down doctor rishtas too. Most of them are arrogant and boring.

Bahut acha karti hain. JO Empty white suits hain jinki personality nahi hai should be rejected.

I turned down a few Dr rishtas too.. Just didn’t like the pleats in their pants! Can’t marry a guy with a bad fashion sense! :snooty:

Ppl are rejecting doctors left, right and center. I thought everyone was saying there are no rishtas.

Do you accept every rishta that comes your way? No, you have to see if there is compatabilty, do you mesh etc.

Having met the Dr rishtas that came our way, TBH, they were boring men. Or if one prospective it made it past the first few meetings; the wants and want nots begin to surface.

It boggles my mind when a med Dr. born and raised in the US wants a wife who wears hijab, will cook and clean and take care of the house (this was Dr. Radiologist). She cannot work, and since he has studied hard and has had his fun wants to settle down and begin having children ASAP.

DR. Neurologist was the only son with too many sisters. They wanted was a nice, educated but keep her mouth shut type of gal, who will look after his mother!

Cardio guy too old.

My daughter has maintained she is not interested in marrying a Dr, and the lifestyle she may have to choose for his career. Of course, others think you are nuts for not taking the rishta any further.

As a mother , I want financial stability for my daughter, but will not force or encourage her to marry someone she has no interest in.
S

Nobody in my family is interested in Doctors...it is perceived as marrying "down". We are all businessmen and marry into other industrialist families. One of my cousins owns a hospital where he employs the same doctors (by the dozen) you people are going after left and right....

you are an example of the perfect desi mother who follows her beliefs/traditions but is understanding of her daughter's needs and will not sacrifice her needs for community expectations.

Funny, nobody in my family is interested in marrying business/industrial families because our background, while not very wealthy, is highly educated and we perceive them as being rich but backward and materialistic (showoffs, extravagant etc. no offense to you though). What I mean is that education rates high among us as compared to wealth.

So I guess for business families, money matters. For educated/doctor families, education matters. If you have both, then I dont know, I think that education will still trump wealth.

Yeah! Doctors are so disgrace to mankind.:(

But think about free medical advice right there at home for his MIL, BIL, FIL and SIL.... :D

Here in the U.S. any doctor wants nothing less than a doctor or maybe a highly educated businessman with money. Doctors are too overvalued in our culture. If you are not a doctor then you are too dumb to become one. All other top health majors like dentists, optometrists and pharmacists were not able to get good scores on the MCAT so they did other majors. Some doctors are humble but a lot are arrogant.

Actually in USA doctors are considered demigods.

Insurance in US is getting expensive. It makes sense to have Dr Bahoo or Dr Damad :chai:

wait... isn't it the other way around?, I read someone complaining about how doctors are always on call, during the day, middle of the night, 84 hour work weeks sometimes... or does this apply only on surgeons.

I know someone, their dad is a neurosurgeon and he is hardly around.