desis n clifton

Re: desis n clifton

^ ooh i have never heard of that place. plz do tell us more about it. n where is it located?

Except for Orangi Town, other neighborhoods you mentioned were homes to Muslims who’d had left their lives in India. They had a lot of character. As their children grew, and older generation grew older, the people became very close. In some places you’d see unique grocery markets (flour mills etc. by Memon community) and bazaars the likes of which you won’t see anywhere else in the country or the world – great atmosphere and food to die for.

Kharader, birth place of Quad-e Azam Mohammad Ali Jinah :)

oh.. so where is the mazaar of jinnah? what is the name of that place? n the teen talvaars?

I second that.

A call I recieved from a Karchiet..

Him: Kiya Haal Chaal Hain?
Me: Allah ka Shukar Hai
Him: Yaar tum abc kay leaya job kartay ho na?
Me: Ji, ABC kay leaya
Him: Yaar, koi Job Wob ka Andesha hai?
Me: Andhi or Barrish ka andesha to sunna tha, Job ka pehli dafa suna hai… laughter.

Kharadar and Meethadar are probably the oldest n’hoods there, home to Parsis and Memons or those who were citizens of Bombay – in pre-parition days Karachi was part of Bombay. The houses and building are very old there. If this were UK or Europe, they’d be “listed” properties but we Pakistanis are not endowed with such civic sense. It’s amazing how old some of the buildings are in Karachi and the city’s history; Karachi reminds me of the other “old” cities I have been to – I’d get tarred and feathered by Karachi haters if I name names. :smiley:

kaleem: hey this aint karachiet bashing thread :hoonh:

LI: i saw lot of old buildings in saddar area. hmm i’ll remember to visit that place next time i go to karachi.

No mazar is that big white tomb on M A Jinah Road. I am talking about the house where Quad-e- Azam was born. It was near my nani’s old house and I used to see it all the time.

I’m familiar with Bahadurabad :slight_smile:

Yuo’re mixing too many things. Quaid-e-Azam’s house is in Kharadar. His Mazaar is hmm I forgot the name of the road, but it is near Saddar and Bandar Road. And Teen talwar is the nishani of Clifton

Let me know whenever you come here :wink:

If I were to visit Karachi, I’d stay with people in the older neighborhoods not the posh ‘burger’ towns. It’d give you a better feel for the city and the people. Karachi is a very misunderstood (for the lack of a better word) and a misrepresented city with a lot of character and many different colors. You only hear about Karachi’s idiot “burgers” or political strife but not anything else.

Don’t waste your time with ‘burgers’, they are boring there and they are also boring here. :smiley:

I hope Mindless never spotted me in bahadurabad scared

I end shopping there or visiting family there every time I go to karachi :bummer:

^ wear a full burqah next time. You'll be fine.

ab tak tou nahi kiya, but ab karna parray ga. Thanx for telling me :devil: But I don’t go out often so no need to worry!! and yeah wear as many burqas as you want but I have this third eye which can recognise u very easily so be scared :stuck_out_tongue:

Too many of us Pakistanis treat poor people badly. I am originally from Nazimabad, and I don't feel bad about it. cause I think I have more education then most of the "burger" people from defence or clifton. I think what makes a person better is his education, manners, values and also money.

Anyway, Most of my relatives don't even live in Pakistan now, we all live in UK, canada, or US.

*And NEVER be ashamed of your origins. *

Whe don’t even want to know where you 3rd eyes is.

Mindy has an extra eye??? :eek:

Her Evil Eye!!! :eek:

Ok, now alll I need to do is watch out for the three-eyed girl and I’ll know if it’s Mindy :smiley:

Agent uncle: I am not telling you either :stuck_out_tongue:
Maddy: I am gonna cover my face too from now on. :devil:

PECHS rules :D