Dil walon ki Dilli

Re: Dil walon ki Dilli

People who are the cause of riots are hardly even touched, but entire city turns violent and people kill each other:)

True.. Geihoon ke sath ghun bhi pista hai.. :(

I’ve been to delhi twice !!! both were not a happy visit !!

first went there to see my ex best friend, but her brother was so anal about leaving the house , understandably as we were hardly 19-20 at the time, freshly landed in from Bahrain, but it was to such an extreme that we hardly got out !! only went to Appu Ghar !!! hahahaha. God knows if its still there.

second time also went with same ex best friend , we were doing the Agra -rajasthan tour, so we got off in Delhi for only for a day or two as that was the pick up point. Again same situation, leave late in the morning coz markets in India opens late so like 11-ish and come home early like 3-ish. Uffff…soooo frustrating.

But I would loooooooove to go to Delhi. Shopping is far better and classier as compared to Bombay where you find only jhig-mig stuff. Even jewelry is marginally cheaper. I love that they have houses there as compared to uber tiny apartments in Bombay. I love how they have weddings on farm or big gardens ( my wedding posts are mostly Delhi weddings). I love how many Bongs and Punjabi’s are there !! The fact that you have winter in Delhi. No winter in Bombay !!

But but but… coming in from Bombay u miss the safety and independence factor. In bombay I get out and about on my own even though i dont anything coz the transport system is fantastic. As soon as u leave your building there is cab or a rickshaw if ur in the suburbs, bus stops everyyywhere, trains. And its all according to the meter. Not that way in Delhi, or atleast not where I stayed coz it was this huge colony of houses and I had to WALK :smack: for like ages till I could a taxi or a rick. Only found those cycle wallahs and boy oh boy was i embarrassed to get tugged along on that thing. That poor skinny guy !!

What do you mean by Appu Ghar? Is it a public place or some of your relatives / friends house?

Secondly, are there still cycle rikshaws in Delhi :(

Appu ghar is just another toy place where you enjoy various games that's it:D

yes there are Rickshaw wallah in all over city, and dilliwali sits on it and feels she is sitting on elephant:D apart from that Dilli wali feels she is princess as well:D

wah dilli wah.. subhanallah :D

BTW, whats the general tendency (weight) in Delhiwallas? Are they smart like Karachiwalas or Pehlwan like Lahoris?

from what i heard from my friends here in bangalore who are originally from delhi,it's hard for bangalorean (south indians) to live in delhi,being soft person won't work there,have to fight for eveything then only you will get the respect..
they find it's not safe for women to go out at night,heard few terrible incidents especially those poor north-east women getting raped felt really bad.also the people in grey market like palke bazar,chandini chowk are very bad
on other hand when i visited mumbai in december i find it most safest in india,lol i remember we went to marine drive (beach) i could see parents with their kids playing,other side i can see a couple passionately kissing each other, next to them bachelors drinking beer this was around 1am found mumbai to be totally safe,

:eek: Mumbai gone so much advance?

yup ^ Delhi is not safe for women. At All. I don't mean any disrespect to any Delhi wallahs here or anywhere, but at point I am quite sure it was the rape capital of India. Sad , being the capital and all !! You here it frequently on NDTV that the meter of safety for women in Delhi is not good. Hell it's good anywhere in India for tht matter.

Hopefully it should and will change.

But I am a wanna be delhi-ite !! Also human pedigree is quite important in Delhi. Its all uber classy up north !!!

And ofcourse the Delhi foooooooood. But then anywhere in India is about fooooood.

Yippe i'm going to Bombay for 2 days next week. Gonna have paan, bombay sandwich, naryal paani, frankie, cutting chai !!

Whats special about these Mumbiya foods?

actually its no biggie. Hasn’t been for quite some time. In Bahrain , being a muslim country we at the beaches toh Mumbai kya cheez hai.

You should see the kids makeout on bikes and in parks. Now that is a sight to see.

oh lord, they are amazing !!!!! its your street food. One guy with a tiny stall !! every place has a special variety. The best ones are the ones to get outside collages, office districts, shopping aread. Some are soooo big that u need atleast two people to finish one sandwich. You get them alllll over bombay.

Typically a basic Bombay sandwich is that in which they put green chutney, then there is aloo, tamata , pyaaz, beetroot, cucumber, chaat masala, then u either have it grilled or not. At the end they give a aloo slice with chaat masala on it.

Now add to this paneer, ooye gooey cheese and what not. So that becomes the special Bombay sandwich.

Frankie is like a roll, chapatti made out of maida, with aloo and payz stuffing mixture in it. We always have it at this place called Breach Candy. Ahhhhmazing !! Besides this particular frankie shop in Breach Candy there is punabi food stall. And guess what they sell. Paneer. Yup. Only Paneer. You go there to eat paneer slices. It is as soft as butter. All u get there is slices of paneer with a lil chaat masala sprinkled on top.

Cutting chai is the masala chai u get from the chai wallah stalls in tiny glasses. I am not even a tea drinker but i looove that.

:yummy: You are really making me to open a thread on Mumbai and its culture.

Delhi is populated mostley by the people who migrated after partition of punjab:), it is might be lahore, East delhi has mostly Hindustani people so a bit like Kanpur:)

Delhi is not safe for women, Delhi is in the Gujaristan/Jatland:) Palika and chandni chowk are known for selling counterfeit product as original, it is not like SP road bangalore:). Bangaloreans are soft spoken while talking roughly is delhi style, South Indians speak roughly only in movies while Dilli wala speak politely only in movies:D

lols, but Delhi used to be center of culture before partition. BTW, what happened to those Delhi ke Baankay?

actually my city bangalore is the most advance city in india :smiley: climate wise best in south asian city,pub capital of india,silicon valley of india (IT hub) so we have lot multi national people because of them almost every restaurent will serve alchoal downside it’s very expensive city…but even in bangalore you won’t see girls roaming alone around 1-2am single,most of girls will leave pubs by 12

:salute: to there mashriqi pun :slight_smile:

lolz i know but my most of pc stuff like graphics card comes smc palika bazar.i order it online,they will almost get it first in india....
about soft spoken i get it,in my engineering we had people from kashmir to punjab,up to bihar,assam to arunachal pradesh, most soft spoken were two sikhs(though they were from kashmir),rudest to be bihari even their normal speech would be like cursing you

Delhi is centre of Indian politics since Mahabharat story, Indraprastha is also delhi:), the demographic balance has changed, from dehli of urdu speakers due to influx of punjabis it turned into Dilli, infact now even sign boards have gurumukhi written over it

yes true, even Mahatma Gandhi Road(MG Road) is famous for all the activities that Gandhiji despised:D

someone will be there to acompany them…

what i saw in was defferent it was public place,actually pub starts around 11-12am in mumbai