Dhikr

Re: Dhikr

It is. And without the heart the body cannot function. :)
I can understand that terms Izajah and latifiya are not floated about too much in Saudi. It is not for me to criticize.

Maybe someone can enlighten on these two terms?

Not just these two terms...on everything else too plz.
And do you or afshi or psyah know of any such dhikr gatherings in Saudia ?Maybe my qs can be properly answered if I ask someone in such a gathering or see it myself.

Im not aware of any gatherings in Saudi...but there must be some!

Unfortunately I am unaware of the meaning of those terms as it relates to Sister Afshi's tariqa ( I assume). I can tell you of what happens in the gatherings in our tariqa.

The Personal daily Wird-which is read twice a day once after Fajr till Asr(time scale to be read in) and then the same Wird to be completed from Asr till Fajr(time scale to be read in). The new faqir-the one in needreads this for a certain amount of time this all depends on theMurids himma-yearning. (This is done alone by the faqir-the one in need)
The Personal daily Wird of the tariqah is unique in that it is progressive, it starts of very basic and over a period of time the Muqadam will increase its number and change the Wird. Also spiritual appraisals will be given to find out were the faqir/faqirat(Feminine) are going or how they are handling the Wird or having any problems.
Daily group Wazeefa- Everyday the Fuqara-the ones in need(Plural of faqir)gather and read a ‘Group Wazeefa’which entails Surah Yasin, Surah Wa’qiah, other shorter Surahs, all is recited in the Moroccan warsh style which is soothing for the heart to listen and melts the ego to surrender.
Then more is add, much more. TheMain salawat Nariyyah, Basic 15,000 la-e-laha illillahand then next level of Wird. Daily Dalail al Khayrat-(author Imam Jazuli's maqam youtube), chapter of Quran, Dua Nasiri, Dua Mufajirah…
The Grand Latiffiyyah – ‘Ya Latif’ This gathering is only for Advance Murids, because its so intense and so powerful the room is lit up with Nur-lightthat new murids are not allowed to participate until they have been in the Tariqah certain amount of time and that they haven’t missed there Daily Wird. This is held once a week in the Zawiyah

A note about the ‘Ya Latif’ from“A Practical guide of asking Forgiveness of Wrong Actions –Sins Part 2 of section of Tawba – repentance” there are 35 ways to ask for forgiveness and below is the tenth of theextra ten points to free one soul from hell fire.

In addition these practices, there are some reported to free someone from the hell-Fire: point 10. Saying "Ya Latif"Practices which expiate prior and later wrong actions as it says in the Book of the Healing of the Sickness and Painsby Shaykh Muhammad ibn Ja'far al-Kittani al-Hasani.
Every Saturday The Main Dhikr/Qasida/Hadra:Again open to all, we start with ‘Group Wazeefa’ Surah Yasin, Surah Wa’qiah, other shorter Surahs, Dua Nasiri, Dua Mufajirah, Qasidah Burdahall is recited in the Moroccan warsh style which is soothing for the heart to listen and melts the ego to surrender.
And then the Qasida singing starts

LP, you definately need/should experience it yourself.

I can tell you how lovely this mango ice cream tastes like...i can describe all its detail and texture. But you can only experience it, if you taste the ice cream yourself.

I used the Ice cream analogy, because everyone loves icecream! :)

Isnt wht Afshi talking abt the same as you?
Why is it different ?
& singing ?
Im sorry but singing ?

I can post some Qasida's if you would like to listen but i dont think the dhikr gatherings are recorded otherwise Id be happy to share.

:) :) :)

MashaAllah ... Amazing discussion ...

Peace Sister Little Princess
"If Shari'ah paves the road for your destination, then Tariqah is the manner in which you walk that road"

**The taking of tariqah is like going on a journey in a group rather than saying "You go on your way, I'll make my own way there, see you at the finish line" ... The road to success is paved with hurdles, pot holes, avoiding the twists and turns ... and the awliya karam have walked that path, come back to get us and are showing us how to get there. Without them there is a slight chance we can still make it ... but with them and with each other we can enjoy companionship on that journey. A companionship that otherwise would not be found in the lonely traveller.

In a hadith we are told to travel in groups, well this applies to our spiritual journeys as well. We do this by taking tariqah on the hands of those who hold Khirka (literally this means rough cloak, but in reality it is the passing of the symbolic right to continue the spiritual sufi chain)

This chain is called a silsila and in English means Spiritual Lineage and can be examined like a geneaology (family tree), except it features the successive order of the people who held khirka from their own spiritual teachers, all the way to the prophet Muhammad (SAW) ...

Upon studying the chain we can visualise our real connection to RasoolAllah (SAW).

Now the people of tassuwwuf are people who agree with Sufi practice - such as dhikr ... but it is important to realise that true submission of ones will and reduction of ego can only be achieved through a disciple process where a person willingly enslaves themselves to the spiritual guidance of a master. Ego will remain as long as we live in this world with our own self management - This is tadbir ... Tadbir is minor form of shirk - it is not punishable and most humans are prone to it ... However ... Karamah only occurs on the hands of walis and walis are those people who have learned to place their full trust in Allah (SWT) ...

So one can say that "tariqah" is the path of becoming a wali ... however, simply by taking tariqah it is also the path of helping us iron out our defects. Hence my recommendation of Ihya Uloom ud-Deen ...

