Do gays deserve the same rights and access to benefits as the straights?

Re: Do gays deserve the same rights and access to benefits as the straights?

sorry. i think your statement in red (quote part) are unwanted and were written before reading whole of my post. I’m addressing practicing Muslims only in this thread. Not interested to indulge with other group here. I have no issue with gays getting basic human rights and I think the basic right that we know from scriptures (Quran) was preaching and conveying them message of God for forgiveness if they rectify themselves.

I never say that I have problem in handshaking with gays or inviting them to my home in normal course. My problem is support for the institutionalization and their recognition as spouse, for which I can’t get authenticity from my religion.

Your bringing up example of the prophet and following him is also flawed when you publicly support gay marriages which is no doubt a sin in Islam. Give me references from scriptures which advocate such views. I don’t say I have authority to go against such marriages, but when we are called to give an opinion whether gays should get spouse recognition, I will say ‘NO’ based on scripture I follow, no matter how much, you play with words. Bringing prophet’s life in between (which otherwise doesn’t advocate for institutionalizing sins in the name of tolerance) is not convincing. Being Kind and being devoid of clear cut teachings of your religion are two different things and if you don’t teach this to your kids, then its really shame. Don’t interfere in their lives, but don’t authenticate sin in the name of kindness.

I am also addressing practicing Muslims…Muslims who actually feel and understand the essence of Islam.

Sorry if I offended you but I don’t support the bashing of any type of people - doesn’t matter who or what they are. My Islam doesn’t allow that.

No one here is advocating for sin - we are advocating for equality which is allowed. Unless you’d like to be held accountable to other people for every sin you commit or marrying someone you’d like to marry, its a little hard to believe this perspective.

I am not saying homosexuality is correct - Islam doesn’t support it. But I am saying people need to stop thinking they are above the laws of Allah and the teachings of the Prophet saw.

And I think I am out…I don’t believe in imposition of my beliefs on other people.

You know what. this thread is a sequel to imposition of gays their ‘support gay marriages’ on a religious baker. sequel like ‘Alpha bravo Charlie’ was a sequel of ‘Sunehre Din’.

I’m also out :smiley:

Reha, first of all, let me clarify I’ve nothing against you. Secondly, we both are on the same page that we should follow the non-aggressive examples of the prophets. What I disagree with is your opinion that we can’t condemn something which Allah condemned before us. The Prophet SAWS, was also a mere human being like all other messengers. The Quran, which is also a book of criterion, meaning that it makes clear what is right and wrong…was sent for mere human beings like us. So, if we repeat what Allah has said in the Quran, there is no gunnah in that.

Just yesterday I heard a tafseer in which the speaker said that the intolerance/arrogance even among us Muslims is such that we get mad at others for even giving reminders and guidance. The speaker said that your awaaz is not a talwaar…and he gave examples of how the various prophets did not use violence…but they had the duty to remind/guide. Nowadays if one even gently guides/reminds others to pray namaz…they get angry and tell you to bugger off and look at your own deeds. In this tafseer, the speaker said that we will be asked by Allah if we guided others and an example was given oh how on the Day of Judgment one’s neighbor will put forth a case against them. The accused will say to Allah that I have not stolen from my neighbor’s possessions not have I hurt anyone from his family. They accuser will agree that yes, you didn’t steal from me nor hurt my family, but you saw me doing wrong and you did not guide me.

I admit that it is not within me to go around stopping gay people from committing homosexuality, but I should at least be able to admit that I don’t condone gay marriages because it’s declared a sin by Allah. I understand it would make no difference in laws allowing gay marriage, but can I not even be respectfully honest about my religious beliefs? If I sugar coat them, I believe I’ll be held accountable by Allah for inventing things about rulings which He has been very clear about.

So, I do not agree with your view that why are “mere” human beings telling others what is right and wrong. In that case, none of us should guide our parents, siblings, kids, friends, etc etc. None of the Muslims in this thread are going to act with aggression toward the gay community, but we should not be chided for saying what the Quran says. That’s wrong. Honestly, it seems that Goray Christian laug have more confidence than us…un k apnay laug un ko bolne se mana nahi karte…and look at our fellow Muslims who get upset should we repeat a condemnation that is in the Quran. And if you’re going to say that none of us is perfect…well life is a growing process…faith is a developmental process. There’s no condition ya sharth stating that thou must be a a perfect Mussalman in order to share what the Quran, a book written for the guidance of “mere” human beings says.

