Desi Chinese

Re: Desi Chinese

ajinomoto or chinese salt should be avoided at all costs.

I don't need any recipies, I was advocating for the people who were asking you for some.

yeah they should be avoided...but the best is to use chicken powder if easily available...

Hey Sara,

you should try this new hakka chinese restaurant in Scarborough. I've pretty much tried alllllll chinese restaurants in the GTA and this one even beat Lin Garden and Eddie's wok n roll. And salt n pepper wouldn't even come close to this one.

Eitherways, it's called Desi Cheena. They even have this website. My hubs n I frequent there all the time now, plus the quantity's great too. They're newly opened and are wanting more customers. It's close to the intersection of Finch n Markham road.

Anyone who lives around here, and loves desi chinese, try it guys!

you aint gonna find anything like Salt N Pepper… man, if only I could drive there right now - alas, it’s a 5.5 hour drive :frowning:

He has some awesome Desi Chinese recipes https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=(http://www.youtube.com/vahchef)

Did you guys notice that Sara totally ignored Saeein’s comment..

I have a feeling ke daal main kuch neela hai :hmmm:

ooh :yummy: will definitely look into it…

we get chicken stock cubes here…are htey teh same thing?

tis a 8 (14 if i go with uncle) horu drive for us =//

Daal mein kya kala–err neela.. jub sarree daal hi neeli hai :hmmm:

Take some boneless chicken and clean it. Then in a bowl, mix together some cornflour, soy sauce, black pepper. Marinade the chicken in this mixture for 1-2 hours. And then fry the chicken and set aside. From the grocery store, buy a pre-packaged salad mix containing cabbage and thinly slicced carrots. In a pot, put in some oil and cook this salad mixture. Add soy sauce, white vinegar, salt pepper according to taste. Add in the chicken and cook mixture. When the salad mix has become softer, you're done. Use this mixture as stuffing for spring rolls. You can also serve it on boiled noodles.

^ Sounds good! thanx~

another question that has plagued me..
cornflour/cornstarch/cornmeal? all the same? or nO? i know cornflour/cornstarch is to thicken sauces and stuff..but what i have does absolutely nothing..is it b/c its very coarse and grainY?

corn flour aka cornstarch is a white very fine powder used to thicken gravies and soups.
cornmeal is yellow and coarse.If you are using sth thats coarse and grainy then most likely its not cornflour/cornstarch.

OKay, so cornflour and cornstarch are the same thing?

^ According to Wikipedia (and other websites) cornstarch and cornflour are the same thing. So, you can marinade the boneless chicken in either. And u can use either conflour or cornstarch to thicken gravies and soups. My dad uses cornstarch to thicken up Nihari:)

nai yar sara...chicken cubes is not the same as chicken powder...but as an alternate u can use that...but i tell u avoid chicken cubes as much as u can bcz they r already loaded with so much salt and preservatives...make fresh stocks rather than using chicken cubes...this is a good tip for making good chinese food....as soon as i get free i wud write down the recipe of corn soup....PROPER chicken manchurian...egg fried rice...the real classic chinese menu!

Chicken Corn Soup

first of all make chicken stock using chicken bones..add salt...shred the meat..keep the drained stock aside...tin walay corns lay lain(1 tin chota) aur corns ko grind kr lain thoray pani k sath..yeh paste c bunjayegee...ub stock ko pan mai daalain..now add shredded chicken...corns' paste..thicken with corn flour...add egg whites in swirled pattern...add soya sauce...vinegar...ajino.!!!!

chicken manchurian

cut boneless chicken in julienne form......put some corn flour...thora sa oil...ajinomoto..white pepper...sugar...and marinate it and leave for 15-20 mins...then shallow-fry...!

now take this chicken out and add g/g paste in it...not powder but fresh...add chicekn fried one....now put some chicken stock...tomato ketchup...red chili powder ...corn flour and vinegar...ajino...serve...!

egg fried rice

1-2 din k baasi chawal use krain...now put some oil in a pan...fry the boneless chicken pieces cut in julienne form...shredded carrot...cabbage...[corn,peas,capsicum(optional)]...then add the rice...keep on stirring..ager neechaye lugnay lagain chawal to chicken stock ka cheenta day dain...now add soya sauce...fish sauce...ajino...black pepper...white pepper...

also add spring onions just before taking it off the stove...!!!!!!

i stay in a corner day in, day out…minding my non-existing mind…

Im cooking for a guest this sunday at my house- and i was thinking go different so i came across this thread which is interesting bc i think ill make desi chinese =) thanks sara- lol BUT-- does anybody have a good easy recipe for Chow mein?? with chicken ofcourse :) thanks in advance..

^^^-- nobody knows any recipies for Chow mein?? tomorrow will b sunday- thori si help please??

LOL hope thsi helps sali

u need mixed veggies (carrots, mushrooms, bel peppers,onions etc). stir fry veggies for 2-3 minutes. mix chicken stock, soy sauce,salt pepper and fish or oyster sauce and cook until sauce thickens. stir fry chicken strips. now mix together veggies,chicken and sauce and cook for few minutes serve with noodles

dont forget to garnish with spring onions

easy weasy :D