Re: Dhikr
Jazakallah khair.
Jazak Allah sister ...:)
I live in USA ..
I love this thread :)
Kinzz - I pray whatever problems you have will be solved.
Where do you live? in the UK?
Thanks Sidi Psyah for explaining things so nicely.
The Wird consists of 3 major components: Astagfar, Sending Salwat to our Holy Prophet SAW and declaring the Oneness of Allah. There is nothing wrong with that. Innovation is not always bad - there is such a good thing called good Innovation.
** Al Salat Al Taaziyyah Hizb-ul-Bahr Wird-ul-Aam Al-Latifiya ijaza .
What exactly are you & afshi talking about?I have NEVER heard these terms.
You also mentioned mureeds & non mureeds ,whats that all about?
LP have you ever heard about Oliyah karams and their mureesds?
So the Silsila of Oliyaah karams continues when they left this world.
Alhamdullilah, i have started my daily wird. Although this is twice a day in our Tariqah I am only managing to doing it once a day.
Unfortunately, I have up and down periods. :)
Inshallah will aim to do the complete the wird and do it with more Tawajuh.
LP Mureeds are people who have taken a Sheikh for their spiritual teaching and advancement.
very nice thread ..very informative..
Can someone start with the ABC’s of this:bummer:
@psyah, would you mind explaning the following terms:
Tariqa
Shaykh
Murid
Wird
Sidi/Sitti
Shadhili
Shaykh Muhammad al Ya'qoubi
Maybe in your own words, I don't want to use the Google/Wikipedia definitions.
@Kinzz - if you are in the NY or Florida area, sometimes Shaykh Faisal does programs there as well. If you are interested, I will give you more detail abuot these programs and you can ask him directly your questions. :)
@STONECOLD - mashallah that is great. I pray this path gets easier for you, Inshallah. The downs could be due to the fact that Shaytaan sees the right path you are on and wants to pull you back. A similar thing happened to a friend of mine. She started her wirds, and then all of a sudden bad things started to happen to her. She mentioned this to the Shaykh who told her a similar response and to be patient and steadfast in her wird. Pretty soon, all the bad things started goign away and Alhumdulillah things were great. A couple of years later, she was slacking on her wird, and again things were going downhill. I mentioned to her to start the wird again, and Alhumdulillah, things never looked better. Actually, I can actually vouch for this myself and I went through similar thing as well.
Jazak Allah Khair
Afshi sis Yes I'm in FL...
Can you plz give me details .
A few things which you all mentioned like the dreams the come true ,things getting better,a feeling of inner peace & tranquility,I have experienced these things a number of times just by my normal dhikr....whenever I start praying tahajjud ,increase istighfar & other general dhikr along with the normal dhikr that I do....I experience these things.
So,Id really like to understand what exactly you all are talking about & why is it different than normal dhikr.
LP, for me, its all about Yakeen. If you believe that it will work and help you achieve the things that you want to acheive, then this dhikr will help you.
If you just perform the dhikr because someone told you that it's good for you and you'll try anything, then I doubt you will see the benefits.
Alhumdulillah, all the benefits that you received are good, and if you believe that it is with the normal dhikr that you perform, that is great.
The dhikr that is mentioned here comes from a spiritual path that started hundreds of years ago. It is passed down from one Shaykh to the next, and is taught to each of the murids. . There is spiritual wisdom that these Shaykhs know and have, and of which we have no knowledge. It is said that Allah SWT gives more knowledge to others than others, and it is up to us on how we want to go on the Spiritual path - in which way.
@psyah, would you mind explaning the following terms:
Tariqa Shaykh Murid Wird Sidi/Sitti Shadhili Shaykh Muhammad al Ya'qoubi
Maybe in your own words, I don't want to use the Google/Wikipedia definitions.
@Kinzz - if you are in the NY or Florida area, sometimes Shaykh Faisal does programs there as well. If you are interested, I will give you more detail abuot these programs and you can ask him directly your questions. :)
@STONECOLD - mashallah that is great. I pray this path gets easier for you, Inshallah. The downs could be due to the fact that Shaytaan sees the right path you are on and wants to pull you back. A similar thing happened to a friend of mine. She started her wirds, and then all of a sudden bad things started to happen to her. She mentioned this to the Shaykh who told her a similar response and to be patient and steadfast in her wird. Pretty soon, all the bad things started goign away and Alhumdulillah things were great. A couple of years later, she was slacking on her wird, and again things were going downhill. I mentioned to her to start the wird again, and Alhumdulillah, things never looked better. Actually, I can actually vouch for this myself and I went through similar thing as well.
