Did your mother-in-law.............?

Re: Did your mother-in-law.............?

1 more advantage i have.. is that k meri aik hi SIL hai n she;s married now,n MIL is old enuf for alll the bhaag dorr for shopping alone.. SO SHe's askin me to help her out in shopping EveryWHere even For SIL wedding i choose wid her consent everything of herS. i think they like my choice.. n now for my wedding n valima m desgignig my stuff OWn.SO nOOOOO WOrries ;)

lol... Thats cool.. When's your wedding? :)

INSHALLAh in DECEmBer.

OK.... Im havign my Nikkah in Pakistan Inshallah in August. My nikkah planned just couple of weeks ago. And I have like just 1 month. I ll go to Pakistan at the end of July and will return at the end of August. I m worried about my Nikkah Dress. It gonna be a big ceremony and I want to make sure that I look good. I dunt know how do I let my MIL know what kinda dress I want. I was just thinking if my mom could tell them the color and rest will be on MIL. thts all what I can think of. I guess I have no choice

^ Why don't you tell u're MIL urself? She IS going to be u're MIL Inshallah so tell her directly! The colors, work, kaam, design whatever!

my mother in law just gave me the budget and told me to go do it myself

As cool as that sounds... I'd rather they/she had some input. I mean it is after all a wedding and you want to be able to do all these things either together with them or at least with some input from them.
Plus although some things are best talked about prior to shopping, others are left best as a surprise.

yeah i agree and it was kinda hard cuz i had to do my entire wedding dress shopping and my valima shopping amd mehndi shopping all within 2 weeks in pakistan... i wish i had SOME INPUT/GUIDANCE from her but my valima dress came out gorgeous from me doing it on my own

Aww..you poor baby.... I hope you got at least a few days of rest before you big day :)
Can we see some pictures of your wedding? Specially your valima dress! Would love to see!

ive posted them already

where?? gasp I missed them :smack:

My MIL-to-be wanted to do the valima dress. She wanted a peshwaaz, and right frm when i heard about it, i wasn't happy as i never thought of wearing one for valima. I voiced my thoughts to my fiance and before he could actually pass them on, my MIL said that she was fine with me doing whtever i wanted...:)..well the credit goes to my SIL-to-be who sensed i didn't quite like their idea. I think tht was safe as i knew i never wanted to enter into a discussion directly with my MIL (didn't want the dress to be something reminisced about later as my first disagreement with her)!!

The jewellry however remains a surprise....i can't say i care less abt it, but i think it is beyond me to have that as well according to what i would want...Honestly, i always wondered how some of my friends would DISCOVER just a day before of wht their wedding dress looked like, and that they were ready to live through the anxiety till the day before!! Now i know, most of us would pass over our desires in view of an unblemished beginning with in-laws...With the dress it has worked my way, but will have to put up with all those wild thoughts abt the jewelry....Fingers Crossed!!

my valima outfit:

^^^ Wowww, prettiness!
Mash'Allah, hadn't seen the valima pics before. Thanks for sharing them!

So for all of u who are saying its nto right to make a fuss over a lengha and let them choose because it will be a good beginning... the way i c it, in laws will give u grief for something else afterwards any way... after a few months no ones gonna care whether u liked the dress or not and no ones gonna appreciate or even care that you decided to be the shy/sweet girl and stayed quiet nad let them buy whatever they wanted. The only one who might be affected is you. In-laws will always have problems with you (not being pessimistic but its the truth) with u any way..might as well go for what u want :D

^^ lol... Thats just hilarious! haha..

im quite shy in these matters.. though am quite close with my fiance but i never ask for anything.. BUT BUT BUT.. valima ke lehnga is the only thing jis pe mai ne kaha ke i want to buy apne marzi se.. my fiance was like ok .. infact he was quite happy when i said we'll do shopping together .. bakke jewelary or jahez jesa bhi ho i dont care.. par lehnga mai kisi ke pasand ka nai pehno ge..

You go girl!
hahah... I agree with you. Others things i dont care about either, its really the valimay ka dress I want apni marzi say:p

Shopping together for it is the most brilliant idea ever. When my time comes, my future in-laws BETTER and I mean BETTER suggest it, otherwise future fiance ji ki khair nehin. :snooty:

dont go shopping with in laws.. par fiance ke sath kher hai ;) espically if u r close to ur fiance then woh kuch bhi maan le ga.. even if u ask something above 1 lac lolz..