I will emphasize again that being honest about Allah’s rulings in the Quran does NOT mean that one will violate laws of the country protecting the gay community. One can be honest about their religion’s rulings and STILL manage respect toward others and adherence of laws.

Thanks for putting this in proper way. :jazak:

In all seriousness, wrt post 84 claim this thread is not a sequel to the thread re “imposition of gay marriage” idea on “religious baker”.

This thread is not about gay marriage. Neither is it about religion.This thread is purely about what is stated in post 1. Any confusion caused or being created is unfortunate.

You need to chill, I was just expressing my disagreement with one aspect of Reha’s post. Also, I have told you before that Islam is a way of life that encompasses many aspects of life and you need to understand that religion will shape/influence the members’ opinions. That is why, despite the fact that many posters believe that gays should have basic rights, they are not going to say that homosexuality is normal or express approval of it; that’s where their religion comes in. Just because you keep religion separate from discussions, doesn’t mean that other members MUST follow your example. Live n let live, right? I hope so.

RV. I had not read ur post. I was referring to post 84. Too many misunderstandings. Also, I never stated one CAN NOT discuss religion in this thread. I was only trying to state the thread was not abt religion. In fact in one of the posts i had stated No problem bringing religion in. And I offered my comment on this is why religion should not be part of governance.

Ab rehne bhi do. Bohut arguments ho gaya bhai.

The question the OP asked was if equal rights should be extended to gays as well. Nowhere did they mention if it was right to do so ACCORDING TO ISLAM. If I’m wrong and I’ve misread the question the OP asked please let me know. I’m not bashing him for his religious views Most people on this forum are Muslim and we all know where Islam and many other religions stand regarding homosexuality, that isn’t the question raised here at all. It’s just a set of people who should be treated the same as everyone else.

I think the difference of opinion is basically right here:

My stance is…I don’t believe in stopping people with my words or verbally discouraging anyone. I believe in actions - positive actions influence the worst of the worst to change their ways and accept what is right.

People may consider this apologetic but in that case…they’d also be calling our own Prophet (saw) apologetic - and He wasn’t. I am not sure when the meaning of the word Islam had changed to something other than peace. When it became okay to be anything but loving human beings. But that’s not the issue we’re discussing here.

Condemning is fine but I don’t know of any ahadith in which the Prophet openly condemned anyone. Does anyone here? We know homosexuality is wrong…but we also know that freedom is right. People have been able to renounce Islam in His lifetime and were not to be terrorized nor denied any basic human rights.

The basic difference here is that I don’t believe in just saying “homo’s are wrong”. If Islam is a way of life…then where is the spirit of Islam? Where is the acceptance we are taught? Nowhere anymore.

On the authority of Abu Sa’eed al-Khudree (ra) who said:

I heard the Messenger of Allah (saw) say, “Whoso- ever of you sees an evil, let him change it with his hand; and if he is not able to do so, then [let him change it] with his tongue; and if he is not able to do so, then with his heart — and that is the weakest of faith.”
[Muslim]

hahahahaha. Gusaaa

Jawab jab nahin hota to batteesi hoti hai :slight_smile:

This is **not **answer - I asked for references about the Prophet (saw) condemning any type of people.

Please provide ahadith showing his condemnation of a certain type of people.

if you believe homosexuality is wrong, then i dont see how you can justify treating someone who is doing wrong as if they did nothing wrong. daz hypocrisy 101.

Believing in more than one God in Islam is also wrong - we don’t treat people that way do we?

Islam permits people who dont want to believe in it to live and believe in what ever gods they want. Islam also clearly states punishment by death for homosexuality. See the difference yet?

Let me Say it one more time for all You guys and Gays… We will never let You Practise Homosexuality in Muslim countries… Now u will say “hi listen, it is already happening in muslim countries”. The answer is, it is happening in muslim countries at a very small scale. Infact “ATAY ma Namak k brabar” or Jab koi Pakra jata ha. Do u know, us k sath Kya hota ha ? No, No , You have No Idea, let me tel u, he gets Proper treatment, yeh, yeh, TREATMENT… You guys are free to Practise it in US and europe.. But not in Muslim countries. We will stop it with our hands. Thank You very Much. Next Question Plz.

indeed… #FreudCalled](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=FreudCalled) #haathhimerasathi](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=haathhimerasathi) #nogaytalibansnono](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=nogaytalibansnono)