do you consider yourself 'desi'?

Re: do you consider yourself ‘desi’?

wah bhai ji khush kardia.. quotes ki jagha bhi dawain he likh detay.. jesay baqi sub awam un nas ki samajh say bala bala guzra hay, ye bhi guzar jata.. :hehe:

Yes. Daisi is the word for natives of South Asia.

Yes, you should go around telling folks that you’re a daisy, TS.

Never seen it spelled like that before.

Isn’t it more appropriate though, phonetically ?

lollzzz…vaise LOLLZ kii Urdu kia hogii? :smiley:

Khe-Khe. :chai:

yaa, hehe? :smiley:

hanso aaj itna k is shor main
sada siskion ki sunai na day

One sentence and one sentence only.

What if the Pakistani is not brown but pink:wub:, blue:(, green:D, white, black or yellow:) should they still refer to themselves as brown? Native americans, hispanic people etc can be brown as well it gives no idea of origin.
Maybe you should educate yourself on the origins of the word “desi” and the connection it has with Pakistan’s past.
I’m not going to post any more long comments on these topics as I think I have dedicated enough time to this cause of getting people to look beyond their common misconceptions. You do know Sri Lankans, Bangladeshis, Nepalis etc also refer to themselves as desis. If you don’t want to be referred to as desi that’s your legitimate choice, but why brown just refer to yourself as a Pakistani like people of any other nationality refer to their country.

ok maybe 8 including this one. :slight_smile:

Only on Eid…

deshi comes from the word desha which is Sanskrit for “region, province, country.”

Why replace that with the English term native when the foremost world-renowned Sanskrit scholar Panini came from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa in ancient times. Pakistani and Indian gov has made stamps for this scholar. A Sanskrit facility, named after this scholar, in religious Varanasi was made by bringing soil from Pakistan because that is the birthplace for this scholar. Egypt does not disown it’s past of pyramids or Iran it’s Zoroastrians and i’m glad Pakistani gov does not either by honouring Panini.
Pakistani soil for dream Kashi temple - News Oneindia

There’s nothing wrong with not wanting to be called desi if you don’t feel a connection with the term but then why call oneself Harappan, when that stands for Indus valley civilisation and this term led to the name India?

Who cares?

Who do you refer to as “Indianised” Pakistanis when the term India comes from Indus Valley? How does “brown” have a more specific meaning than desi? Also, Sanskrit is as much a Pakistani ancient heritage as it is Indian (see post above). It’s not just an Indian or Hindu thing. Also, not all Indians are bad nor are all Hindus bad. There are Hindus in Pakistan as well as well as** Nepal**, which is the largest % wise population of Hindus, and also a country which offers Pakistanis visa on arrival. So just because some people acknowledge commonalities does not make them less Pakistani then others.

People who feel strong enough to mention indians/indianised in such threads. It’s a perfectly legitimate question about desis but why mention Indians when Sri Lankans, Bangladeshis, Nepalis etc also use the term desi. Or Asian in UK and South asian in US when referring to a group from originating from subcontinent.
I don’t care. People are free to call themselves what they feel comfortable but i will show my support to those other south asians who recognise some common affinity/similarities between us and don’t mind being grouped as desis/asians/south asians like other nationalities such as Europeans. It doesn’t mean it’s all one country just like Europeans have their own separate country-based identity. That’s all i have to say.

Hmm…so what? This is so funny…almost sounds a bit nasty.

Most “pakis”? Do you even know what that word historically represents? LOL.

This happens with a lot of Indian-haters.

Please stop the Indian hate already…apparently people are soooo secure they cannot seem to stop thinking about the Indians, how they might get mistaken for an Indian, or smell like an Indian, or cook like an Indian or look like an Indian.

Pehle “Paki” se dhang ke Pakistani to banjao…then worry about the petty stuff.

Will you change your mind if people here knew the history and the term desi still didnt bother them? Will it annoy you even more to find out that historically we are more Indians than anything else? Will it just give you a heart attack to know that your ancestors were Hindu and they shared a happy history with other Hindus at some point in time. You are nothing but a self-hating desi. There…I said it!

I am a proud Desi :barbie:

I consider myself a British American of south Asian heritage, …now piss off you “desis”

;->