we have had atleast one funnly functional motorway (Lahore-Islamabad) for almost 10 years now. I want to know has there beenany changes around the areas where motorway was built? did it eally help those local economies a bit by brining some business, development in area etc etc? did it help the local economy to have a quick route to sell their crops?
What have been the major gains of Motorway in last ten year?
How are the other Motorway projects going on and what difference are they going to make to Pak’s economy and economy of those Local areas.?
Its really a better way to travel rather then using the GT road full of trucks rikshaws and might I add the bail garhis etc:D
ooopps just noticed that its the politics and the Ec area...
(running off)
we have had atleast one funnly functional motorway (Lahore-Islamabad) for almost 10 years now. I want to know has there beenany changes around the areas where motorway was built? did it eally help those local economies a bit by brining some business, development in area etc etc? did it help the local economy to have a quick route to sell their crops?
How are the other Motorway projects going on and what difference are they going to make to Pak's economy and economy of those Local areas.?
Well, my area around Kalar Kahar is about 15 minutes drive from the Motorway...
The have now opened a Cement factory wiith others in the pipework. The plans for the cement plants have been on the books for a while, but only opened recently in the past two years. The trucks I beleive use the motorway, but not sure.
I asked this question few years ago and did not get very many responses..I think now we have a lot of PA members who live in Pak or have visited Pak in last few years..
Does any one have anything to add to following questions?
How are the other Motorway projects going on and what difference are they going to make to Pak's economy and economy of those Local areas.?
Along M-3 (Pindi Bhattian to Faisalabad) a lot of development is happening, hundreds of small & large factories or mills pop up. Real estate rate is hiking because of construction, as cities like Faisalabad/Lahore grows the excellent road structure like National Highways & Motorways providing comfortable drives from one place to other.
As far economic impact concern, did you ever bother to move any goods from hmm.. Lahore to Islamabad via G.T Road? Going to Islamabad from Faisalabad was a 9 hour journey before the M-2 & M-2 now its 3.5 hour only. Just the saving of energy by vehicles in 10 years given back the full price of motorway.
M-1 (Peshawar to Islamabad) completed
M-2 (Islamabad to Lahore) completed
M-3 (Pindi Bhattian to Faisalabad) completed
M-4 (Faisalabad to Multan) Under construction
M-5 (Multan to Sukhar) On Paper
M-6 (Sukkar to Larkana) on paper
M-7 (Dadu to karachi) Under construction
M-8 (Sukhar to Gawadar) completed
M-9 (karachi to Hyderabad) completed
An excellent road infrastructure like this is a miracle in a country like Pakistan and heavenly for businesess. I remember we use to import machines and it takes days to come to Fsd from karachi dry port… now within 36 hours :k:
Well roads and other infrastructure help the local economy in multiple ways, it becomes easier and quicker for the farmers/industrialists to transport their produce to bigger cities. It links people of different areas together. There is positive impact of the motorway on the areas which are being touched through that, and like Firenze mentioned some industrial estates are being set up near the motorway so they will in turn create jobs for the locals.
Jab bijli hi nahin to konsi exports? Ab aloon anday value added exports to hoti nahin.
Btw, what happened to setting up a railway corridor from gawadar to china? I had read that China was directly talking to some balochi sardars and they had made some headway in laying tracks in those sectors. We don’t have much coming in at gawadar, so making it a china specific port right now might be a good start for western china. Later on, as balochistan / NWFP develops then gawadar can fully serve those regions.
probably you are not following Pakistan international exports & domestic consumption numbers :)
That is true, Pakistan exports are doing good but if we had good availability of electric power we probably would've done better.
probably you are not following Pakistan international exports & domestic consumption numbers :)
ARe we talking about value added items? Sure, pakistani textiles in bangladesh does mean we get some influence there but it would only be good if we also expand our capacity in Pakistan. The shifting of industry is a very dangerous trend for Pakistan.
My family is in textile business, so i now the first hand situation about the textile market.. it's booming from last three years. I personally know more then 5 people who are setting up Textile Rotary mills meaning minimum investment of over 200 million Rs .. then in computerized embriodery field .. thousands of machines are added just in Lahore/Faisalabad/Gujranawala or central Punjab region.
Karachi got a hit in last few years because of law & order situation, but still i didn't a single businessman who leave the Karachi market completely. Pakistan is a different world, few people understand the potential and use it.
M-8, N-25, N-50, N-70, N-65 & N-10 all are in Baluchistan. Balouchoon ko bi roney k ilawa aur koi kam nahi hai.
Wonder what you would feel if you were in that position where you had very little but you saw others had been given a lot. It is of course perfectly fine for you to judge from a textile business who is in a postion to move machines around.
Well, my area around Kalar Kahar is about 15 minutes drive from the Motorway...
The have now opened a Cement factory wiith others in the pipework. The plans for the cement plants have been on the books for a while, but only opened recently in the past two years. The trucks I beleive use the motorway, but not sure.
Kallar Kahar has had a bit of a tourism boom since the motorway too.
Wonder what you would feel if you were in that position where you had very little but you saw others had been given a lot.
Given the population of Baluchistan i think the road infrastructure in on per with rest of Pakistan. As far economy & law/order concern, i will definitely with you on the same page.
My family is in textile business, so i now the first hand situation about the textile market.. it's booming from last three years. I personally know more then 5 people who are setting up Textile Rotary mills meaning minimum investment of over 200 million Rs .. then in computerized embriodery field .. thousands of machines are added just in Lahore/Faisalabad/Gujranawala or central Punjab region.
Karachi got a hit in last few years because of law & order situation, but still i didn't a single businessman who leave the Karachi market completely. Pakistan is a different world, few people understand the potential and use it.
How can industry boom with electricity and gas loadshedding?