do mothers always know best?

Re: do mothers always know best?

The amount of hypocrisy is pretty astonishing, the mother is applying eye liner and carrying on with all sorts of bizarre ways and you get this cheering about where’s the harm, the baby will survive, (yes the babies can and do end up* surviving *a lot of other dodgy and idiotic tricks… how about we all go home and try and continue with them? But thats not the point I'm concerned with, the point is that if you turn the tables, imagine if that wretched creature that goes by the name of MIL was doing this to this her grandchild, I bet this thread would’ve turned into a fish market with so called enlightened and modern posters tearing apart the actions of MIL and equating applying of an eyeliner with some dangerous heavy duty safety hazards … and of course with the good old token bigoted bashing of the entire “desi” race. I find that quite hilarious and sad at the same time.

I don't know how 'desi' minds over here roll, but where I live...they do say that try to grow up before you take on the responsiblity of raising another human being, perhaps thats something what the mother in question should consider, judging her behaviour through the OP's account.

As with baby blues/PPD, you know in the West, one of the many reasons why this type of depression occurs and sustains is due the fact that often new mothers find no adequate help and support from friends and family, they feel incredibly alone in the process of rasing a child. So instead of throwing hissy fits and appearing bitterly unthankful, I guess some desi women somewhere along the line should appreciate the attention, genuine concerns and care they recieve by their family members. You only need to experience or just witness the despair, loneliness , helplessness, and the sad little state of some of the first time mums to realise how fortunate you are that there is someone to tell you with utmost respect and affection that "beta hold the baby like this...or aisse nahi aisse." Show some respect to your elders at least...

^ can't disagree with that.....

and thread has been hijacked by jolie ji and her great ever-present anger. kya bakwas hai.. lussi pio, behenji. kuch nai hua hai..

LOL...no I'm not angry, I probably do sound quite pissy but thats because I write in an extremely rushed and colloquial manner which probably sounds normal in speech but in words its a competelty different story I guess....anyway all the members are too familiar and cosy with each other whereas I just treat it a message board hence my indifferent attitude stands out...

Ok it’s so funny when you mention that the mother makes a face. Reminds me of a 2 yr old getting reprimanded for doing something naughty.

As for advice I think you should let it be even if you guys mean well. Give her some space and she’ll come around. The first couple of weeks are very tough on a first time mom and I remember having a couple of meltdowns and lashing out at my mom and my husband :bummer:

Ego is a very bad thing.

When I see someone doing something ‘weird’ to their kid, I just give advice and ignore any faces made etc.

And I know that giving birth is hard and it imbalances your hormones and emotional stability and women should be given space yabyabyoo

But some women start behaving like cows. You know how cows behave when they give birth. Even looking at their calf makes them furious :expressionless:

Lets give her the benefit of the doubt, maybe as a new mom she is finding it hard to adjust to the changes hence her mood swings n all but what the hell is this her saying that she will do what her mom advices her? Kyun bhai…mom kya bachon ki specialist hai? :halo: he’s the father and he has every damn right to step in, stop her/advice her if she is going wrong somewher with the kid.

Look, she is the mother, the parent. The responsibility/ownership is hers.

so just stay away from these types. afterall unn ka bacha hai, woh chahay trash main daal de
her baby, she can do whatever she wants, and the fact that she loves the kid more than anyone else should be enough reason for you to to not doubt her decision (even to trash the kid). you still need not bother with it.

I don’t know how literally to tak your post. But I disagree.

You can’t do whatever you want, only because it is your child. A child is a human being and not a toy. You can do what you want with your Baby Born doll, but not with your own baby. Your child is your responsibility and not your property.

Let’s say if I with my dumb head one day decide to take my new born child to baby yoga (Re; Baby Yoga Video is Real and Real Scary & It’s my B- Day. - YouTube) then I hope my husband, my mother, or anyone for the sake of it, kicks me so hard that I never get such a weird idea ever again.
Or waxing your baby, because it’s a bit hairy, so that later she will have less body hai. Example taken right from this forum :chai:

I know this example is extreme. But since you mentioned the mother can do anything to her child if she thinks its good for the child, because she loves the child more than anything else.

Raising a child (especially if it is your first one) comes whit ups and downs. You make mistakes, and you learn from them. But some mistakes are so dumb that they should have never been made in the first place. And interference from others can prevent from making those mistakes.

you know parents who abuse their children love them too. Does it make their abusing right?

Isn't this a form of abuse as well?