Jazak Allah Khair
I agree, the shaitaan whispers and tries to keep you away from the dhikr and tasbih of the Almighty.
And my wird isnt even that long. It only takes 20mins.
You are right about dreams. I, myself rarely have dreams. However, before I took my tariqah I had a dream about my Shaykh.
If your missing your wird then try and have company with your fellow fuqara. This always help in bringing your spirits up! :)
That is why I want to know the ABC's.For a better ,in depth understanding.
A few things which you all mentioned like the dreams the come true ,things getting better,a feeling of inner peace & tranquility,I have experienced these things a number of times just by my normal dhikr....whenever I start praying tahajjud ,increase istighfar & other general dhikr along with the normal dhikr that I do....I experience these things. So,Id really like to understand what exactly you all are talking about & why is it different than normal dhikr.
LP, no doubt the general Dhikr that you do would also have benefits (even if you cant see them). If you do not see them, then why worry? You are still remembering your creator!
The dhikr that is prescribed by Shaykhs follow centuries of tradition from Tariqa masters. The dhikr passed down by a Shaykh is full of Sir (secret) which the master knows and conveys to his Mureeds.
Attend a Dhikr gathering LP for Dhikr in a gathering is far better than Dhikr alone! :)
I agree…after my brother passed away ,there came a point where I felt I was going on the wrong path now(thought wise not action wise).Lots of confusing & wht Id consider wrong thoughts crossed my mind.
I talked to psyah & a few other ppl,prayed a lot to not go astray & then one day while coming bk from work another bro was talking about something (which i dont rem now) & suddenly it hit me…everything others had tried to make me understand it all started making sense,my confusions,all those thoughts just went in that one second.
And I was back to the normal me ![]()
I agree, the shaitaan whispers and tries to keep you away from the dhikr and tasbih of the Almighty.
And my wird isnt even that long. It only takes 20mins.
You are right about dreams. I, myself rarely have dreams. However, before I took my tariqah I had a dream about my Shaykh.
If your missing your wird then try and have company with your fellow fuqara. This always help in bringing your spirits up! :)
Totally. Everytime I attend my Thursday Night Halaqas with the other murids and Shaykh, I always get this sense of renewal and am more strong in my faith and in helping out the Tariqa. Most of the sisters in my halaqa have become really close friends and I love the spiritual bond we have with each other. (psst - even met my husband at the halaqa as well, so it's an added bonus :D)
Alhamdullilah. About your brother, well it was His will and His will alone shall be done for it is not for us to question. The heart grieves naturally at the loss of such a close relation but Alhamdullilah he has also given us the ability to heal from such sorrows. May your brother be with those who love the Almighty and may He shower His blessings on your brother.
LP, no doubt the general Dhikr that you do would also have benefits (even if you cant see them). If you do not see them, then why worry? You are still remembering your creator!
The dhikr that is prescribed by Shaykhs follow centuries of tradition from Tariqa masters. The dhikr passed down by a Shaykh is full of Sir (secret) which the master knows and conveys to his Mureeds.
Attend a Dhikr gathering LP for Dhikr in a gathering is far better than Dhikr alone! :)
I did a little googling but I still dont have a very clear view of this.
The only thing I understood is that its related to sufism.But sufism is basically the heart of religion.Its ishq e ilahi.
But izajah & the al latifiya & other names i never came across & still dont understand.
I dont think we have any such gatherings in Saudia.Else I would have heard of this.
This entire thing is new for me.
Alhamdullilah. About your brother, well it was His will and His will alone shall be done for it is not for us to question. The heart grieves naturally at the loss of such a close relation but Alhamdullilah he has also given us the ability from such sorrows. May your brother be with those who love the Almighty and may He shower His blessings on your brother.
Aameen
Totally. Everytime I attend my Thursday Night Halaqas with the other murids and Shaykh, I always get this sense of renewal and am more strong in my faith and in helping out the Tariqa. Most of the sisters in my halaqa have become really close friends and I love the spiritual bond we have with each other. (psst - even met my husband at the halaqa as well, so it's an added bonus :D)
Agreed. The bond between the fuqara is such a lovely bond that it changes your personality. The love amongst each other than extends to others and they see such a difference in you.