Thanks Mr. Fraudia. Great Post!!! I really enjoyed reading it. I could just say "my thoughts exactly." It is a shame to see that pakistanis living in Pakistan or the newly-arrived-overseas do not care much for Urdu. My cousins insist on writing me in English despite my numerous requests that they should write me in Urdu. I just feel that Urdu expressions are so rich. I keep trying to search for friends overseas of similar age who can speak good Urdu...let me tell you, it's not that easy. Perhaps this is one of the reasons I miss Pakistan so much. Let me just say that the people who don't know or appreciate the true richness of the Urdu language don't know what they are missing...or that how much they annoy people like myself.
Fraudia Jii, Zabardast post!
I never understood why ppl are so desparate to speak in English in Pakistan (specially Karachi, my hometown) but then I realized they were trying to improve their English by practising on us besides trying to impress us.
We kindda grew up abroad, but still spoke Urdu (Lakhnowii Urdu @ that!) @ home cuz that's t/ way it was. English outside t/ house, Urdu inside t/ house. I remember struggling to read and write Urdu in 4th grade, but it was all worth it. How else would I have enjoyed Mir & Ghalib etc??
A couple of yrs back in Karachi, my ultra mod relatives carried their whole conversation w/ me in thr not so perfect English, and I in Urdu, It was interesting.
Unlike you, I however do have a beef w/ parents specially those who have immigrated themselves from Pakistan. Why are they so ashamed to speak their native language w/ their children?? T/ most absurd part is their English ain't all that gr8 to begin with! Yet they continue speaking in tooti phooti Ungraizii!
We were invited to this family for dinner where the Dad (a Doc) and Mom have arrived from Karachi about 6 yrs back. All they ever speak w/ thr two kids (4 & 2) is tooti phooti English. Why not speak, (hence teach) them Urdu cuz t/ kids will eventually learn English anyway cuz they are born and are being raised here??
It all boils down to how impressed we are by t/ Ungraiz and thr Ungraizii and ashamed of who we are where we come from. God forbid our kids look or resemble anything remotely Pakistani.
p.s. I say Urdu cuz that is my native language. One can apply t/ same for thr respective language.
[This message has been edited by FunkyDesi (edited June 27, 2001).]
I asked a couple why they spoke tooti-phooti angraizi with their kids when it is so critical to be teaching them urdu and they replied,
"We know what it is like to be at a disadvantage as a visible minority. We know the prejudices that we have and will continue to face in the west. We don't want our children to suffer the same. We want to give them every advantage and opportunity to get ahead that we possibly can."
Are they justified? Perhaps. I don't know.
Funky desi, i do have a beef with the parents who dont teach the kids, but for my initial thoughts i looked at that as a situation which was beyond the control of a person who was never taught the language.
Muzna parents do need to teach their kids english (or french or italian or whatever) but thats a lingo that kids get exposure to outside the house anyways, no one outside will teach them their mother tongue, so thats falls to the parents.
Fraudia, I agree with what you said about the kids being exposed to other languages outside the home.
My nephew, started nursery in January, he was 3 and a half. His mother, a teacher, always speaks in punjabi at home with him, and so does his father. It has been just over 6 months he has been at nursery and his english is superb.
I agree that the culture should be kept alive within the home, as outside they wont even get a wiff of it. If you are speaking to them in english all the time and all they speak at school is english too, how are they gonna learn about their own culture? Thats how we were bought up and we turned out ok.
I feel in this day and age it is even more important for parents to teach their children their own culture and language, because it really seems to be disintegrating even more, due to people becoming too 'westernised'.
Great Post Fraudz, I was thinking of writing something on this topic. You saved me doing any effort.
Agree with FunkyDesi and didn’t know we had another lucknowi “confused” here. ![]()
I know that there are Pakistanis who have trouble in speaking English and they want to improve their English. I think it is their right and they can only improve it if they utilise these skills with a gora but when it comes to desi talking to a desi then I don’t see any need and I simply refuse to reply in English. It’s nice to know that there are more people like me. Say my salam to them.
I just hate it when u hear aadha teetar aadha baTair english urdu mix from someone who has the ability to speak in both languages.
There are some words which ammarr have invented in the “Aao Urdu Urdu KhailaiN” thread for “LOL” and I thought I should share it with you.
ZDQ (Zor Dar Qehqaha)
BNB (Bateese Nikalayee Bahir)
HAH (Hansee aarahee hai)
[This message has been edited by khan_sahib (edited June 28, 2001).]
Make that 3
and let me add my own particular version of laughter in it
MH (Makkar Hansi)
BQ (Bhayanak Qehqahah)
CM (Chaploos Muskurahat)
[This message has been edited by Fraudz (edited June 28, 2001).]
Khan jii and Fraudia Sahib,
Uff Allah, Hum to kuch kayh bhii nahii saktay
nahiN jinab, hum lucknowi nahiN balkay Mr CONFUSED ka zikr kar rahay thay.
hum log to lucknow kay logoN kay kheeray kaTnay ki nifasat say itnay maroob heiN kay un bareek qash ko soongh kar kehtay heiN hum nay khaa liya
Khan jii, kabhii kisii Lahknowii buzurg ko moon main ‘Gilorii’ rakhtay howay dekhaa hay?? Ya kabhii 'Galaawat kay Kabaab" nosh farmain hain?? Jisay aam log “Lagaawat kay kabaak” kahtay hain? Sab bhool jaingay aap
Aur humm confused nahii, hum sumaj gae thay kay aap humain “Confused” kay baaray main itilaa day rahay thay!!
