Re: Desi Miss Manners.
a han, Mirch bhai, Baji must be very proud of your sensitivity to women and their manners.
refreshing to see you be milder. :>
a han, Mirch bhai, Baji must be very proud of your sensitivity to women and their manners.
refreshing to see you be milder. :>
Desi Missed Manners ![]()
hum sirf close relationship waaloN kaY haaN hee jaataY haiN ![]()
maiN intehaai paak saaf clean parhezgaar insaan hooN aur haath dho kar kitchen maiN jaataa hooN ![]()
Pretend that u have low blood pressure and need to consume a lot of salt to bring it up again.
Good idea, being a diebetic I keep packets of Splenda in my pocket in case they offer me chai and they do not have any Sugar substitute. I cannot drink chai if it does not have any kind of sweatner in it.
Thats right They might think that I am a heroine addict.
Agar namak , mirch , sugar sub kuch hee sath lay k jana ho to janay key kia zaroorat hai ?
LOL
Did you get checked for OCD ? ![]()
I think I might have a bigger problem than all of you...
what about when you have company over, are in the kitchen giving final touches to the dinner etc and a guest offers to make salad and they don't wash their hands before cutting up those vegetables?
Ps: I always make sure the salad is made in advance (by madolat's washed hands ofcourse)
typing mistake ![]()
I wish there was a desi Miss Manners I could ask her many things I am confused about for example. Is it OK to ask for salt if the host forgot to put salt in biryani or qorma or the salt is not enough and the food is too blend to even swallow ?
On many desi homes you will not find salt and pepper duo on the dinning table/s for some reason. Why ?
Any volunteers to assume this role of Desi Miss Manners and earn some fame and fortune ?
You should ask them nicely about salt ,I went to a iftar party and it looks like the food was made for Hig BP people so I asked her nicely Can you please put salt on the table incase if anybody needs extra salt? And she said oh I was thinking that I didn't put much salt in food.I don't know if she mind that but you have to put salt and pepper on the table.
I think thats too much too ask until you are too close I don’t like much people hanging around in my kitchen accept if I call some for help.![]()
What do you do if the food is severely undercooked?
what kind of people are you visting man
Don’t eat it ![]()
Tell them you have stomach flu and are avoiding eating as you are still recovering
Then excuse yourself and go to the bathroom.
I don’t see why it should be a problem.
mera husband hi hot sauce ki bottle le ke phir tha hai cz my food sometimes is not spicy.
now if they start asking for garam masala and haldi and all the other masalas, thas no good ![]()
Well in any case , whether visiting close relatives /friends or just acquaintances .. I don’t ask for anything I feel short in their meal .
I find it bit rude sitting on their table , on their expense and pick them for their cooking skills …
After all it just a meal .. Zaida bhooK lagi hoTu apne Ghar jaKay Tora or kahna kah Lo ..
Mirch yar, is there is anything called desi miss manners. ![]()
Well in any case , whether visiting close relatives /friends or just acquaintances .. I don’t ask for anything I feel short in their meal .
I find it bit rude sitting on their table , on their expense and pick them for their cooking skills …
After all it just a meal .. Zaida bhooK lagi hoTu apne Ghar jaKay Tora or kahna kah Lo ..
i kinda agree, in principle ur right, but i dot think asking for salt is considered picking at cooking skills... i mean its simple, its all a matter of taste (literally), jho mujhe mirchi lagaye gi, u might find it quite bland. So basic seasonings i wudnt consider an insult...
Ok so related question. Should you help the hostess clean up after the dawat? I.e. if its small dinner, should you help clear the table and help with dishes etc? I always feel awkward asking people to help, but also feel awkward when people are working and I am just sitting. But someone people really don't like having anyone touch thier kitchen so its a double edged sword!
While we are at it, should you take a gift to every dinner party or flowers/desert even if its not a potluck?
I would tend to agree with you. But looking at Sara’s response and many other responses looks like in desi culture it is OK to ask for salt.
No there is not that is why I said I wish there was one. Look at many interesting questions by another poster below.
I wish I knew that is why we need Desi Miss Manners to guide us all.