I'll leave it here for now if there are any questions that you want to ask to elaborate I'll try to answer inshaAllah ...

One amazing thing about taking bayah (allegience) to a spiritual guide is that we "feel" the sunnah of the Sahabah when they pledged to RasoolAllah (SAW) ... and became companions of one another ...

Sitti (Which means respected madame, and Sidi = Sir) Afshi and myself are not only connected through our faith as Muslims, but we are brother and sister in tariqah, through our connection of Shaykh Muhammad al-Yaqoubi and Shaykh Faisal Abd Al-Razzaq ... May Allah (SWT) protect them. We gather in a spiritual gathering without our knoweldge and we are informed that people who belong to a lineage will be raised in that lineage on the Day of Judgement ... it is amazing to know in this life who will be with you on that Day ... It is hence in my interest to bid Sitti Afshi the Shade of Allah (SWT) on Judgement Day, because then perhaps I shall be able to get some of it on account of her receiving it. And with the friends who I have made here in the UK who are from the tariqah ... they are no longer friends - but companions :) ... people who will lay their lives down for me as I for them.

I have said too much ... so I'll wait for you to respond inshaAllah ...

@stonecold As far the few surah's you mentioned,I read them on a daily basis (surah mulk,waqiah,sajda &rahma) i used to read surah yaseen too but hvnt been doing tht for sometime now.

Like when you listen to someone read Qasida Burda or read a naat....is probably the best way i can describe it! :)

@psyah, what a beautiful explanation. . You made me teary eyed. May Allah SWT answer your duas and take care of your needs. Ameen.

And I will be using your statement in bold for my FB status. Jazak Allah!

Extremely well said Sidi!:)

And it is great that you do but again it is much better to remember the Almighty in a gathering than it is to do alone.
Mashallah that you read so much :)

Ok, I'm all confused.
I re-read but I still don't have a clear view of all that you said Psyah.Maybe I need to re read it again at night with a clearer mind.Or ask my chacha/nana about this.If they know what this is all about.I'll get back with the questions .

A lot of people in Pakistan have Peers..right? This is similar to what a Shaykh is. Someone to guide you on the right path.

in terms of these extra dhikrs and wirds that are mentioned here..they are like spiritual assignments that are assigned to us mureeds (students of the Shaykh).

In our halaqa,we have other "spiritual assignments" that we should be doing each week as well. They are not all pertained to Dhikr. All these "spiritual assignments" help us to feel more connected to Allah and to the Prophet SAW. Just by remembering them and following their sunnah helps us to remember the Strength, Sabr and Trials of the Prophet SAW , and would make us more steadfast in our religion.

Ok ok … :slight_smile:

I think I understand the confusion …

Well please refer to Hadith Jibreel … You can find it related in Al-Nawawis 40 hadith collection … and the explanation … this will be a long read ..

Jami al-`Ulum wal-Hikam - Ibn Rajab al-Hanabali

The Jibril Hadith Explained - Essentials of Islam, Iman & Ihsan

In our Deen we have three sections, Islam, Iman and Ihsan … Islam is what we do, Iman is confirming our beliefs, and Ihsan is about feeling and living in total sense of Reality. You can say we start of by talking about Allah (SWT), then we firmly believe through reason that Allah (SWT) is Real, then we move to a state where have no need to believe through reason because we can learn to feel Divine presence.

And each one of these is testable … i.e. objectively provable.

In time these three aspects have become disciplines - like domains for learning … Fiqh schools were developed to cover the Shari’ah which is Islam, I’l ul Kalam and A’qeedah were developed for the area covering Imaan and the Sufi tariqahs crystalised through time forming the basis for learning the aspect of Ihsan … Dzikr or the litanies are only aspects of tassuwwuf as a discipline.

The main intent is perfect character - i.e. adab, patience - in order to reach a proximity to Allah (SWT) that we behave as though we can see Allah (SWT) (or experience His Presence) we engage in Dzikr and hard work to train our nufs in order to have openings in inner sight and a side-effect of this is when people become walis - lesser miracles start to happen on their hands, through no choice of their own as a sign of their purity and favour of Allah (SWT). They become like lights who can guide the way to success for others who are unable to walk that journey themselves.

The whole point of becoming a Sufi is to fulfil all three aspects of the Deen - Islam, Iman and Ihsan … I hope this helps …

Shadhili Tariqa - Home

Is this is what you are talking about.I’d like to ask my chacha about this,so,Is this website a good way to introduce this to him? I havent gone through all of this yet but I want to ask him now.

I shall read it all at night and get back to you.I feel right now my mind’s just too cluttered :frowning:

^ No worries Sister Little Princess ...

I've just read your signature line ...

**Self-help is the best help!

**But can we reach the condition where we say honestly?

I don't bother helping myself ... Allah has already helped me

That needs a high level of Imaan & Taqwa I guess.

Can you please have a look at the website & tell me it this is what you are talking about?
And can you tel me if the dhikr gatherings you and the others mentioned take place in Saudia?If so,where?

Shaykh Nuh Kellar is another Shaykh on the Shadhili Tariqa.

Psyah and I follow this Shaykh:

Shaykh Muhammad al-Yaqoubi

and read this link:

http://www.sacredknowledgetrust.co.uk/The-Shadhili-Tariqa.aspx