desis n clifton

Re: desis n clifton

gulshan-e-iQbal zindabaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad :D

Irem. You are generalizing places like laaloo khet or dastagir or maleer or korangi. You’ve never lived there so you can’t just assume that all these above places are weird. I smell some arrogance in your above posts. That’s exactly how people live in ‘posh’ areas look down at and think about middle or low-income residential areas. Just because these people can’t afford to live in Clifton, Defence, Karsaaz it doesn’t mean that those people are weird.
Besides all the high class areas you are talking about they are nice and clean but they don’t reflect real Karachi. It lacks the social life and charm that our Pakistani culture is all about. If you want to live a western style life in Karachi, fine, live in Defense or Clifton but you can’t call it ‘the real’ Karachi.

People are embarrased to admit where they are really from. I don’t really understand why. I know people from Saddar, Laloo Khet, etc. who claim to be from Clifton. It’s nothing more than a complex.

I really don’t think it’s anything to be ashamed of, whether a person is from Orangi Town, Saddar, Laloo Khet, old Nazimabad, etc. I loved visiting all the different areas of Karachi when I was there. I found it fascinating. It’s sad when people are ashamed of where they come from though, which is why they end up telling everybody they are from Defence/Clifton.

Have you noticed how people react when you catch them in a lie?

how do u guys know they r lying?.....any real reason or u r just asuming that not everyone can be from there?

Agent Smith nai ji i didnt mean it like that... :) Allah maaf karay if I have been arrogant.
I was simply being honest.
Personally I would want my home to be in a clean and peaceful place and also sans political climate and hangamay.
its not about rich...there are people settled in three storey houses in Dastgir who are richer than people like us middle class folks who lived in appartments in Clifton for example..
so that's not the point..
and i have a lot of exposure to Dastgir and Gulshan coz my nanYal used to live there and i have spent lots of time there and saw the kind of things my cousins got into...
it doesnt take money to keep ur area clean or to shun politics.
but the whole atmosphere there is dirty and i do blame it on the residents. delhi colony is a very poor locality, in clifton, mostly populated by punjabis, there's hijrat colony, and so on...how come i dont see the same level of politics there?
the fact is MQM has destroyed the social fabric among the youth of areas like dastgir, landhi, korangi etc..its just that the youth in those areas seem to be so misguided...its quite sad...but all they care about is JAMAAT/MQM and so on..its very difficult to escape the evil net of MQM if as a guy u grow up in those areas...u either join MQM or become a jamaati...

yeah its true that we dont have the same bhaiChara in clifton & defence as those areas, no sitting out in the gali when the light goes, no cooking deygeyn in the gali in moharram, that stuff is surely missing...but then again, we live in appartments so the atmosphere is completely different than isolated bungalows...and even in bungalows those who want to have good relations with neighbors have maintained it...

for me "real" karachi IS boat basin, sea view, gulf market, bath island, zamzama...thats the karachi i'm exposed to...i dont feel comfortable in the other side of karachi with huge buses, pollution, crazy traffic, rush, crowds and all that...i prefer peaceful calm clifton & defence

so thats where i was coming from :)

I noticed that as well, but what’s worse is the people who gloat in exposing them.

My university’s Pakistan society during my first year had a committee dominated by people who said they were from Islamabad. The president of the society, one day when alone with me, started sneering about how all those people were in fact from families who were originally villagers from the countryside within a few hundred miles of Islamabad but who wanted to sound more sophisticated.

LOL, Islamabad is the best man. I wouldn't want to live anywhere else in pakistan. People say islamabad is boring but its fun enough for me.

Azeem hein woh maaein azeem hein woh behanain
Jinhon nay apnay bachon ko morchon betha rakha hai

Sang har shukhs nay haathon mein uttha rakha hai.... (The Great Umer Sharif)

Proud Lallookhaiti born and raised.......

What do the burgers know of the joy of eating meethay paani ki tali macchi (fried fish) direct from the thella.....while dodging the crossfire between MQM/Jammaati Jialays and the Police/Rangers.....also getting in on the action here and there......of playing tapeball cricket on the main road and walking around with your shalwar rolled upto the knees (LL Kool J has got nothing on this trend) during the odd rain that befalls the city....of dodging the army (shoot on sight orders) during curfews in the aftermath of hangamays, while commuting to the schools located in the more posh localities......of getting dragged to the intricate maze of LalloKhait market by your mother, khallas and bajis to carry the saoda sloof while they shop.....of sticking it out to the authorities and establishment at every opportunity...from battling the thugs brought in by the Gohar Ayub to subdue the political activism of the lalookhaities during the 60s and to the small matter of adoring Bhutto with a garland of shoes....

^ I hear you man :)

I have no idea about half of these places in Karachi. A few sound familiar. :s I can't even tell them apart when I am there. Lol. What a shame!

irem i love going in rikshaws!! haha.. i have to beg my cousins to take me somewhere just so i can sit in rikshaws of khi :smiley: not to mention bans road ka haleem, soup, hyderi ki chaat n tariq road k burgers.. aur har buss stop ka cane juice :blush: my relatives live all around khi including clifton n defense or nazimabad to gulshan areas. and i always always prefer gulshan area cuz its closer to all the shopping malls and plazas. :smiley:
oh n my mom had made us sit in all the mini busses to wagons to new air conditioned busses, she says one should know how other people travel and experience these lil things, just so we stay grounded.

most people just mention the city when I ask them. They never mention the areas because I'm not familiar with them but then that's an advantage of living in a low density desi population area.

I did the same thing in Karachi … travelled everywhere in rikshaws and the buses … both the colourful ones and the green air conditioned ones. It was fun. :smiley:

lol. I love rikshaws too especially when I have a lot of crap in my tummy. It gets it all digested. :D I heard the govt. is getting rid of rickshaws soon.

:confused:

^ o shut up… … :grumpy:

I was referring to the food I ate while I was there. :stuck_out_tongue:

Never been to Bahadurabad? It’s famous for shopping 'cuz of lots of boutiques and shops and much better than Tariq Road…and food ki tou baat hi aur hai !!

^ i've heard of that place.. i might have been there. just dont remember.

Karachi folks are soo weird but still adorable.

Isn’t Kharadar the one of the oldest neighborhoods there? Lot of Parsis and Memons live there, some even from the Pre-partition days.