Re: Dastaan - A drama on Partition (Hum tv)
today episode was little comic touch, i don't know why? Such a serious situation no need for comedy. The novel was very serious and tragic in these scenes.
Thank you everyone for liking the serial. yes i've taken inspiration from true stories and have tried to incoperate many issues which were not there in the novel. so it cant be said that its just the novel but i 've tried to keep the serial in line with the novel bc the novel is a classic and changing the main storyline would have been unfair to madam razia butt.
Ali usman in today's episode you saw real sikhs who are basically sweet, funny, full of life but can be very very cruel. They killed uncountable muslims with brutality they took out a rally of naked muslim women in amritsar but with that you know that there are so many jokes attributed to them . with that i just want to clear one thing iam not against all sikhs i am just being as truthfull as possible thats why in one scene i showed the sikh say that pindi main bhi sikhs pe zulm hooay thay but obviously they were nothing in comparison to what muslims of east punjab went through.. i hope i ve answered your questions
You are of course biased to say that the Muslims had to suffer more than the Sikhs! Its all about perspective and both sides were stupid to kill innocent people because they didn't stop the partition from happening!
Thank you everyone for liking the serial. yes i've taken inspiration from true stories and have tried to incoperate many issues which were not there in the novel. so it cant be said that its just the novel but i 've tried to keep the serial in line with the novel bc the novel is a classic and changing the main storyline would have been unfair to madam razia butt. Ali usman in today's episode you saw real sikhs who are basically sweet, funny, full of life but can be very very cruel. They killed uncountable muslims with brutality they took out a rally of naked muslim women in amritsar but with that you know that there are so many jokes attributed to them . with that i just want to clear one thing iam not against all sikhs i am just being as truthfull as possible thats why in one scene i showed the sikh say that pindi main bhi sikhs pe zulm hooay thay but obviously they were nothing in comparison to what muslims of east punjab went through.. i hope i ve answered your questions
Thanks for reply. Good acting from Sanam Baloch. It seems that she want to give her best. Many power full dialogues of Bonu(Novel) has been changed. After Sangita came into the scene the drama is having a filmi touch. The comic scene remaind me Pakistani Film Heer Ranjha, where after marriage of Heer, she came to her husband Munawar Zareef and he start Comedy.
May be you do this so that people not get bored but beleive me. If you make it tragic people will like it more.
i love barbrik shah's acting! he is doing really well.
who is barbrik shah? The sikh?
I think Sangeeta’s and Babrik’s roles are deliberately given the comic treatment to show irony of how these Sikhs have built their lives full of happiness upon the brutal killings of Muslims. In reality a murderer doesn’t spend his life pondering about his evil deeds, he moves on with life. That is what this drama shows.
Just like to add how much I hate the badly time TIME CHECKS that jump at you throughout the drama. Totally ruins the experience ![]()
I agree with you Krazi! even in the last episode, Basanta’s mother was going on and on about how many Muslims his son as killed as if he had conquered the world! It was disgusting to hear and watch. ![]()
Yes, Hum Tv needs to stop those time checks! who is responsible for editing these into the programs?? Grrr..
Thank you Samira for your perspective. I am deliberatly not reading the novel because then I’ll start unnecessary comparisons ![]()
You are of course biased to say that the Muslims had to suffer more than the Sikhs! Its all about perspective and both sides were stupid to kill innocent people because they didn't stop the partition from happening!
no iam not at all biased. i read many partition stories ...indian version and pakistani version. i interviewed people who were present at that time before dramitizing this novel. i ve tried my best to be fair. thats why i ve shown some good hindus and sikhs along with the bad ones, also i ve mentioned that muslims had also done some killing in west punjab ( both these things were not there in the novel) but it is nothing in comparison to what hindus and sikhs have done to muslims and if you will read history with unbiased view you will realize that it is true and is accepted by many honest hindus and sikhs.