She clearly said I l do wht my mum says so this shows she on,u trust her mum no one else so giving her advice means talking to walls so now it's upto MIL she ants to continue or not or create a big fuss in house

My friend used to put make up on her newborn...I found that really weird and stupid but hey it's her son and he's 6 years old and healthy and all now.

Give me a break.

Sorry I found it funy make up n on boy omg :smack2:

My mommy used to give me Pepsi in a bottle. I’d say that HELLS YEAH!!!..she knew what she was doing!!! Cuz that was fun!!! :hinna:…memories.

Letting me n my sister wear bright red lipstick as kids for pictures…so that we could give Toddler in Tiara’s a run for their money…eh…yeah didn’t know what she was doing there. But heck, what I was thinking??? I looked downright scary. I’m not doing that with my daughters in the future…I’m gonna reserve that for my sons instead. :slight_smile:

^ hey, we wore bright lipstick for pictures as well...

I would love to but you live too far away.

It may be wrong but its still how some show their love for their children. In their mind they think its right :stuck_out_tongue:

I hav ebeen pondreing over this post the entire weekend, and have tried several times to respond, but it wasnt working so well through an iphone. So first thing at work, while its still fresh, as it can be, in my head... I am going to respond.

I dont see how this thread is about MIL vs DIL or anything of the sort. Its simply about whether a mother knows best. And most certainly, not at all times. Yes, we have the best intentions, but sometimes our intentions are a bit obsecured, no doubt about that.

What I was going on about, leaving the mother alone, and giving her space, has nothing to do with MIL bashing or not respecing the elders.

I remember being a first time Mum, and having to deal with my mum, MIL, sister in laws and all other ladies who had been mothers previously, and even those that hadnt been.

Everyone had advice from how to feed the baby, to dressig, to bathing and what not... and clearly, people thought I was goign to harm my bubba... it may not be the case, but this is how it comes across when you havent slept for more than half a dozen hours in days, when you are trying to understand the bubba and trying for the bubba to get you... everything seems quite psychotic..

khair, the point i was going to make was that, most mothers (and yes thi sincludes MILs as well) have been through the same situation. Infact, if you have good enough relationship with your MIL, she will outrightly tell you how bad it was for her too... as did my MIL and Mum... so, taking that into considersation, you would think, both mothers would understand what you may be going through as a new mum.. and just leave you alone... or at least give some sort of space and benefit of the doubt.

Where does respect for new mothers come into play?? We're not all out there to harm our babies. Yes, we look pyscotic, but it doesnt mean we're totally screwed ... seriously.

So, lets just keep the MIL vs DIL argument out of this... lets leave the respect for elders bit out of this too. Cus it has nothing to do with that. And I wish people understood this.

I Hate... and i repeat... i HATE how when a new bubba comes into the world... the world forgets what the mother is going through, and its all about nano, dado., dada, nana... phuppo, khala... everyone else's feelings.. Uff.

I feel sorry for you if your family gave you a really tough time during the very early phase of motherhood, looks like you are still quite bitter about that but we need to move on from that and focus on the issues on this thread.

This thread is not about Nano, dado, phuppho, chachi, chacha, neighbours and milkman giving their unsolicited advice on random insignificant things and hurting the feelings and the ego of a new mum.

For people who bothered to read more than just a title, this thread is about baby girl suffering from UTI and the*** doctor ***has advised the new mum to wash the baby instead of using the wipes, a practice also endoresed by the MIL. The new mother makes faces at her MIL in front of the guests (clearly this has nothng to do showing respect to your elders?) over her suggestion, her behaviour has caused an argumentative exchange between her and her husband again in front of the guests. The OP is a medical student who is currently staying with that family and according to her account (not assumptions based on one's own experiences and gurdges) the mother does not appear to be suffering from baby blues or PPD, the enviorement at home is pretty individualistic and low key, the MIL is not an interfering type nor the guests . And to say 'Ill only listen to my own mother) in a joint family in front of your husband and his mother doesn't indicate saas bahu tensions than I guess it just make the new mother just plain immature and disrespectful...hardly worthy of any serious sympathy.

As with new mothers becoming psychotic and whatnot, I guess that explains why there are awful lot number of new mothers under Social Services' watchlist here in UK, I don't if that lady is unfortunate or lucky that she's in Pakistan.

I don't why I'm even commenting on this issue, its probably all resolved for all we know...but the text book replies can so be cringe worthy and hard to ignore.

Seriously they forget:naak: even the husbands:teary1: during pregnancy everyone takes care of u so much..but once baby is here, when u r in a worse state/health and need help/care/support more than before, they forget u:mad: