Desi Fashion/Style Faux Pas:

Re: Desi Fashion/Style Faux Pas:

Sneakers with a girly shalwar kameez and earings and LOADS of make up? :hayaa:THAT would be scary:bummer:

^^…Seen versus not seen

LOL, some of them do, but most of the girls are like them... stinky non-showering fobs with too much oil in their hair, a crazy amount of cheap perfume to mask their body odor, pendu outfits like hello who the hell wears a chunni shalwar kameez to school?! Damn man ppl are crazzyyyyyy

And hsap - The comb-over. 'Nuff said.

baam phata hai...

hahaha exactly, i could not have found better words to describe that.

I think desi chottee/braid should be banned, gives ladies an excuse to not wash their hair...

and then the mustache...do ppl not realize it just does not go for everyone?

and the desi smell, is it not showering, not wearing clean clothes or smell of spices and stuff just stuck in your clothes..man, get some air cleaner, a vent or something. There is really no excuse to walk around smelling like curry. I mean some ppl may have real issues small space, no ventilation, no money, and I sympathize with them, but majority are either oblivious or dont give a damn.

Geez I thought I was cruel and ruthless but riya and amber you guys win hands down :cb:

In any case lets not get carried away.

Men AND women need to realize the unibrow is not sexy, it just makes you look like an alien…:no:

Oh and sandals in winter, lack of a jacket… all in the name of fashion? Thats not even fashion!

[mod] please edit ur use of derogatory terms like kalla, kalli etc etc. If I come back and see them here watch out for warning points. [/mod]

femme what is an appropriate term for errrr them then?

okay another desi guy faux pas..it is a minority that does it but i swear I want to beat them.

bracelets....please stop it..
rings with stones in them..come on...

and what is the deal with pants you got tailored back home, "baggy pants" with half a dozen pleats but then the pant legs are fitted..what are ya ..adolf ?

Ok ive yet to c those type of guys here....most fo the desi guys in BK/NY are either very stylish/professional looking, or they go all out ghetto thuggish..

In Pak ive seen so many aunties wearing the nicest dresses but with freakin pillow size sweaters over it...it just kills the look...

As for jeans, blacks and hispanics have to be the worst! Ive yet to c a desi woman dressed in a spandex shirt wiht holes cut out on the back and stomach and weraing jeans that show extreme muffin top. Bash teh desi womne as much as u want, but I still think the best thing abt them is that htey still have sharam/modesty, u wnt ever see a bunch of desi womenw ith thier guts hanging outside of their thongs..

Thats not funny Frauds…curry in our sweat is mehnat ki kamai ka sweat:cb:
Air dry:hmmm:…nice product for the Desi Market..I can even Imagine the ad…Begins with
Are you tired of people making faces when u wwalk by…???
Is your hair retaining the Currylicious food u had in Lunch???
Are you tired of using Dentonic …eh Baking Powder Anti persperint(we know u believe in Organics)…trying to take it all away???
Dont waary guys…We haave the right solution Faar you…:Its…(drum Rolling)…A PERSONAL EXHAUST FAN…:D…come in handy right after all these…NO MONEY BACK GAAARENTEE…( we r desis too ofcourse)…USe it on the go…or in your home…And then DONT THANK US…THE PEOPLE AROUND U WILL:D

Yes yes…we know we r DESI’s after all:D…I like me chotee and nariyal tailh dripping on the side of my forehead..heck!! I can even cook in the excess that I can collect:wink:

african americans? if u must kaala may be aceptable but kalla kalloo kalli? your not kidding r u fraudz?

gross lol.

Guys wear that???..I have I think maybe seen it…And GOLD Chains on guys…and all these times I though In Islam guys r not supposed to wear Gold:cb:..

no i am not, because not all kalay are american, try telling a nigerian brit he is african american and he will punch u.

one of my best pals from childhood is a sudanese brit, try calling him an african american, he will say "I am black, I am a black brit" I am niether african, nor am I american.

funny thing is once I was talking about him and one of the too militant type ladies say 'excuse me, it is african american' and I had to tell her that he was a brit and thus niether african nor american.

no I was not kidding, because sometimes I want to drag in references to blacks in UK, but if i cant call em black or kala, then it becomes an issue.

PS: is habshi an acceptable word? I know I should know..but i forgot

I’ve seen black stone rings, gold bracelets, teeth bling, fake bling on the neck, its a bit much…:bummer:

No I choose not to pick on immigrants. THey have it hard enough here as it is without ABCDs bashing them for wearing what they want…now someone living IN pak, or has been in USA for quite some time or kids born in USA, they’re fair game :D…desis are still better in the fashion department, at least hte older ones, compared to other people in the area…

hmmm I don;t think those mummy jeans are peculiar to desis in all honesty. Step out of your big cities and go out a bit and you’ll see plenty of whites wearing the same type of jeans too. I’ve seen a lot of spanish ladies in similar jeans too. Honestly how many desis have you seen on that tracy and patta nahi kon show on E? they r constantly going crazy over the wrong type of jeans that ppl r guilty of wearing and all those people r non-desis.

I will upload a gem later tonight, provided I don’t forget. It was an indian elderly lady wearing cowboy boots with a pulled up chunri print sari. This was out in the natural history museum in DC, I just could not resist so I sneakly took a picture of her bottom half :smiley:

as I said use kaala is you must. I guess habshi works too since it is more or less used by Pakistanis to describe blacks than just people from habsh or is it habasha?