Partition was inevitable and i think indian leaders were stupid that they created such situation that quaid had to take this step. Inspite of what is happening in Pakistan we dont regret this move.. InshaAllah we will pass this phase Ameen
Samira Fazal i read the novel there are some good hindus there, like the one friend of Aslam who save Banu and her mother. In the drama one hindu "Ram" attack on banu and other save her by killing ram. but in the novel both of them save banu and mother, no body attack on banu and they give there Pagree to Banu and her mother to cover there head as Dupatta. This scene is not in the drama.
I agree that muslim of east Punjab safar much more than sikh or hindu of west punjab.
Also one sikh save banu and put her in the train, this is also in the novel. In the novel that sikh was not married. in her home her sister and mother were there, so he treat banu as her sister, but in the drama its shown as husband and wife only.
no iam not at all biased. i read many partition stories ...indian version and pakistani version. i interviewed people who were present at that time before dramitizing this novel. i ve tried my best to be fair. thats why i ve shown some good hindus and sikhs along with the bad ones, also i ve mentioned that muslims had also done some killing in west punjab ( both these things were not there in the novel) but it is nothing in comparison to what hindus and sikhs have done to muslims and if you will read history with unbiased view you will realize that it is true and is accepted by many honest hindus and sikhs. Partition was inevitable and i think indian leaders were stupid that they created such situation that quaid had to take this step. Inspite of what is happening in Pakistan we dont regret this move.. InshaAllah we will pass this phase Ameen
Ameen
The orignal Novel Bano is much more better than the drama. Its available online.
Banu was not secular, she did not say that wording(about the guru) to Basanta in the train.
Basanta was a Ghunda type man. And during partition he start killing Muslims. Basanta say's many time that i was a bad man but now due to i kill lot of Muslims and still there many i will go to heaven. According to him killing Muslims is a good criteria to go to heaven.
Basanta's father was also very happy with these killings.
But in the Drama they change it all to opposite.
I am guessing some people on this thread are not used to seeing many novels they have read being adapted for TV dramas or film. These examples of changes being listed are minor and are usually done to for justifiable means such as time constraints, simplifying the story and creating a smooth flow of storytelling. To expect exact word-for-word dialogues and scenes is pretty naive - it's not Shakespeare people! Look to the changes in Harry Potter film series as a main example.
Samira ji, marvelous job with ‘daastan’! the timing of this drama, keeping the current scenario in mind, is so poignant, time to sit back and really wonder how or why things went so wrong. I have read the novel and it’s a very heartbreaking story to tell but you have kept the essence of ‘bano’ alive with brilliant writing, direction and dramatization. It’s a real treat to watch, thank you for giving us quality entertaiment to both enjoy and reflect upon :k:
It is true that if you read a novel and then watch a drama or movie based on it, you will not be satisfied.
i tried to sit through this but they've gotten carried away with the whole costume-drama appeal of a period production...the stuff they're wearing is carricature-ish/theatrical and not in sync with the actors' accents and histrionics...
Is Sanam Baloch married? I read many stories about her on the internet . One of the story is that she married to KTN chairman. Also find the photo. Can any body give the real story.
http://sd.wikipedia.org/wiki/%D8%B5%D9%86%D9%85_%D8%A8%D9%84%D9%88%DA%86
i started watching this drama....but i got bored of it just by 2/3 episodes....that kind of partition stuff has alreday been showed in other dramas and films...surely its not a bad drama...i'll say its time pass sort. i liked those funny scenes where that woman (bushra ansari's sis) tries to set her 14yr old daughter with fawad khan.
You seem obsessed by Bollywood (and no, the most beautiful women in the world isn't A Rai), you were sad because of "good" programmes being lost when the SC of Pakistan banned Indian channels, but you got bored of a drama on partition because it's been shown before...
Isn't Bollywood a repeat/reshash of the same nonsense? 'Kofee with Karan' which you call 'good' programming is one of the trashiest shows on Star Plus.
Millions of our people died to gift us this land, thousands of our young women were raped/forcefully married off to Hindus/Sikhs so we could have this land, and you're in love with Indian garbage. Genuine and good-quality Pakistani productions are boring to you, but you love crap Indian nonsense..
LOL, typical; confused desis.
Where can I watch episode 9?