Do philosophical theories

Re: Do philosophical theories

yes you're right.

Now is it perfect? No. Do I agree with France ban on hijab? Absolutely not.

But is it a step in right direction. Yes. IMHO.

I dont agree with hijab ban anywhere. and i dont consider it a right step in any direction because why shouldn't someone be allowed to practice what they want as long as it doesnt harm? hijab doesn't harm anyone so why is it right to ban it?

bella you misunderstood me. Let me explain.

whenever there is a debate re secular vs religion in govt those opposing secular govt bring up the following

1).France ban on hijab
2).Secular govts have promoted war.

I stated in my post I am AGAINST hijab ban. Then my statement "is it perfect" referred to secular govt. NOT hijab ban.

what I was trying to state was secular govt is not perfect. Case in point the hijab ban. But that secular govt is step in right direction. As opposed to govt based on religion.

Apologies for not clarifying what "it" was in that sentence.

:smack: sounds like you DO have either problem reading and comprehending or just looking the reasons to argue.

I will write point by point.

1- I showed no intolerance to anyone. Merely stated homosexuality is wrong.

2- I never said you are hippie or or have drug problem. :no: I said you need to come out of the time frame when homosexuality and these acts were considered the ‘norm’ of the good part of the society. TIme has changed. New information is coming against homosexuality.

3- I never said I care who is homosexual or not. I just say homosexuality is wrong.

4- You are comparing polygamy to homosexuality? That is not a disease of mind or abnormality. Simply anatomy book will tell you that. But you fail to acknowldged it several times.
Discuss polygamy somewhere else however. Not in a mood to open another discussion.

5- You made an offensive remark of comparing “Islamic way of living” with homosexuality. Not that it would be right, why selected Islamic way? Why not Hinduism etc.?

Read carefully: Do not compare religion or religious way of living with homosexuality.

4- I don’t need religious view on homosexuality to make my case. There are many reasons why homosexuality is wrong and science has not proven it to be right.

It was science before 1970’s or 1980’s which said homosexuality is a disease of mind. It is science NOW whoich says homosexuals can be changed. I gave you the example of Robert Spitzer above, he kept changing his views and apologized for his flip flop positions. He now asks his study in 2001 should not be used as a reference. :smiley:

Who os to say if he is really right or wrong when?

My point is that science and scientists are not to be followed or worshiped…like you have been doing.

5- There is no hatred for homosexuality here. No one can hate ‘diseased’ people.

6- Bestiality and pediphilia are also diseases of mind.

7- There was no scientific reason cited why APA removed homosexuality from lists of mental diseases. Only arguments and examples which anyone can give.

8- There is no gene found as homosexuality gene and even if it is found it will simply make the case of it being a genetic disease.

9- Some belive it starts from the womb of the woman. Again a speculation.

10- Then comes “hormonal argument”. Again speculations.

Let’s face it. science is confused and scientists are simply ever changing their positions about a lot of things scientific.

Every so often they bring new “theories” on social issues and people start believing them.

11- I never said you hate Muslims or your relatives etc. So don’t make it up. I said " Why the selective hatred for Islam or Christianity" as religions by comparing Islam to homosexuality or belittling Christianity site?? You could have given example of Hinduism (and still be wrong)…like I said above. :wink:

12- regardless homosexuals can be changed or not, the act is still wrong.

13- You can’t even differentiate between irreligious and non-religious and want me to continue with you? I have no interest to go further with you…sorry.

14- Lastly stop copying me, it makes me flattered too much.

**P.S. I am still looking for your answer on sodomy. Will read your posts again, if I missed it.

Please answer if you think sodomy is right. I am not asking you hate sodomites. Nor I care if someone engages in this activity in a private room.**

yes times have changed. gay people are accepted in most countries and gay marriage is also legal in many countries. homosexuality is not a crime in most countries either.

Re read my statement. **i said, i dont consider it normal, but just because someone doesn’t agree with polygamy doesn’t make it wrong. I have no right to call it wrong, even though i dont agree with it. **I cannot dictate how someone should live their life as long as it doesn’t affect me.

Did you not see the sentence about sikhs telling their child to wear a turban and how that is NOT an abuse, just like telling children to live islamically is not abuse. you conveniently only cut and paste my posts out of context to fit your agenda. nice strategy!! your twisted post earlier suggested that if a child is not comfortable with their parents lifestyle, its automatically an abuse LOL. so i proved you wrong by saying many children dont like growing up in religious household, yet none of that is abuse. please learn to read properly and not take certain lines out of context. very malicious indeed.

science has proven you wrong many times im afraid, but it’s okay, you can continue to believe whatever you want.

majority of doctors dont agree with this. APA, and all other psych organizations in North america, south america, Uk, and the rest of europe disagree with you.

science doesn’t demand worship. But your logic doesn’t have science or religious basis.

and you dont think you’re being offensive to homosexuals? or is it okay to be offensive towards them?

homophobia is also a disease.

they removed it because they found it to be normal variant. you can disagree all you want.

