do you consider yourself 'desi'?

Re: do you consider yourself ‘desi’?

x2 have a record of using word “desi” here on GS…

Also Jacque arse, ass clown, plonker, wanker, rat *******, jackassery and asshattery, Bukina faso, 75% bachelor etc. glad you are keeping track of stuff for my memoirs amigo :slight_smile:

LOL at this op

First thread on gs; how to get a paki girlfriend for timepass.

Goes on to say if someone met up with a female family member of his 1 on 1 he would get angry.

Now this crap.

Hahaaha I hope youre a troll. Because if all of this is the real you, you are one dumb fellow.

Some posts here are just hilarious, ‘origin’ of word desi? Theres not one word have in common but hundreds of words, chalo maro khalo nahalo whats their origin… nevermind. I’ve heard ‘apnay’ or ‘apna’ never heard desi in this context. I just say Pakistani for Pakistani things and walaiti for the rest of the world.

I’m a pakistani living in pakistan. I have no idea why I’m even in this thread.

I’ve heard apnay being used by my UK friends. They also say "oh my days " as well. That isn’t restricted to background. I think in UK you guys say asians for all who fall under Pakistani, Indians etc. I think US and maybe Australia they say desi/south asians.

I’ll get back to you on the origins of those words :slight_smile:

I think it might be because of me. My comment here may have come on your profile page and that made you sufficiently curious to check out the thread. :slight_smile: Also i’m a Delhite and you’re a Lahori so we have that Mughalayi historical connection. Now this newly coined word Mughalayi could one day even replace desi. jk..

Is there a common name people living in India, Pakistan etc refer to people living in the region? Like subcontinentals or something like that.
Also, one day you may have plans to travel abroad for visit even and good to know some of the slang of those abroad :slight_smile:

Maybe i even caused Bella Rouge to visit as well :stuck_out_tongue:

No. I consider myself English Asian. I detest the word “desi” being referred to me. It irks me.

yes

Naah, I actually avoid people thinking of me as one.

Call me a Pakistani, asian, or even paki. I can easily work around them.

An fyi, using “Paki” is taken negatively only in the British empire, should essentially have nothing to do with anyone living elsewhere.

Pak means pure/clean in urdu, also the first word in the pakistani national anthem.