Waisay I personally hate reading Urdu in English, takes 4ever, but good luck
LHM (laTka hoa moonh) @ lagawat or galwat.
I know gilloriyaaN but what are the above two words.
ravage..i kinda brought up the whole burger issue a while back ..see if you can think of ppl who fit in the categories i have addressed here.
God, this is the funniest thread ive ever read
i think i belnog to scenario #1 but i know about 3-4 dozen individuals who belong to scenario #3.. when will they understand, they are not "mod" but "totally confused"?
*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
Could not let this thread die :>
Urdu Likhye, Urdu Parrhiye, Urdu Boliye, .... Thank You :>
Tell that to a-holes on GS who want to kill Urdu and make Arabic Pakistan's national language just because Urdu contains many word from Sanskrit and is understood by many Indians.
That was funny Mr Frauds, especially the mu charhaying girl who says she doesnt want nihari. ![]()
I want nihari!!!
By the way, my Urdu has improved so much over the last few years.
cattie
good for u, but as i noted ppl growing up overseas have a much better excuse, especially those in english speaking countries. I wonder about teh type that moves from nazimabad to DHS at age 11 and voila..they talk like "robert" and "zibisco" from Indian movies..heck i know a jackass from Karachi who moved to canada at age 13 and had "forgotten" urdu.. as if enlgish was all he spoke with family, friends and neighbours in block 11 FB area karachi.
Arvind my pal
u missed the joke in that statement :) hard to spot i suppose
see there was an urdu promotion campaign a while back which said urdu likhye, urdu parrhiye, urdu boliye...
based on this thread topic, i added a think you to it :D get it..as soon as i lecture on using urdu, I say thank you instead of shukriya.. an inside hoke with some pals back in Pakistan :D
and I agree with you, there are those jackasses who want to for some reasonmake arabic pakista's nationallanguage, good thing is that these ppl number of probably just hundreds in a nation of whats it now..180million?
similarly, there are jackasses whowant to force and infuse words in the language to either arabacize it more than it already is, or in your country sansikritize it more than it is. such morons exist everywhere..but it appears they have had more success in India. This is aside from the joke about khan-phunkni and phakphak-adda type of words, but wgereas I could understand hindi broadcast news 10 years ago..now I have a hard time due to intentional forcing down of sansikrit words for which other words are not only around but are also used commonly. anyways thats a whole diff can o worms.
Long delay in refreshal 2001-2004 :)
Enough talking about pakistani living abroad and teaching/not teaching their children urdu.
Living in pakistan speaking urdu mostly but still dont like it. Because our urdu is so * be ronak* No class just routine sentence and day to day words.
Some days ago in my office I said the word "mut-ad-dad" first time in my life. We dont use the words like "agarche" "chunache" "cho-nke" in routine. Although they are part of rich urdu. And we are left with boring routine words. jaisay lassi se makhan nikal leya jai tu chaach reh jata hai :(
And for the english part. It is requirement in corporate envirnment to have certain level of fluency in english to be successful. Tootiphoti angrezi is not desired. Either you speak proper english or not speak at all.
The mummy dady and burger family are mostly the same as you mentioned.
Pir Sahib,
I am equally pissed at attempts to sanskritize Hindi out of existence by some Hindutva walaha in India. No sane person say to you "Kya bhai kya samachar hain?" It is kya khabar hain. And no agni rath vishram sthan for me, railway station is just fine. Ordinary people automatically choose the easiest way to sya a phrase and the arabists in Pakistan and sanskrit wallahs in India be damned. I wonder if there is an attempt in our respective countries to take us further apart than we already are by making us speak mutually incomprensible versions of urdu/hindi.
Aray yaar hamaare ab makhan khaneke din chale gayes hain. Chach is better for your health than lassi.![]()
I hate people who act English/American, I don’t understand why? These people are pussies, no culture, ok they have wealth and so they manage to gloss up their boring non existent culture a bit but I mean come on which idiot would shed Pakistani/Desi culture for their boring sh!t? Eat fish ‘n’ chips, drink Carlsberg and listen to nine-inch nails, riveting, bloody hell that’s so exiting, I think I’m going to sh!t my pants. ![]()
I’m glad my parents have been very strict with me and my older brothers about teaching us Urdu, even though our home language is not Urdu, I’ve been brought up in such a way that my emotional attachment with Urdu is greater than with any other.
When I started primary school my parents bought me one of those “Alif for Anaar, Bay for BheR, Pay for Pankha…” books then the year after that “Urdu Ki Pehli Kitaab” then “Urdu Ki Doosri Kitaab” all the way up to Tenth-Grade Urdu, they worked through them with me everyday after doing my homework and learning Quran. In those days we didn’t have cable/sky-digital so every weekend my dad would go down to the Pakistani video shop and rent an Urdu drama which we’d watch together, they encouraged us to read the “Bachoun Ka Safa” in Jang Magazine and we’d borrow Urdu books from the library.
I’m glad they taught me Urdu, today I have no problems speaking Urdu (even the Muhajir guys at school compliment my Urdu), most of them couldn’t speak much because parents talk to them in English and only Urdu amongst themselves but I’ve got them all speaking Urdu at school, even with whites around, I could understand Urdu Ghazals and like listening to some (sad git I know) and I read Urdu books now and then.
People from village backgrounds like myself always tell me “aapRi zabaan’anch gal kar na yara” and pretend to look down on it but I know they envy me because they try speaking it sometimes with a good splattering of “U’s”, our people tend to pronounce a lot of them and they get their nasal sounds all mixed up, you can tell them from a mile away. ![]()
Urdu should be promoted in Pakistan even if that’s at the expense of other languages, culture and variety comes second to national unity.