You are partly right that science does not have answer to everything, and some things do change over time. however, there is overwhelming evidence that it’s not a choice. i have shown plenty of scientific studies in the other thread which you either never read or ignored.

i am not going to take scientific arguments which are based of a faith based website. simple. give scientific links, religious based websites are obviously biased towards religious theories.

you can think it’s wrong. i am not here to change your mind on what you should think is right or wrong. im simply stating the facts regarding choice part.

If you’re asking my opinion on this matter, I think it’s a normal behavior, nothing wrong with it as long as its between consenting adults. In the end, God will decide everyones fate, so its best if we leave the judgment to God and just focus on our own deeds.

What makes things right and wrong is not based on normality - or trends based on society ... Societies can be corrupt, debasing, vulgar and so on ... Right and Wrong needs to be based on universal unchanging principles ...

No they are not.

Gayism proponents live in a bubble.

Sodomy is wrong.

82 countries where homosexuality is illegal | 76 CRIMES

homophobia is a made up slur. If someone believs it then this so called ‘disease’ is far more common than homosexuality itself.

If child porn lovers, incestuous and animal sex lovers make organizations, some people will try to find the reasons and will try to make these acts acceptable and the idiots and so called scientists, will issue their ‘fatwas’ in favor of these acts.

so sodomy = homosexuality? interesting..

Yaar monk, 2nd or 3rd episode of new Cosmos talked about that how we human, in last few thousand years, evolved the wolves into every known breed of dog. Dog did not even exist till few thousand years ago. Ab iss se baraa suboot kya hoga ke evolution is real

so what do you propose :hmmm:

according to me it’s not faith, i’ll get into that once your mind is ready to hear it.

but youre ok with other faith-based things…but evolution (which is not) is problematic?

Interesting or surprising?

The broad definition of species is when two living organisms can mate and produce offspring successfully then they are of same species.

(The definition has been changing over time)

Dogs, coyotes and wolves can cross breed each other so belong to same species. Hence no change is species. Just cross breeding and not really evolving.

You are incorrect. It's NOT interesting. It's fact.

Homophobia is not a made up slur, it is very much real. there are plenty of people out there who show hatred and intolerance towards homosexuality.
considering there are 193 countries, 110 countries donot consider it a crime, so majority of countries donot consider it a crime which is the right step towards tolerance.
you can say sodomy is wrong, and you have every right to hold on to your beliefs. I donot have to agree with your statement and I donot consider it wrong.

Wow species interbreeding and crossbreeding is now called evolution. Broadening definitions idiotically, aren't we?

Oh yaar khuda ke waastay, tum tou aqalmand aadmi ho. Cross breeding tou oss waqt hoti hai if you already have a dog and a wolf. Two wolves cannot “crossbreed” and produce a dog :smack:

Did you think I was not prepared for your response?

No need to go to the number of countries, those countries where this act is considered illegal have larger population of the world.

Including India and Pakistan etc.

Even in China where they removed this being illegal, there is still no encouragement of homosexuality allowed.

You are mixing tolerance to recognition of it being wrong or right.

Why so much energy for homosexuality alone, when bestiality is not different from it and there are countries which allow it?

Zoophilia and the law - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Very clear that societies of this world are completely confused, misguided and don’t know what is right and what is wrong. Just like so many people like you. :slight_smile:

It is interesting that homophobes protest being called as such. While they throw the kitchen sink at homosexuals. The evil part is when they equate homosexuality with pedophilia.

Either such folks are dumb. Or plain evil. Can't figure out which. (I think I can).

Incest may be, but child porn and bestiality are not a victim less crime. So you cant gel that in this example.

your posts are getting more and more hilarious…
I am misguided yet you are making more illogical claims that make no sense. comparing homosexuality to pedophiia and all other horrendous crimes!?! i mean really, this has to be the world’s lamest argument.
Most advanced countries donot consider it a crime, and you know this very well. so many countries in europe have legalized gay marriage and thats a fact. you’re giving example of china, india, pakistan where NO one has rights. you really want to talk about human right situation in those countries?? how many modern advanced countries have made it illegal? very few. US, Uk, canada, most of S.america, ALL of europe (including muslim majority countries such as Turkey and the Balkans) have all legalized it.
most of the countries where it is not legal are mainly the ones that already rank very low in terms of human rights.

it’s also quite interesting how these ‘confused’, ‘misguided’ countries that consider homosexuality as perfectly legal and normal, are the ones where MOST people from ALL over the world want to migrate to.. hmmm i wonder why that is.. welcome to reality :slight_smile:

Hilarious in my opinion is wrong choice of words. The idea expressed in the post is not hilarious. It is indecent, immoral and evil. And should be called out as such.

Equating homosexuality with bestiality and pedophilia should expose the poster as bigoted. No mincing of words here. Need to call a spade a spade.

One can have opinion on whether some behavior is right or wrong. There can be genuine difference of opinion. But to toss such filthy language against a whole set of people reveals the darkness of individual.

Name and shame they say. Here's prime candidate for that.