Desi Fashion/Style Faux Pas:

Here u go Mr Frauds…do the honors:

Quote from Mr Frauds in trends thread"hey i got eyes and all, I am in a creative field kinda. I like fashion, been an avid egular reader of GQ since I was 14. architectural digest.

so i see..and man desis just simpy dont know how to dress, guys or girls.

and no, the kurta bra thing is a fact, as recently as a few weeks ago I saw someone with a white shirt and dark bra. I think that is a statement and is not thetype of state of oblivion desi ladies demonstrate when they insist to wear white bras under black tops..

and lets not forget about desi fobs and their wife beater shirts under think material shirts..

maybe open a diff thread on common desi stye faux pas..although some make you wonder

tan pants black atheletic socks, and multi coloured running shoes…i mean in cases like that i duno what was intended…etc.

kher"

My answer..
I agree with the desi style…its a branch in its own
So many people I have seen Stuck in 80’s and 90’s…when they were “young”…or when they came into this GAAREAT country:cb:
And oh yes..!! The girls if they r wearing the desi clothes..Its the Indian style pants and shirts…(U r going to get me kicked out of here:D)…take it from here

Re: Desi Fashion/Style Faux Pas:

Oh and let's not forget the dudes with their ohh-so-sexy tight pants, oil slicked hair, and dress shirts with everyyyyyyyyy kind of outfit...

Ladies, ladies, ladies! Where do we begin? From the two different kinds of prints... a zebra print shirt with a flowery skirt... who are we kidding?!

When it comes to shalwar kameez, these maaaaadran ladies decide to go all out and flash as much as they can get away with... worn with a classic pair of chappal and thick white socks... man, it cant get any worse than that!

And ermm desi ladies/girls might wanna try investing in a good pair of jeans that dont ride up where we can see much more than we ever wanted, and try working out for a change... if u wanna wear bodyhugging clothes, at least sculpt the body!

too tight short sleeve polo shirts with horizontal stripes tucked in

now we all know, if your clothing is not the right size it will make you look even more fat, just cuz the shirt is shipki hui on the toond does not make you look slim.

then...horizontal stripes..come on..

short sleeve, visual breal accentuating the very thing i.e. the tond you dont want to accentuate

tucked in..aray bhai zaroori hai, I can never understand ppl tucking in their shirts when it cascades down the tond, then cirlces back up under the tond flap and mercilessly tucked in.

dont get me started on the colours of the shirts either..

the shirts are paired with dockers a little too tight and a little too short, i mean where is the flood sharmoota, then there too is the choice of colors, tell me will it kill desis to get a light or dark tan, or even blue ones. No they have to wear green ones..or purplish blue ones that ...

proudly on display due to the flood pants are dark dress socks...

and then you have the bright white and neon sneakers..or the tassel penny loafers...the really casual ones..and almost always in a light tan...yar kuch khuda ka qauf karro ...

and what is with desis and STILL getting their prescription glasses tinted...i thought that died in the 70's or early 80's.

dont get me started....

Yar !! I have to see the maadaren shalwar kameez…uptil now I have seen a girl(model)…wear like kameez with capri tights..(I assumed that she was a model:cb:…and other then that nada..:slight_smile:
But jeans…woaah!!Mommy jeans flying here and there…and for those who arent even mommy’s yet:cb:…
Chappals are quintessentials…never seen without..

desi ladies...

dyed/highlighted hair

I mean no one is going to buy that your orangish yellow hair which you refer to as blonde is real, and it simply dont go with some of the darker ladies. why bother

and then saying its naychuraal...yeah sure.

now a question, is the gold and all embroidery out yet or what? I thought it was out, or saved for very formal affairs or to be used in moderation, why do I see desi aunties wear banarsi suits and saaris to restaurants or movies. one good thing is thatthey wot get hit by a car while crossing the street..shining all over tha place.

ummmm what are mommy jeans?

:cb:…(the glasses)…
I know the tondh one…seen it a lot…Funny thing is I think in Pakistan they have started dressing up wayy better…
Loafers..always…
The ladies…wats up with wearing their husband’s shirts…wearing too big a clothes doesnt make one appear modest…
Oh and yes Makeup…Purples..and Browns…Paahleez why??Why…would Pakistani try to copy the Indian folks makeup…Dark heavy liner with Purple/violet Frosted LIPsticks…Medora ones…Or from the black’s section…And Aunty makeups…and oh yes the young girls r covered in heavy sets along with their Banarsi suits that were in Fashion 20 yrs ago.(mom’s outfit na)

Pir ji, jaan dayo ghussa. Tussi kidhr aurta vich vaar gay ho?

:omg: So trueeeeee… man it just looks cheap! And I hate the girls who try to wear dresses or somewhat revealing clothes to look sexy and all and instead end up looking like cheap Mexicans, yet they walk around swinging their non-existent ass like they’ret he hottest stuff on earth… puhleez :rolleyes:

This once someone was over at our place and the daughter-in-law was wearing black socks under high heeled sandals while we had snow outside, so I couldn;t help but look at her feet. Her mother in law thought i was looking in admiration or soemthing and started telling how the girls mother sends her the best of stuff from pakistan etc etc I was tempted to ask if the socks were from Pakistan too but resisted :cb:

so basically socks under sandals esp. open toed sandals are a no-no

Wonder where u have seen these:hmmm:

lol/… :omg:

nice thread…waisay, you guys are soooooo judgemental! :snooty:

but I’m havin a ball by just reading through… :khumar:

I knoww man and the aunties who have like 10 piercings in their eyes and insist on wearing like 10 hoops earrings in each ear, plus a ton of chooreez, plus contacts, got the hair bleached instead of dyed, and LIPSTICK ON THE TEETHHHHH!! :yukh: Why cant they get something as simple as that down pat yet?!

U gotta smuggle a picture…I so wanna see Riya:cb:

Oh Amberrr ewwwwww my eyesssss take that awayyyy

The over grown Blonde na?..Their frizzy chemically damaged hair looks as if baam phataa hai…and its so in need of retouch with For HUMAN Bleach…not CLOROX..:cb:
And the Zawer ladh ke phir rahi hoti hain…yeah we can tell u got money dudette…dont literally carry it on your Sleeves:D../

** Femme:**

I have seen the sock in sandals a plenty…disgusts me everytime…why not wear covered shoes then if u r cold

I am so gonna get kicked out:bummer:

I still think sneakers are worse than shoes and socks

Riya...Yes...but to me socks in sandals...r:D...Sneakers with Sarees dekhi hain...and also Old baba uncles with white sneakers...and formal clothes

OMG the socks in sandals thing is sooo annoying:smack:

lol nice thread:hehe:

^^^ yeah i've seen desi indian aunties in saris at imagine ??............................ statue of liberty fairy ride ............ other include as i've mentioned in other thread
------ desi men in U.S seen wearing " too white sneakers " with dress pant or with jeans + dress shirt
------ desi +middle age+ overweight aunties with " too tight" clothes , and too deep necklines , or wearing too short blouses with saris
------ desi middle aged uncles wearing outdated 2 piece suit with their tummy sticking out of pants
------ desi young boys dressed up just like black or mexican folks
------ my biggest shock was at eid funfair where a middle aged lady hairs all died up appear wearing highly pleated shalwar and too short shirt with poncho over it , and to add glamour to her too casual outfit she added a heavy gold jewellery set and bangles , and she was like all over the place
------ finally desi men who always tried to hide their baldness by covering it with hairs from sides or back and appered extra nervous when it gets windy .